We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel do Norte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel do Norte
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I took short break to Porto and stayed here for three nights. It's a small well run hotel , my room was small for a double room but clean and excellent value for money. The hotel is situated opposite an entrance to the Bolhao metro station which itself has a direct line to the airport - it takes about 30 minutes. The city centre is an easy walk away, the Douro riverside about 30 minutes on foot. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. One word of advice, it's not so good for those with mobility issues, there are no lifts and lots of stairs. There is no breakfast available but lots of small coffee bars nearby - boy do the Portuguese love their coffee! Would highly recommend this hotel, especially for those on a budget.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with mobility then get room on the first floor, there are no lifts and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 389 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Kind staff. Very clean. Nice terrace across from beautiful church (we could hear the children's choir practicing the evening of our stay!) Crazy small bathroom/shower as expected, but room was actually roomier than I expected. Super cheap and you can't miss it from the metro stop, which is a straight shot from the airport. Would definitely recommend for the budge conscious.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace across from the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very happy with this hotel recommended by a friend. It is located in a very good position close to the center and 1 minute walking distance from the metro station Bolhao which goes directly to the airport ( Line E) and to other city stations. The price for a double room is affordable, the room & bathroom was clean and modern, the staff is excellent; they speak English and are always willing to provide advice and recommendations. No breakfast is offered in the morning but outside is plenty of bars for very reasonable prices. WiFI access is available also in the room and for free. The only little disappointment is that the room is not well isolated from the noise outside the street and if you get a room on the first floor you might experience it. I would definitely recommend it for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street...it might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario_itna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent location : when you get out of the metro BALHAO (direct line from the airport) the hotel is in front of you; it is next to the beautiful CAPELA DAS ALMAS and the main shopping street STA CATHARINA. Breakfast possibilities and restaurants of all categories in the surroundings.
I booked a single room for 4 nights and had a good bed (140*190), cupboard, 2 seats, table, flatscreen, fridge, airco. Although my room was on the 1st floor street side, no noise bothered me. Excellent FREE WIFI. Mini bathroom with WC, shower (plenty hot water) in the bath and the smallest hand basin ever. Good sized room for a single person (might be tiny for a couple but I understood the twin rooms were larger). Reception manned 24/7, friendly and English speaking. At €30/night I wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: if you are not alone : book a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loeloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Polished white marble greets one as well as bright helpful front desk. Price? Under 40,£
Metro across the street. Cathedrals down the street, across the street as well as much clothing and shoe shopping. Bakeries and many good restaurants are close by.
Return?
If my reservation is in early enough, especially for weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good clean small Hotel in the center, 100 m away from the Metro connecting the Airport and other points of interest. Clean and friendly! Good value for the rates charged. Small breakdestroom, but there are enough cafés in the neibourghood.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinovon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed there for only a night and is a very well locatedm¿, next to the metro station that comes from the airport. Rooms are simple and clean, but make sure to book one that is not on the top floors since there is no lift.
Staff was very helpful.
Look for deals on the internet when making your reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olimon_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#49 of 109 in Porto
859 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 109 in Porto
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#25 of 109 in Porto
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 109 in Porto
1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vice Rei
Hotel Vice Rei
#59 of 109 in Porto
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Norte

Address: Rua Fernandes Tomas 579, Porto 4000-217, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $45 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel do Norte 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel do Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Do Norte Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing