We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner makes it great place a "special place"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Parking and Breakfast and wi-fi included. Owner speaks multiple languages, is extremely personable and greeted us with a map and highlights of the city, as well as a generous supply of port and a comemorative tile. The room was spacious, including high ceilings but felt a bit dark.

Parking is across the street in a garage, check in first to be directed to correct entry point and you'll need a receipt to provide the garage.
Will stay here again whenever back in Porto.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mealborozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited Lis at the end of March 2013. We chose Lis because of the good reviews and extremely competitive price.
We were very pleasantly surprised from the size of the bedroom and bathroom. The room lacks air conditioning, but the radiator kept it nice and warm throughout the night.
The neighboorhood was a bit shady for walking around around midnight but no problem at all before that.
The place is situated some 15 minutes walk from the center and there's a bus which can take you back. The owner also supplied us with free parking just across the street.
As mentioned above, the owner is very nice and made our stay both memorable and enjoyable.
The only downside is the breakfast, which consists of bread, butter, honey and a hot beverage. However, at the price they charge you for a night, it's a steal even without a breakfast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlinofchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our son lives in Spain, and on this trip we elected to spend a few days in Portugal. We were looking for a B&B in Porto, and this one came with high marks on your sight. What a great choice. We were met by the owner, Agostinho Ribeiro, a wonderful man with a big smile. As he guided us to our room he brought a small bottle of port, with three glasses for us to enjoy after our long drive from Spain--what an unexpected treat : ). Our room on the second floor looked out to a view of the back yard---quiet and away from the street. It is an older building, but clean comfy and well maintained. Agostinho was very helpful with all the local info we needed and the Number 600 bus passed just outside of the building to take you to the town center. If you care to walk it is about 30 minutes--down hill, about 45 minutes up hill. The bus ride back is worth it! There are 10 rooms here, and there is a full breakfast to get you started on your tour of town. If we return to Porto, this will be our home away from home--great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building. Away from the street and quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Like all the other reviewers said LIS is a great value for the money. Free parking was why I chose the LIS and on my arrival the owner greets you with a complimentry bottle of port, he is the source for anything about Porto and the hotel is charming. I had a large, quiet room to the rear.
The owner recommends to get a bus pass but I mostly walked to explore the hilly city. All in all had a wonderful stay at the LIZ and plan to return. Also, if you go,ask the owner a question about Fado.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EvoSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Big room with basic comfort. Furniture and interior are rather old but everything is clean. We received a free bottle of excellent port upon arrival. Host was extremely friendly and spoke French and English. He gave us a detailed map with all things to see in Porto. Parking was included in the price and right in front of hotel. Good value for money.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MaartenVanDamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Back to the Lis yet again, this must be visit number 4. This time we came with our daughter and partner last time with friends. Everyone enjoyed the experience enjoying the free bottle of port wine on arrival. The host explained in good english anything we wished to know including very good restaurants. Porto is a lovely city to explore although very hilly. We purchased a 3 day public transport ticket which we used on the metro, buses and funicular. Really good value.
There are now also open top tourist buses which you can hop on and off. At the end of the
holiday our host drove us to the airport. I am sure we will return again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bargainstobefound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable!

Our host made it memorable. Very informative about Porto and what to see.

Free parking across the road so we parked the car and walked most places for the next 3 days. Taxi from town home at night was 4 euros.

Rooms very simple, as per hostel description, but comfortable and very clean.

Breakfast provided in mornings, host very helpful.
Host spoke English to us, french to another couple, plus more.

The host will sell you his family made vintage port for a good price. It's delicious and well worth wrapping up and taking home
:-)
He gives you a free bottle in your room when you arrive.

Highly recommend for those on a budget and wanting to feel at home in Porto.

Not great on location, but it didn't matter to us as we enjoyed walking into town and the taxis home are so cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.3 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#48 of 108 in Porto
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 108 in Porto
785 reviews
2.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#12 of 108 in Porto
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#29 of 108 in Porto
1,874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
1.8 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia LIS B&B and Parking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Address: Rua Antero de Quental 659, Porto 4200-068, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencia LIS B&B and Parking 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencia LIS B&B and Parking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing