We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dinner spot”

Restaurante Abadia Do Porto
Ranked #80 of 1,657 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $22
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Peekskill NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great dinner spot”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

my husband and I arrived late in Porto. our hotel was right around the corner from this restaurant.
we ventured down about 930pm - dining this late in portugal is normal.
the service was excellent. our waiter, Manuel, was knowledgeable about the menu and was able to help us pick out a good wine pairing from their extensive wine list. he was attentive without being intrusive. I would recommend this to anyone.
My only wish is that the menu had one or two more items on it (perhaps a chicken dish)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    1,117
    295
    70
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lots of great food and quick service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a wonderful meal at Abadia! You'll want to go hungry because the portions are large, with servings that can be selected for either one or two people to share. Food is served family style, so you can try what others are eating as well. My husband and son tried the oxtail and loved it while my daughter and I shared the salted cod with sliced potatoes. We all had the vegetable soup and loved it--make sure to try the cornmeal based bread that is delicious and was served with the soup. Our waiter spoke decent English and was helpful in deciding what to eat. The only different thing about the wait staff is that they essentially hover near the table throughout the meal. It can be a little daunting, but does make service and the meal move more quickly. The food wasn't too pricey either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great restaurant for traditional Portuguese food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great restaurant to eat traditional portuguese food, namely codfish, different meat dishes (including "tripas", a local specialty, made with trype). The list is extensive, service is generally good, portions are plentiful, and the wine is list has a lot of references of portuguese wines. In recent types it has become somewhat more expensive and touristy, but is still highly recommended. I go there every couple of months, it's especially good for groups or large families, as the place is quite big.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rmkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Touristy but good”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to this place after reading all the reviews on trip advisor. I think it's touristy which has an impact on the price you will be paying, but you also get good food and excellent service. The guys are fast, speak a wide range of languages and give good recommendations for beverages and the food.
The restaurant is hidden in a small alley that runs parallel to the main shopping street, so don't hesitate to get in there - the area can get gloomy at night, but it's totally worth the "adventure"

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaensebluemchen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Our tour guide dropped us there for lunch. We had grilled octopus plus rice with octopus pieces in it. The meal was delicious, the service excellent, and good atmosphere. Would be my first choice for eating out in Porto.

Helpful?
Thank PrueF145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Abadia Do Porto also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Abadia Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing