We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-surprised...”
Review of Hotel Fundador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fundador
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Heraklion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Semi-surprised...”
Reviewed March 19, 2008

It was a pleasant surprise to see the hotel renovated, since the last time I visited Guimaraes. The lounge and common areas were much better than last time (although design is questionable). The room was also very spacious and with a nice view of the town. I think it could be cleaner and certainly could smell better. The biggest dissapointment is the breakfast, which is the poorest I have seen in a city hotel. Averall a good value for money (when you get a good price).

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gkaloge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    160
    58
    3
    0
See reviews for
82
93
13
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santo tirso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed there to celebrate the new year and it was a excellent choice. We were given an enourmours room, with a large bed. Everything was clean and the view at the breakfast floor was breathtaking... Too bad there were a bunch of youg men making a lot of noise and the bread was not that god. But the croissants were marvellous.

People were very nice. As a negative note, I must add that the tv was too small and too far away from the bed but, hey, you can´t have it all...

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — tv too small and too far away
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marciapmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2006

When you look at it form the outside, you just think... "Oh my God, this time I got it REALLY wrong..." but then everything is there just to contradict this first impression.
Spacious rooms, wonderful views (at least on the side of the Hotel my room was, from where I could see the whole Guimaraes), large bed, very very honest prices.
ABsolutely recommended.
Unfortunately, never made it on time for breakfast, sorry!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank stefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2005

Stayed here in November 2005. We had originally booked into the Guimares Hotel, but were bumped into the Fundador when the Guimares overbooked. This is a great hotel, at a great price. The rooms are large, and the hotel is well kept. Breakfast is a traditional Continental affair. I would recommend travellers stay here if going to this part of the world

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theboltonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guimaraes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Guimaraes
Ibis Guimaraes
#8 of 19 in Guimaraes
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stay Hotel Guimaraes Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#6 of 19 in Guimaraes
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fundador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fundador

Property: Hotel Fundador
Address: Avenida Dom Afonso Henriques 740, Guimaraes 4810-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fundador 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fundador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fundador Hotel Guimarães

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing