We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
42
44
13
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
44
13
7
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a modern conversion of an old convent that has been completed very well. The rooms are well appointed and those facing the river have a very nice view. My only complaint is that the hot water could be a little hotter and their computer system is rather slow and clunky. In the grand scheme of things these are pretty minor.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank AB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

How is it possible in an expensive hotel it be cold inside the building?
We had to wear our coats to move around inside !
Our room gets warmed only after turning on the AC 30 minutes! and this everytime we went to the room.
In a hotel that says it is a charm hotel this can not happen !!

Date of stay: January 2016
1  Thank josedoporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Stayed in the modern extension, a little lacking in character, but it did have an outside patio. Unfortunately the a/c was not very efficient. The maintenance guy managed to improve it a little, but perhaps the answer is to switch it on before the guests arrive? The pool area was pleasant, but spoiled on our first afternoon, by the arrival of a French /Portuguese group of approx 10, who were not residents. They came with several large inflatables, & the teenagers very dive bombing , pushing each other in etc. ( It wasn't a big pool either). Breakfast was good. Had one evening meal there & found it to be ordinary. Second night , we walked a little way down the road, towards town. We ate at Fonte de Vila, which was excellent! They have rooms there too, but no pool.

Room tip: Modern block did nothing for me. Perhaps staying in the old block would give you a sense of the history of the place. It's been beautifully restored, but lacks that je ne sais quoi.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mairi315967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very interesting juxtaposition of new furnishings in an old, historical building. Beautiful view across the river. Plenty of easy parking. Staff was particularly nice and helpful. Easy walk to downtown Moncao; in the daytime there's a nice path under a grape arbor from the back of the hotel. Elegant restaurant with great breakfast. Also had dinner one night, great food and wine list but more expensive than elsewhere in Portugal. Another night after returning from dinner downtown, enjoyed a glass of port in the inner courtyard.

Room tip: We stayed in the annex which was nice. Our room had an outdoor patio that faced the river.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This review relates to the restaurant only. We were visiting a winery not far away on a rainy Wednesday. A retired Portuguese professor who we met at the winery offered to guide us where he felt we would eat and drink well. We were two couples: a Swedish and a French lady, and an American and a Portuguese man. Thus the palates were pan European, if you will, with good experience. The restaurant was empty when we sat down in a dining room that felt Zen like with muted, agreeable colors in an almost Cistercian restraint--appropriate for a former Cloister. What was to be in this at that moment empty dining room?

Marco the chef came to our table to tell us what he had on offer and we explained we would like small portions only and what cold he put together for us.

He suggested an appetizer of asparagus with melted Queyo da Serra with a caramelized sugar or maybe honey (still do not know) and a marinated fresh Sardine on top of a lightly cooked Caponata (but no eggplant) on a fine toast of non white bread. Absolute superb. This was paired with a fine Solar Serrade Alvarinho that had won a gold medal in Berlin last week.

Marco's next suggestion was Bacalhau with a puree of chick peas with cilantro. The Cod fish was the dorsal file' and served just at the right moment. The chick pea puree was absolutely unbelievable. Everyone at the table hopes to replicate it at home. It is the Platonic ideal.

Marco suggested a five hour low temperature preparation of Cacharo de Porco Bisaro (baked pork ) served with a vegetable pancake consisting of onion, a spinach like green, small bread
cubes in an egg custard. Absolutely outstanding. This was served with an oaked Soalheiro 2008 Alvarinho that, when initially served seemed over-oaked, but with the pork and the vegetable custard lived up to Chef Marco's description.

The dessert was Crocante de leite crème, a filo dough surrounding a just sweet enough very, very fluffy kind of crème brule' filling. Extraordinary. This was paired with a Graham's "Six Grapes" Reserve Port.

The trip to this restaurant from Porto with automobile to Moncao (which is the Alvarinho region) takes about 75 minutes. Any person interested in great food who misses this chef when in the Porto area has missed out BIG TIME.

We are indebted to the Portuguese Professor who guided us there as I did not find this restaurant mentioned in any of my preparatory searches.

For some reason there was no site to review the restaurant only on Trip Advisor..

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Cuisinaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews