We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best traditional dishes in Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mumadona

Mumadona
Ranked #11 of 252 Restaurants in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: esta en una de las puertas de entrada al centro histórico de Guimaraes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best traditional dishes in Portugal”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Both the black pork dish with batatas ao Murro and the cod "ala mumadona" were scrumptious!!!! My fiancé and I really enjoyed all of it and also recommend the cooperativa vinho verde of Guimaraes!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    131
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guimarães, Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not the best place to experience the tradicional dishes from the region. It's very well placed. Regular food for people who doesn't want more than to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aasver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, great price!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to have lunch in this restaurant because it was suggested by Trip Advisor! In fact, it was the best thing we could have done!
It is quite small, with two rooms, right in Guimarães' City Center, by the Castle.
All of the staff was very gentle, the food and the price were just great.
Totally recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoRSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Check the bill before paying”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Disappointing. Food tasted good but I have never eaten codfish with so many bones... Desert was very good, wine selection poor. The bill came with 40 euros of items we never ordered even though we were the only larger group in the restaurant. A mistake?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCFViana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denizli, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super super super.!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Süper traditional kitchen.
Best food i had in guimaraes.
Must go....
Very reasonable prices. Full tasty.
Steak was so delicious and please ask for potato chips.
1 desert 'molotof' is enough for 3.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErkanDerekoylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumadona also viewed

Guimaraes, Braga District
Guimaraes, Braga District
 
Guimaraes, Braga District
Guimaraes, Braga District
 

Been to Mumadona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing