We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta de Marrocos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Imperio Hotel(Peso Da Regua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regua Douro(Peso Da Regua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Columbano(Peso Da Regua)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa d'Alem(Mesao Frio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
62
16
8
0
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
16
8
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport wineport tourthe ownerguest roomswine tastingthe main houseexcellent tourdouro valleyfamily runtasting roomcodharvest seasonliving roommarmaladefabulous viewsview of the riverby foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 93 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

WE had a most wonderful experience in this Quinta. With welcoming and charming hosts we stayed in the main house in a delightful comfortable room with an amazing view. The farm is a working one and we were able to have a tour of the wine making process. Quintas de Marrocos is an independent producer of Port wine and table wine and we were able to sample many varieties from chilled white Port to after dinner Port.
Meals are taken in the farm house kitchen and breakfast involves a table groaning with farm produce and home made jams.
Guest are free to tour the property and we had several walks ( accompanied by the very gentle and loving farm dogs) .
We stayed for several days and toured the surrounding area. We returned home happy with our special purchases of Port from the Quinta.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anotherjohn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at this Quinta and loved the whole experience. It was the best part of our trip. It was cozy with a fire lit all of the time. We walked around the whole property with the big, loving dogs, ate yummy dinners with the family (as it was just us!) and learned a whole lot about port wine. We feel like we made friends for life. This is a gem of a place and we can't wait to go back with our boys.

Room Tip: We loved our bedroom/bathroom closest to the living room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amyb261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you are looking for a full, active quinta experience - this is it.
Cesar and Rita are wonderful hosts and make you feel welcome.
We were given a tour of the full route the grapes make from the vine to the port bottle - tastings included :-)
We had rooms at different levels (please note that the quinta is on several different levels and requires constant climbing).
The rooms are basic and with old furniture. It is very nice but not to everyone's taste. The bathroom is very basic and clean. There were many flying bugs around but that might be due to the harvest that ended a day before we arrived. The whole quinta smelled of wine a grape juice :-)
The main house is full of family heirlooms and antiques. Breakfast served in the kitchen is an experience in itself - guests share a common table and have a selection of breads to choose from with cheese, ham and a multitude (I think we had more than 8) of home made jams and jellies. There are also fresh fruits right off the trees in the yard. You can wipe the smile off with a starched cloth napkin...
Try not to arrive late as the turn to the quinta although signed is a bit difficult. There is also a hairpin bend that takes you up from the road level to the parking level.
There are several pets around to help make you feel home as well.
There are several places to relax with a good book if you can manage to take your eyes off the views. You are also welcome to wonder the grounds and orchards and pick some fruit - we had Persimmons, Oranges, Pears and Strawberries...

Room Tip: Make sure you consult with Cesar or Rita if you have special requests. Also, remember that this is a working farm so take into account if planning to sleep late as there might be people working outside. Another point - rooms inside the main house do NOT have en-suite bathrooms but others do so make sure you get what you want.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TA.Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed two nights and loved this 17th century former convent now a Quinta. Stunning views of the Douro Valley. This is a unique opportunity to stay wit a Portuguese family who are in the wine making business. Breakfast was excellent and served in a medieval kitchen. Rita is an excellent host and spent some time showing us her wine cellar and discussing the wine making process. She also , with advance notice, cooked us an delicious duck dinner with all kinds of wines. What a delightful way to spend a couple of relaxing days. A side trip to Solar de Mateus via Pinhao and Rts n323 & Nn322 makes an excellent day excursion

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This is a family run port producing Quinta . The owner and wife his daughter and son and grandchildren were all there. The little ones too young to help but they were learning. Harvesting of the grapes was just begining and we went up to the steep fields to watch them pick the grapes and carry them down to the truck They were taken then into the crush tank and waited for the proper amount so the crush could be started. It is still done by foot and we missed it by a day
Cesar the owner was on hand to direct us to all the great sites in the Douro Valley. Breakfast every morning in the old family \kitchen with more suggestions on what to do
We had dinner one night prepared by the owners wife and daughter with products all produced on the quinta and lots of there wine and port.
Staying with this family in one of there 5 rooms will be the best memories of Portugal

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papa_JCalgaryCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews