We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, nice room”
Review of Delfim Douro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delfim Douro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Lamego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our room was very nice, and the view was amazing.

Some warnings:
* we got massively lost because maps say the hotel is on N222, but this road is not marked. Finally, a local person had us follow him there.
* the wifi works fine for surfing, but not for Skype. I had a scheduled business call with a client, and was very embarrassed. After 2 tries in different locations of the hotel, neither worked.
* we ate dinner there, because it was too dark to try to drive. Our entrees took over an hour, and weren't good - just weird-tasting.
* this was the 2nd hotel I stayed at in Portugal with a glass window between the room and the bathroom. Delfim Douro has a curtain, but it doesn't work, so very awkward.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've spent Easter at this Hotel and despite the bad weather we had a very good time.

The Hotel has a fantastic location, on the Top of a Hill with a 180 degrees view, the setting could not be better.

All the rooms have river view and they are very spacious, well decorated and with good materials. one thing that impressed me very much was the good sound isolation which made the rooms very quiet, ideal for some days resting.

The Hotel has a summer pool, and should be ever better during the Hot Season May-October.

The food is excellent, the breakfast is very good, not a huge choice but all good quality products, and the dinner was also very good with good options from the chef and a good wine list to complement.

Last but not the least, the service is fantastic, staff is very friendly, they do anything they can to make you feel well at this Hotel.

After all the good things I must recommend this Hotel, is the best 4 stars I've been in my life, exceeding lots of 5 stars hotels in many aspects.

Room Tip: They are all River facing, so maybe the difference is the Floor, the -3 seems the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're wondering to take a trip to one of the most unique wine landscape in the world - the Douro Valley in Portugal - experience this fantastic hotel in the rivers' banks. Nicely furnished rooms, top cleanness, very good breakfast service (in the room), wide range of wine tasting in the surroundings, an unique region to have a restful vacation, along with a lot of tasty gastronomic experiences. A must in this region of Northern Portugal!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views from balconies to Douro river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After staying at many quaint hotels through this amazing country, we arrived at Delfim Douro Hotel. There were about 20 people in our party and the staff immediately seemed on edge. Being in the industry, I take note of how employees and management act (especially when they are annoyed). After the kind receptionist checked us in (with a mean manager/owner breathing down his neck), we headed to our beautiful room. The view (FROM EVERYWHERE) is spectacular! The rooms are modern and the shower pressure will blow you away... literally.

We headed back to the pool and bar area to meet up with everyone else. The staff was running around like they have never waited on 10 people before. We all had wine in hand so an hour wait for a turkey sandwich didn't bother us much. And the servers were sweet just confused. We were just happy to soak up the sun and view.

We headed to some local vineyards ( http://www.wonderfulland.com/pacheca/ ) and had a wonderful afternoon. After dinner out, we headed back to the hotel. With new, great bottles of wine in hand, we relaxed poolside. They had candles and lanterns lit. "well, this will be a wonderful night to sit around and enjoy the weather" I thought. I went into the bar to order drinks if they were still open, or to ask for wineglasses if they were not. The bartender said no, he couldn't. then snuck me an empty wine glass.....scared. It all made sense when the HORRIBLE owner just started turning off lights and starring at us through the glass doors. Keep in mind: The time was 9:15pm. The young girl at the front desk was terrified and eventually told us to had to be quiet because the room above us was complaining. The restaurant was the only room above us.

I hate writing negative reviews especially for such a beautiful hotel. The owner/manager completely ruined the experience. I have great pictures from here too but I refuse to post them.

And do not eat here. The food is a complete joke. :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and just wished we had stayed longer! Everything about it was just perfect, loved the confy, stylish decor and quite unique bathroom! Breakfast was to die for with sliced fresh fruit, bread and pastries. Will return for a short Easter break and hopefully try the pool if weather permits.

Room Tip: Request a Room with balcony facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMarruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend here, and can only say what a wonderful new hotel this is. We had a ground floor suite with a terrace and fantastic views of the Douro. All the staff were first class and ensure that your stay is very enjoyable. You are close to many vineyards and restaurants. We also ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was of a very high standard. There is an outside swimming pool with a nice terrace for sun bathing. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPTAINBUDHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Just lovely! What can i say?? The views are amazing, the hotel construction fantastic, the rooms are very confortable and clean, the staff is very friendly and the bar and pool have goods views.
We stayed at the lower rooms, wich are the best has you have a little garden outside your room that go directly to the vineyards and with astonishing views to the Douro river. In the room the towels have perfume.
Just loved it, if you wish to rest and relax this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelderBCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
265 reviews
10 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
456 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
285 reviews
15.9 mi away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
14.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfim Douro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfim Douro Hotel

Address: Quinta do Loureiro | Samodaes, Lamego 5100-758, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lamego
Price Range: $113 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfim Douro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Delfim Douro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing