We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been perfect....”
Review of Delfim Douro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delfim Douro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Lamego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have been perfect....”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After staying at many quaint hotels through this amazing country, we arrived at Delfim Douro Hotel. There were about 20 people in our party and the staff immediately seemed on edge. Being in the industry, I take note of how employees and management act (especially when they are annoyed). After the kind receptionist checked us in (with a mean manager/owner breathing down his neck), we headed to our beautiful room. The view (FROM EVERYWHERE) is spectacular! The rooms are modern and the shower pressure will blow you away... literally.

We headed back to the pool and bar area to meet up with everyone else. The staff was running around like they have never waited on 10 people before. We all had wine in hand so an hour wait for a turkey sandwich didn't bother us much. And the servers were sweet just confused. We were just happy to soak up the sun and view.

We headed to some local vineyards ( http://www.wonderfulland.com/pacheca/ ) and had a wonderful afternoon. After dinner out, we headed back to the hotel. With new, great bottles of wine in hand, we relaxed poolside. They had candles and lanterns lit. "well, this will be a wonderful night to sit around and enjoy the weather" I thought. I went into the bar to order drinks if they were still open, or to ask for wineglasses if they were not. The bartender said no, he couldn't. then snuck me an empty wine glass.....scared. It all made sense when the HORRIBLE owner just started turning off lights and starring at us through the glass doors. Keep in mind: The time was 9:15pm. The young girl at the front desk was terrified and eventually told us to had to be quiet because the room above us was complaining. The restaurant was the only room above us.

I hate writing negative reviews especially for such a beautiful hotel. The owner/manager completely ruined the experience. I have great pictures from here too but I refuse to post them.

And do not eat here. The food is a complete joke. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    112
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
74
202
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and just wished we had stayed longer! Everything about it was just perfect, loved the confy, stylish decor and quite unique bathroom! Breakfast was to die for with sliced fresh fruit, bread and pastries. Will return for a short Easter break and hopefully try the pool if weather permits.

Room Tip: Request a Room with balcony facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMarruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLKESTONE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend here, and can only say what a wonderful new hotel this is. We had a ground floor suite with a terrace and fantastic views of the Douro. All the staff were first class and ensure that your stay is very enjoyable. You are close to many vineyards and restaurants. We also ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was of a very high standard. There is an outside swimming pool with a nice terrace for sun bathing. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPTAINBUDHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Just lovely! What can i say?? The views are amazing, the hotel construction fantastic, the rooms are very confortable and clean, the staff is very friendly and the bar and pool have goods views.
We stayed at the lower rooms, wich are the best has you have a little garden outside your room that go directly to the vineyards and with astonishing views to the Douro river. In the room the towels have perfume.
Just loved it, if you wish to rest and relax this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelderBCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have written loads of reviews, but have hardly ever attributed five stars. The hotel is in a stunning location and is very tastefully done up. That in itself would be sufficient. But the extra star is due to the incredible attention and assistance that was afforded by all the staff after finding ourselves in a tricky situation when we punctured a tyre at night high up on a mountain (hill) in driving rain. Faulty gps had guided us on a disused dangerous track and we found we had no spare in our hired car. With a two year old on board. After waking up a couple of families that got out of bed and drove us back to the hotel - typical Portuguese genuine friendliness - europcar told us that assistance would only be afforded the day after. At this point the manager actually offered to drive back to the mountain and fit his spare on the vehicle!!! The day after the owners and the staff organized everything themselves out of genuine concern. Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank auntybernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Incredible! After a great bike trip I stayed in this hotel for a well-deserved rest. A perfect location, far enough from civilization, but very close to Peso da Régua. An ideal orientation, facing north, and very refreshing with a superb view. The staff is extremely friendly, the food is good, sober but pleasant decoration, the rooms are very comfortable. Definitely a place to return! The only thing missing was the bicycle parking!

Room Tip: be carefull with the shower pressure, it's a little bit too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
213 reviews
10.0 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
416 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
0.5 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
523 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quinta de Casaldronho Wine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfim Douro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfim Douro Hotel

Property: Delfim Douro Hotel
Address: Quinta do Loureiro | Samodaes, Lamego 5100-758, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lamego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delfim Douro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Delfim Douro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing