We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tastings, Restaurant and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lamego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited last Saturday for lunch and a tasting.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even though it was very busy.
We had an aperitif tasting before lunch ! And returned after lunch for the rest of the tasting. We really enjoyed the wines and port, and the shipping charges to the UK were not too bad.
It seemed that the coach party's were served lunch in the cellar, which was very attractively decorated, laid out and lit.
We had lunch in the hotel restaurant, which certainly was not big enough to cater for a coach party.
The restaurant was a striking shade of spring green which looked lovely in the sunshine. It had a large balcony, and a beautiful view over the vineyards.
The surrounding were modern, spotlessly clean and just a little bit unusual from your run of the mill hotel. I really liked the feel of the place and would love to return.
Service in the restaurant was excellent, and the food was very good. We really enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited the wine cellars and vineyards at this location on a tour of the Douro area in Portugal and were not disappointed.The tastings were excellent and very generous to our group and of course we made purchases of the products - wine and port.
We were staying in Lamego but were informed of the rooms at the location and the prices, so may be of interest for future visits.
Recommend the tasting!!!!!

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After staying in this wonderful Quinta we understand the magic of Douro valley. The hotel is comfortable modern and the service was extremely good, but wisely they kept the rooms with old design – big, stylish with comfortable bad. Nice to walk in the vineyards and taste the grapes (harvest time) we had a nice walk to the river with magnificent view.
The afternoon was spent in a tour of the winery where we pressed the grapes by foot with music and wine tasting. The food is excellent also for dinner with their outstanding wine. This visit is one of the highlights of our holiday in Portugal and we would like to come back another time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liemashaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the last night of our Douro valley tour. The hotel is ultra modern and the service was extremely good and accommodating. We arrived early for our reservation and left our luggage with reception while we went out to wander the grounds. After having spent the previous days up the valley with nothing but terraced hillsides, seeing city buildings outside the vineyard was a bit of a shock. Do not let this discount the quality of this Quinta. The grounds were wonderful to explore and to enjoy. Upon our return were led to our rooms where our luggage had been delivered (this was a bonus as there is no elevator!) the rooms were extremely comfortable with views out over the vineyard. Then it was off to lunch in the wonderful bright dining room. The floor to ceiling windows look out down the valley. The meal was wonderful and the estate wine went down very easily! The afternoon was spent in a tour of the winery. The winery still presses the grapes by foot! The granite vats (lots of them) were just waiting for the harvest which was about to begin the following week. The tour alone was worth the stay at the hotel, but the quality of the hotel and the level of service and qulaity of fodd make this a great place to stay in the Douro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent a weekend in family. Beautiful place in a great location. Very cosy, fantastic decoration, with very good taste. Fantastic staff, very good breakfast. Nice to walk in the vineyards and to learn a lot about the region and its wines. If you want only to relax and read a book, it's also perfect. Just one request: a swimming pool would be much appreciated by the kids. Please go and enjoy your stay. Congratulations to all of Quinta da Pacheca.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonorGSCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights with other family members and loved it. The rooms are spacious and each is individually decorated. All of the furnishings have been lovingly selected and are tastefully arranged. Each room has a magnificent view of the surrounding hillsides covered in vineyards, and it is perfectly quiet. The food is excellent, and the staff very attentive. I certainly recommend this place for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JgEg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel beautifully designed. The staff are friendly but unobtrusive. The dinner is a very good modern style of Portugese cooking. Don't bother with a starter as the cover is always tasty and sufficient with a main course.

Beware that the menu does not change daily and as it is small menu makes the evening meal tedious if staying 2 + nights. However you are near the town.

There is no swimming pool or comfortable area to lie out. There are nice lounges to sit and read your book.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
13.4 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
246 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
1.1 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delfim Douro Hotel
Delfim Douro Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lamego
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rua do Relogio de Sol 261 | Cambres, Lamego 5100-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lamego
Price Range: $120 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Pacheca Quinta da Pacheca can be visited at any time, in every season there is a new experience to be lived. Guided tours, to wine tasting, the wine courses, passing through lunch and dinner, everything can be done. Here, the possibilities are numerous and flexibility is total. All your ideas and dreams can be held here. Harvest a unique experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing