We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull dinner, very nice chef,and staff”
Review of Foz Velha - CLOSED

Foz Velha
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Campinas São Paulo- Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderfull dinner, very nice chef,and staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The gentleness of the chef, going to the tables, to ask how was the food, and the nice staff,friendly!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank valeriachouzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    43
    19
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heading for bankruptcy”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had big expectations over this place and prepaid 55€ for a voucher worth of 80€ meal for two, the ambiance looked good, quiet place (only had another couple there), we were looking at the menu and about to choose a nice wine (that wasn´t included) when we informed the waiter that we were going to use our prepaid voucher, to which the waiter responded (as following management instructions) that we must have told them when booking the table (even tough the written instructions of the voucher were to be presented on paying the bill) and that we weren´t going to be allowed to use it on this occasion. End of story: an empty restaurant refused to serve a paying costumer that was already sitting for no good reason. They lost a costumer and will have to return the paid money. Their choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlavioMCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pricy...”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The chef is undaunted in his dedication...
Visually stunning food fare with slightly above average products....

Helpful?
Thank Xunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

In my opinion that's the best restaurant in Porto because the chef makes a natural blend between portuguese cuisine and new flavours obtaining an excelent result, very tasteful and also beautifull to see.

Helpful?
Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The right place to begin a special evening...”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

You can see that the chef tries to present traditional dishes with a gourmet point of view...very good result. Great staff, amazing atmosphere, romantic indeed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofia_Portol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foz Velha also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing