We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore Porto”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Porto, Porto District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gouderevi...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Porto”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had a lovely few days staying at Maria's apartment, she told us what bus to get on and was there to welcome us and offer advice on where to go. The apartment was great, we had everything we needed including a powerful shower. Lovely to sit in the back garden. It is in the art district. Walk down the street to the centre of Porto and the other way to the Palacio gardens. Shops, cafes and restaurants are all close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for the generosity of the evaluation, it feels very well.
It is good to be recognized for my effort to offer the best welcoming conditions.
And Palácio gardens are so romantic ...
It was a pleasure and a good fortune to have received such a nice couple, which greatly facilitates the communication.
Obrigada.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy L
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
“Perfect stay in porto”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful time in Marias apartment. Perfectly decorated, with everything you need for a comfortable time.And everything is nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2016
Thank you for your kind commentary as well as the generosity on the evaluation.

I'm glad you were satisfied with the service and the apartment, it's very gratifying for me!

Até à próxima.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best rental we found on four week Portugal / Spain trip”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed in the one bedroom, two bathroom suite. The bathrooms have sparkling modern fixtures. The kitchen is well equipped with granite countertops and modern appliances and cabinetry. Furnishings are a nice blend of modern and period pieces. The bed was very comfortable and housekeeping was impeccable. It is obvious that Maria and Antonio take pride in this restored old home set right in the arts district of Porto.
The private back yard was nice and we did utilize the complimentary laundry.
This was one of nine places we stayed during a four-week holiday in Portugal and Spain. This apartment was by far the best accommodation we found on the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, sparkling clean
Liked least: only that we hadn't allotted enough time there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2016
Your kind comments makes me very proud and with the good feeling that the work, the dedication and hosting according to our tradition is very gratifying.
Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryJRX
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Little Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

When my girlfriend and I were planning our trip to Porto she stumbled upon the Porto.arte apartments completely by chance. Since we have only ever stayed in B&B's before we were a little hesitant about renting an apartment for a week.

We arrived by taxi late on the first night and the owners had stayed up to meet us and to show us around. We had the ground floor apartment of the building. It had a quirky layout but it was one we quickly got used to with lots of gorgeous antique furniture (the couple who owned and ran the apartments ran an antique shop over the road). The main rooms were large, airy and well kept. The little things like washing up liquid in the kitchen and soaps and toilet rolls in the bathrooms were waiting for us along with a basket of fruit, teabags and biscuits on the dining table. Though we never used it, the room had access to a communal garden at the rear and via a general use passageway which had a table of guides and maps that were available to everyone. There was also a communal laundry and drying space.

The apartments are far enough from the city to escape the noise but close enough to access easily and quickly. The Torre de Clerigos and the bars near the university buildings were about a 15 minute walk away. The apartments are within easy reach of a tram stop which runs all the way to the beach at the mouth of the Douro.

We really loved our stay in Porto.arte and I cannot recommend it enough to anyone wanting to experience the wonderful city of Porto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place was faultless!
Liked least: I'm struggling to think of one.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we just make our best to maintain the Porto´s tradition to welcome guests.

However, with people like you Harry, and Rachael, it´s better and easier!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenalagu...
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in Portp”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Maria's appartment is very cozy, new and very nicely decorated. It is perfect for two people and a small weekend or a longer stay. Maria and her husband were more than helpful at our arrival, flexible with chek-out time and offered to be reachable by phone during our stay in case we needed anything.
The appartment has a very nice patio, where spend some time in open air.
It is also very well situated, near a lot of art galleries and some nice restaurants, not in the most turistic area but close enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thank you for the review , it is gratifying to know that our commitment is appreciated.
Hope to hear from both of you again.

Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing