We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with 5 star welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel with 5 star welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A very memorable stay at Residencia LIS - essentially a budget hotel with small but clean and comfortable rooms - ideal for the two short stopovers we made whilst travelling to and from a coastal villa rental south of Porto. The reception is quite unique - home baked cake and vintage porto at arrival, traditional Portuguese music at breakfast, and Augustin's, the owner, occassional outbursts into Portuguese Fado, Sinatra, Aznavour and such classics were quite a surprise!
We made use of the number 600 bus service which stops right outside (constituiçãone) and connects to the 'Trindade' metro station.

Room Tip: If possible opt for a room at the rear of the hotel as they're considerably quieter than those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    105
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
176
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The owner is welcoming and his staff are great. His Street map is extremely helpful. The location is about 10 min bus ride out of the Centre. Our room on the ground floor (no 3) was quiet and cool - there is no aircon. It's excellent value.

HOWEVER this IS a budget hotel with budget style rooms and bathrooms and a budget breakfast. Don't expect 3 or 4 stars quality and you will be as happy as the proverbial pig :)

I highly recommend the LIS but with appropriate expectations.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

At the reception we were welcomed with port and home made cake. The owner was very well prepared with maps, busses and bars info. Our room and bathroom was very clean. We stayed for one night only on the way back to UK from friends wedding. Location was not important to us, we had not much time for sightseeing, the price was much more of am incentive. Lis hotel was just perfect for what we needed. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DABROWECZKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place really deserves its great reviews. The owner/manager Augustin goes out of his way to make your trip a success. From the moment you arrive he's giving out great travel suggestions (not to mention fresh cake and port wine) and doing whatever he can to help.
The house itself is old but well maintained and the rooms are nice. There's a nice garden courtyard at the back. The location is a nice walk - about 40 minutes - from the old centre. There is a bus stop right at the front door if you don't wish to walk.
Can't reccomend it highly enough. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charentay, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We can only repeat what sebastian_tapu. justin B and sarah H have recently said. The owner is indeed charming, offers the personal touch and is a mine of local information.He even saw us off as we left the parking garage! Accommodation is spacious, but little restored. Our bathroom was a good size and worked perfectly well, but ideally in need of refurbishment. There is no lift, so cases have to be carried upstairs. Tip 1 - if you go by car, leave it, as we did,in the secure LIS parking provided across the road. Porto in general has frantic traffic, there aren't that many places to park and Rua Antero de Quental is busy most of the time.Tip 2 - get about by Metro, but even better, in our view, is the route 600 bus to town. Other buses will take you onward from there. Bus drivers are friendly and helpful.You can buy 3 day tickets and if you have taken an open-top bus tour, you can use that ticket on all Porto's buses (it worked for us!). The 600 bus stops right outside the LIS door, gets you to town in 10 minutes and you can then wander around. Would stay here again without another thought.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have difficulty with stairs. The owner will help you with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1953Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were 2 couples, staying for 3 nights at Residencia Lis.
The place is located about 1,5km from center. It`s a nice walk to make, but you may want to take the subway when you return, unless you want to climb your way back for 1.5km. You can take the subway from Sao Bento station to Marques. From there, is`s just a short walk.
The residence`s highlight is definitely it`s host, a charming man who will tell you everything you want to know about Porto and north of Portugal. We also got a complimentary bottle of Porto wine and some cake. And some more to go when we checked-out :)
The rooms are classically furbished, spacious enough and with a nice vintage look. They would need a re-fresh though, especially the bathrooms...
The breakfast was a little poor - jam, butter, milk, coffee, some cereals and a few fruits. All these accompanied by sweet bread which is recommended by the hosts.
The value is excellent as well.
I would definitely go back to Lis residence and I recommend it for anyone who wants a little bit more interaction with the hosts.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem to have a direct access to the back yard, through a common balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Tapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were only at this hotel for 1 night but had a lovely time here! Upon arrival we were provided with a bottle of port & some yummy cake. Owners were lovely, room was spacious & well presented. Price is extremely affordable. Would definitely stay here again when we come back to Porto!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
1.8 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#13 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#29 of 101 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 101 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia LIS B&B and Parking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Property: Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Address: Rua Antero de Quental 659, Porto 4200-068, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencia LIS B&B and Parking 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residencia LIS B&B and Parking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing