We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel da Oliveira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Oliveira
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It’s one of the nicest hotels I’ve ever visited. Resulting from a recent restoration of a middle age building, it is perfectly located, facing the lovely Largo da Oliveira, just in the very heart of the nice historic core of Guimaraes. Arrangement and furnishing provide both the hall and the rooms with a warm, elegant and intimate atmosphere. The rooms are wide, with modern and elegant furniture, sound-proof, clean and tidy. Breakfast is rich and assorted. The staff is kind and helpful. Rates are more than honest

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuti60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation.
We were extremely pleased you had a excellent experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    166
    25
    1
    2
See reviews for
94
272
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is certainly the best Hotel I stayed in Guimarães by far. The decoration and ambience are unique and manage to join design, history, sophistication and homeliness - which is not easy! The staff is very friendly and nice. Rooms are spacious and quiet. I have to return to try the restaurant which had a very inviting menu. Breakfast buffet was very good. The location of the hotel is unbeatable - right in the old city centre. Parking facilities are a few meters away but you gladly accept this because of the precious and historic surroundings. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnandrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation.
We were extremely pleased you had a excellent experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We really liked Guimaraes, and we really liked this hotel. In its price category we thought it a great stay. Location is unbeatable, service was good but while the lady in charge of the restaurant was excellent ,we thought that it may be understaffed at breakfast. Food was good if it was out. Eg we discovered there was yogurt when it was put out as we were leaving. We thought the standard room and it's furnishings were fine. Any failings could be easily sorted. We would return tomorrow.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hikerire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and loved it. The hotel is a designer boutique gem, tastefully done and ideally placed between 2 town squares. Breakfast was nice and service was good. We booked a junior suite, which was not that much more but gave you some more room which is always good. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a work trip funded by the organisers, so no idea about the price, really. We were there on what was probably the opening weekend so the hotel had still some teething problems. The rooms were large and nice but the bathroom, although beautifully decorated, felt not very practical for use, in terms of its layout. The rooms were dark using room light only. I remember the windows being painted in the afternoon. Of course maintenance, or set up work needs to be done, but the smell of paint at 40 degrees in the 3 o’clock sun was about too much. What really worked and felt like a thousand dollars, was the AC in the peak of the Guimaraes heat wave. The service and the dark decor of the hotel make the place feel a bit anonymous, rather impersonal.

As other members have noted the hotel is located in the pedestrian area so drop off is about a five minute walk away.

Guimaraes historic centre is a beautiful, colourful city in itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nokkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We note the less positive points that you mention. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We thought about this hotel for a while and finally decided to give it just an average rating. We stayed for 3 nights at a standard room facing the side street and not the plaza. Here is what we did not like: the hotel is located in a pedestrian area of old town (fantastic), therefore the parking space was about 5 minutes away on foot (not a big deal if you do not have luggage, but we travel for 2 months). Nobody even bothered to potentially help us with our luggage from the car or moved from the front desk to open the second part of the front door so that we could walk through with a suitcase like a normal person. No warm welcome, no welcome drink as it was common everywhere else in Portugal. Our room was comfortable but smallish and rather on the dark side. The air conditioner was super noisy and did not get fixed during our entire stay despite complaints (no apologies from the staff and/or manager). If the air condition does not work you have to open the window because the room gets quite hot over time. Although our room was facing the side street, noise from the plaza nearby could be heard until 02:30 am. It started shortly thereafter again with street cleaning, followed by bottle collection etc etc. If you do not have earplugs, there is no way you can sleep well. Breakfast was o.k. but nothing to write home about. We would have expected more from a hotel of this category. How about freshly prepared eggs and/or pancakes instead of the precooked stuff from the dispenser. How about a variety of cheese and ham instead of one choice. Yogurt from a plastic cup instead of fresh natural yogurt? Instant coffee, really? And most important, how about a decent service in the breakfast room? We were never, ever greeted in a friendly way (other than just "room number?") and never asked if we would like anything else. The person in charge of the breakfast area should get some serious training, he never had a smile on his face and really left the impression that he disliked his job during every single minute. What we liked about the hotel was the bathroom, the furniture of the hotel overall and foremost the super friendly and helpful cleaning staff and the male person at the front desk who took the night shift and had longer working hours. Thanks again for providing us with a bus schedule to Braga and all the recommendations. Location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of old town.

Room Tip: spend additional money for a larger room, standard room is on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We note the less positive points that you mention. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham WA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We thought this hotel was wonderful in so many ways, however the lighting situation is all but a deal breaker. We were there for a 4 night stay in a junior suite. We are readers of books, and there just wasn't enough light to read in bed or in the sitting room. There were no reading lamps that are so common in European hotels. The bedside tables are low and have very short dim lamps. We used some of our books to raise the level of the lamps so that we could see somewhat. After we asked, the hotel provided very stylish and efficient LED for the desk and a power strip so we set up our computer. The sitting room had one dim floor lamp. The hotel provided an additional one, but the two still couldn't provide enough light to read by.

The sitting room was sparsely furnished--a TV on a small stand, a floor lamp, a sofa, and a small round table--no end tables or surfaces to set a drink down or lay a purse or keys. As mentioned by others, there was limited storage for clothing and things in general. We lived out of the suitcases except for hanging some of our clothes.

While these were real negatives for us, there were several positives--location, serious air conditioning, cleanliness,wonderful opportunities for ventilation (the suite had 5 windows which deadened noise very well when closed), and a service oriented staff. There were sitting rooms in the common space which were comfortable, although even they weren't well lit. The church bells were not a problem for us, and we kept our windows open all night. We were very pleased with the room we were given as it was not on the main square, but on a narrow, quieter side street.

The city of Guimaraes, the plaza outside the hotel, and the experience in the city contributed so much to our stay there. This hotel has so much going for it, yet for us it wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. I think I got the design vibe--a medieval feel that I liked, however for us it was clearly form over function--a designer who forgot the importance of basic hotel necessities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_da_Oliveira, Gerente geral at Hotel da Oliveira, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you for your visit and subsequent evaluation. We were extremely pleased you had a great experience. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guimaraes hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Guimaraes
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#6 of 19 in Guimaraes
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Guimaraes
Ibis Guimaraes
#8 of 19 in Guimaraes
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Oliveira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Oliveira

Property: Hotel da Oliveira
Address: Rua da Santa Maria, Guimaraes 4800-443, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Oliveira 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel da Oliveira is the most important charming hotel in Guimarães. The project, developed by the interior designer Paulo Lobo, has transformed an old Pousada de Portugal in a contemporary hotel. Thanks to its discreet luxury and its location in the heart of the historic city centre, this hotel is the perfect place for those who want to discover culture and entertainment in Guimarães. The Hotel da Oliveira is a sophisticated 4stars hotel, surrounded by History, offering a personalized quality service, and where all guests will be welcomed in a refined atmosphere, with the typical intimacy of a private house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel da Oliveira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing