We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and clean but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lamego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lamego
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lamego
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“comfortable and clean but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We liked the Hotel Lamego which was clean and comfortable, with a very nice bar and pool area. The view from our window was lovely (at back of hotel). The letdown was the food. Breakfasts were OK but dinners were disappointing. They served pork as one choice 3 times in 5 days and pork makes me ill, so no good for me! Other choices were mostly beyond disappointing. Also reception staff tended to ignore passing guests, a smile and greeting would have been nice. One other complaint was that sometimes, some of the younger bar staff could not understand a simple request e.g. one beer and one white wine please!

Lamego was an OK place, nothing spectacular, but trips with Saga were good. We liked northern Portugal and loved the prices of food and drink away from hotel, especially we would recommend Sonho restaurant only a 5 minute walk from hotel. No English spoken but good food and wine at amazing prices.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel for lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimanddiana2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    127
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
90
101
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so you will sleep well.
It is kind of old.
Our room was large, the mattresses were hard.
Clean and functional.
Very basic toiletries. No coffee pot, no ice.
Glad to see that just like in most 4 * hotels in Portugal, there was a tub.

But the restaurant was very, very nice. The dining room had lovely views, and on the table there were large white linen tablecloths.
We were served by very young waiters and waitresses, nicely dressed, but who had a hard time opening a bottle of wine or remembering who ordered what.
We waited quite a bit to get our food, but the staff was so friendly that you could not help tolerating the tardiness with good cheer.
The food was very decent and the wine very good.
Breakfast was out of this world.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year with Saga 'Douro Adventure' which I found quite adequate but not luxurious insomuch as the decor of my room was somewhat drab and dated but clean and fairly spacious.

The evening meal was not always included and did vary with one disappointing meal. Breakfast was also unexciting.

It is about a 20 minute walk to the town of Lamego which was interesting and a good base for excursions further afield.

The big minus was that my mattress's are rock hard and when I asked for something to soften the mattess I was given another room with another rock hard mattress. I do think something could be done about this but there were a lot of elderly people on this holiday and a good comfortable bed is important as one gets older.

I did think it rather nice that when we returned to the hotel after a tiring day's outing we were offered tea and cake - very thoughtful!

I think overall the hotel was fairly good value for money but the rooms could be updated and jazzed up with a bit of imagination and need not cost a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeannieB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place is quite cosy but the room decoration is a bit outdated. Also, at night, the AC is noisy.
The pool and jacuzzi are pretty good and the gym seems to be well equiped. The massage area and staff are very nice.
The restaurant is very good, great food with nice prices, but the breakfast is very poor, specially when you compare it to the restaurant service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very nice location, in a park, altough far from the city centre. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff is helpful. Also the restaurant is very good.I only stayed there for one night so I had no time to try the swimming pool but it looked OK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MVLVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Took a bit of finding this hotel as the road given on the booking site didn't come up on either Google Maps or the Tom Tom sat nav. In the end I set it for a nearby road that was recognised and found it from there. We stayed here for just one night as part of a 3 week road trip around Spain and a bit of Portugal.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms / bathrooms are well equiped and the staff most helpful and friendly. There is secure car parking, the rooms have air con and there's a good bar / restaurant. There's also a large swimmng pool with it's own bar area. We ate here in the evening and the food was outstanding and the waitresses very friendly and helpful. I find it very hard to criticise this hotel in any way - even it's position which is a good walk out of town is good because it's so quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend and thought It'd be a lot better. The pictures don't really show what it really is. The indoor pool seemed to be full with children or people who were not even staying at the hotel, therefore didn't use it because I felt a little out of place. The rooms were fine, normal and the view was nice, although had some funny smells in the hall corredors at times. The breakfast was not great. The best part were the croissants because the eggs were raw and sausages uncooked. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was very expensive! The view from the restaurant having breakfast was beautiful but only enjoyed that on the day we left. The price was not expensive but I guess we had other expectations and thought the city would have a little more to offer us. We don't plan on returning here, although we thought the town was very peaceful and had some very beautiful views.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
2.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
3.6 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
10.8 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
12.6 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lamego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lamego

Property: Hotel Lamego
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Vista Alegre, Lamego 5100-007, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lamego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lamego 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lamego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing