We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go!”
Review of The Compasses

The Compasses
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Holbrook
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I hate negative comments but feel I need to warn you. I know it is people's jobs etc but I felt cheated.
The worst food made from a cook in sauce ( beef noodles) cheapest beef and vile sauce with super noodles, NO VEG and the cost of this was over £10.
Puddings are £4.75 but is just a meringue with squirts cream.
Such a shame as the location is nice.
Total sham and a cook in the kitchen who only knows how to use a microwave.
Avoid it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Houchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    9
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“why did we go”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

i use to work at holbrook so on way back from jimmy farm called in for lunch ,waited at bar for some one to take order staff to busy talking , after 5 mins waiting and staff loking at me with another two people we all walked out ,to the manager train your staff,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Success”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

About time I submitted a review for the Compasses. We take the family (adults and children ages from 18mths to 95yrs) in numbers at least twice a year and have never been disappointed. Always perfect food, good service and helpful staff who don't mind when last minute changes have been forced on them. Even when attending in smaller numbers, again not disappointed. When a dish is not listed - ask, we haven't been refused yet!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A case for "the Pub Inspector"!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I would like to use this pub as my local. Sadly the occasions we have eaten here have left us wishing we had spent the money elsewhere. The presentation of food resides back in the 1980's and the quality of wine is poor. This pub has enormous potential. It is in a great location and could be a real hub of the community. Today's customer is however much more discerning than the team here and have moved on from the offer at the Compasses to the strong ocal competition. A real need for "the Pub Inspector"!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jajobunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It,s all Good”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Greeted the second we walked in the door, Friendly service, good food, pleasant surronding,relaxed atmosphere. Nice way to spend an evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Straders0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compasses also viewed

 
Chelmondiston, Babergh District
 

Been to The Compasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing