We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
346
177
44
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
177
44
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river great location cell phone to use the penthouse free phone toilet and shower taxi stand hotel is perfect on arrival checking out upon check weekend break spent nights rooms are clean restaurants and bars nice room would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 585 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The hotel is very centrally located in the old town of Porto. It is clean, modern and very quiet. One great feature of our stay there was the free cellphone they offer every guest. It tracks you so you never get lost, has attractions listed with maps and ihas free cell phone service. The hotel does not have a full restaurant, but does have a good continental breakfast. Many types of excellent restaurants are nearby and the hotel has an arrangement with a large parking garage only one blockaway for guests traveling by car. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank eaglecadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHouseRibeiraHotel, Diretor-Geral at The House Ribeira Porto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The House Ribeira Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We are particularly pleased to know that our GuestU phone was useful for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Teresa Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at The House Ribeira. We were thrilled with the location, close to the river and an easy walk to many of the iconic Porto sights.
The room was clean and simply furnished, and the bed was very comfortable. The one complaint we had was the lighting system, which seemed to have no rhyme or reason. Turning on (or off) the bathroom or room lights was a crap-shoot. Labeling would help.
Aside from that, everything was quite nice, from the front desk clerks, to the complementary glass of Port at check-in.
The hotel will be at the top of our list when we return to Porto.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank geekymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHouseRibeiraHotel, Diretor-Geral at The House Ribeira Porto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The House Ribeira Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your feedback, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto and to have the possibility to improve your opinion about our hotel.
Best regards,
Teresa Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We stayed here three nights coming from Coimbra. It’s location is the best one can ask for. The staff is friendly and very helpful, even when they themselves do not know they will take the trouble to find the info you need.
It’s expensive for what it has to offer, but we concluded they charge exorbitant for the perfect location. Our room was dark, had a window that opened on to another dilapidated building so we kept the curtains drawn. All amenities were there but the bathroom was not practical at all, especially the washbasin hardly had any counter space. The shower was good as such but one had to be careful or the whole got flooded. We were surprised at this. We asked for an iron and it was given immediately. We were thrilled by the hotel’s location and charmed by the staff but otherwise all other hotels where we stayed offered more than this.
One weird thing we noticed in Portugal, they never have creamer for coffee which normally is very good. Porto is a place you can walk around for days and best is the Douro valley which is the best place a tourist should not miss, especially in September when they harvest/pick grapes for wine and when other fruits, figs, pears, etc too are ripe and waiting to be plucked and eaten. Porto is a heady place,

Room tip: Well, ours was not that great though it was fully equipped and cozy, it was pretty dark So insist on a good one and check first.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ACT1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHouseRibeiraHotel, Diretor-Geral at The House Ribeira Porto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The House Ribeira Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We appreciate your feedback, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our facilities and our service. We are particularly happy to know that our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one and we will ensure to share your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Teresa Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel - great location only a block from the river and good for exploring city center too. Nice breakfast,comfortable rooms, excellent staff with great recommendations. Would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank K5734RSnancym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHouseRibeiraHotel, Diretor-Geral at The House Ribeira Porto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The House Ribeira Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our Hotel, as it is only possible for us to improve the quality of our service and facilities through your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Teresa Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Clean, modern, centrally located hotel with comfortable beds. Room 002 is quiet and easily accessible with good blockout drapes. There are few cafes in the vicinity for a quick breakfast, but the breakfast at the hotel was fairly good. However, since we didn't include it in our plan, it was not such a good deal (€12 per person per day). Unfortunately, we found ourselves wishing for a few extra inches of bathroom counter space (or at least an extra hook or a shelf) and a second nightstand. It's difficult to manage at night without a place to set your phone, a bottle of water or reading glasses. Staff is friendly and helpful, but unwilling to provide written information such as rail schedule or nearby Catholic mass schedule. It appears that the information is not always reliable, so they are apprehensive and fear guests will be upset if it is not accurate. Overall, good hotel and very nice experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lagranturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHouseRibeiraHotel, Diretor-Geral at The House Ribeira Porto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The House Ribeira Hotel. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your constructive suggestions, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto and to have the possibility to improve your opinion about our hotel.
Best regards,
Teresa Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews