We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It,s all Good”
Review of The Compasses

The Compasses
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Holbrook
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It,s all Good”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Greeted the second we walked in the door, Friendly service, good food, pleasant surronding,relaxed atmosphere. Nice way to spend an evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Straders0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    9
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Walked in and nobody to greet us, stood for a good 5 minutes while the staff in the back room were chatting. Could have rung the bell on the bar (obviously placed there because this a common problem) but decided to wait to see how long it would take them to notice me.
When eventually a chap with specs came out he was quite rude when he had to lay up a table by the fire instead of us going into the main restaurant.
As for the food - well if you're insistent on eating here, try to sneak in a packed lunch!
One of the worst roast dinners I've ever had (over microwaved I'd say) and the dessert looked like a 2 year old had arranged it on the plate, with ridiculous blobs of aerosol cream scattered around.
It's not particularly cheap either. There are many other pubs that do better food for a lot less - dare I say it? Yes I guess even Wetherspoons......

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What rubbish some people write.....”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

For the second year running I have taken a large group of people (47) to lunch at this charming Suffolk hostelry. The staff were welcoming, the food delicious and the ambience in keeping with the festive season. Portions were more than adequate and I have already booked for 2013 - Jayne and her staff need compliments not complaints!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful and over priced!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went here for a meal using my taste card , buy one get one free, only problem is they did not give us this offer and upon telling taste card and asking for a refund, they refused. What a cheek !!! Anyhow the food was appalling , seafood lasagne was dry and like a child portion too,i had to get a mc donalds after! Kids meal was disgusting greasy chicken goujons with two of the smallest microwaved new potatoes you have ever seen that had shrunk due to being overheated also this did not come with beans or vegetables, that was it! (My baby eats everything , but chucked this all on the floor), my fiance had a steak which he said was ok but nothing amazing, also this meal took AGES to come out. So basically , DO NOT GO HERE !!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sassysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Lovely Suffolk pub! Good beers, food excellent as was the service. Busy, two large tables of 10 people.
Food portions were fine, more than ample and certainly not "small portions" as Peter W says! Either that or he has a "very healthy appetite".The building is not "very tired and dated", it is a charming Suffolk ex-Tolly Cobbold villiage pub", I sometimes doubt if what some people write is actually true.
Anyway 10 out 10; you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compasses also viewed

 
Chelmondiston, Babergh District
 
Walton-on-the-Naze, Essex
 

Been to The Compasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing