We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place serving a low cost breakfast but wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here in between Xmas and New-year, arrived at night under heavy rain, nobody outside to even assist you, you have to trep the stairs and do your way to reception by yourself.
Staff at reception, very kind and efficient.
Nice rooms on the "new building", lot of charm, a/c very good (as it was a cold night), the let down no slippers or bathrobes (few years ago they use to have wonderful bathrobes), tv plenty of international channels.
Restaurant very good diner, very nice staff.
Bkfst, the second let down, the bkfst choice is the standard offer of any 3* in Portugal.
Finally as all Pousadas are now run by the Pestana Group, i suggest this group to bring some features from their best properties.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyfamilyNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post this review.
Please know that your constructive criticism will be used to good purpose.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 706 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is first class. It is out of town but the views from the bedrooms are great and the old monastery has been converted in a very clever way. We found the food good and the service was of a high standard. We will be happy to return

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook Guimares give the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 435brian_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The restaurent very specely and the food was amazing with a good dinning and desserts.
The appropriation of space, an ancient monastery, takes us on a journey through time and an invitation to reflection: the gardens of the cloister, monks' cells transformed into dormitories, gardens, large rooms, views of the city .. .. Finally, an atmosphere of great peace. An invitation to the rest of the body and soul: the peace that passes the place and the delicious meals served in their restaurant.
Magic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your helpful review, the nice comments on the overall stay at the Pousada. We are happy to know you have found the reception staff excellent, Restaurant service and the common areas and architecture wonderful.

It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154). In fact a wonderfull monument, transformed during the centuries until become a Historical Pousada.
Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel as part of a short break in Northern Portugal. On arrival we were completely overwhelmed by both the exterior and interior of this historic place.The Cloisters, the salons, the corridors - all richly furnished and fitted, have to be seen to be believed. And as for the azulejos - amazing!
The staff at Reception gave us a warm welcome and we were shown to our room which was in the new part of the building, overlooking the city. It was quite sizeable - two tier, with two armchairs, fridge and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.The bathroom had a shower over the bath and the usual toiletries. Towels that we'd hung up were not automatically replaced, which is something I love to find, as we do try to do our best for the environment.
I learned later that my email to Pousadas, requesting a room in the old part had obviously not got through and that it is assumed that guests prefer the newer, larger rooms. I still cannot make up my mind which I preferred, but would say that the city views were fabulous.
We chose the table d'hote menu at dinner because it was reasonably priced and offered a wide selection of dishes. I think we both made bad choices because we found the cabbage soup very bland, also the linguine with shrimps. The pudding buffet consisted of cake - type desserts, all of which were very, very sweet. But this is what we have found in Portugal.
After this experience we took a taxi into the city (less than 5 euros) for dinner.
We enjoyed our breakfasts, especially the pumpkin jam which was divine!
I really enjoyed the pool as temperatures were on the mid twenties. On our last day I went for my swim as usual at about 4 o'clock and found it was being cleaned! Within minutes two maintenance men were summoned to remove the equipment and I was able to enjoy my final swim! That's what I call service.
I thoroughly agree with Suzanna about the fantastic level of service here and would also single out Leandro, for whom nothing was too much trouble. I had difficulty accessing Facebook and he sorted it out for me every day, some days several times and I was SO grateful!
Guimaraes is a wonderful city, great for a short break and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. From what we overheard ,it seems you should set the satnav by long/lat rather than by the name of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLG324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Santa Marinha.
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal. And the Pousada a Monastery donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154), the superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the trees and dated from 1747, the tiles represent a beautiful set of pictures of the life in Portugal in the 18th century: banquets, shepherds, elephant and wild boar hunting, games, concerts, fishing practices, and the classic theatre. Remarkable of their characteristic and movement, these “azulejos” cover the staircase that leads to the Chapter Hall, the Chapter Hall, and the Frei Jerónimo terrace, yes, several reasons to visits us! Thank you so much foor your review!
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I loved our honeymoon stay at the Pousada. We look forward to going back for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The location is beautiful and the hotel staff are so kind and helpful. Leandro was particularly accommodating and very kind. We loved our room very very much. Their restaurant was very good as well. The gardens were beautiful and I am sure they are even better in the spring. I encourage anyone who is planning on staying at this lovely Pousada to explore the grounds and the beautiful town of Guimaraes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old wing. The garden view is nice but I bet the view over the town is even pre...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeSusanna83113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed staying at Pousadas de Portugal.
It is always wonderful to know that we match our guests expectations and we always keep improving our services for that to keep happening.
Thank you also for the nice comments on the ambiance, the staff performance and restaurant service.
We would love to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Situated just outside Guimaraes some 60 km from Oporto this was our introduction the Pousadas of Portugal and was the first (of 4).
This is a lovely hotel converted from a 17th C. monastery with massive stone walls, a cloister, very comfortable rooms and a good buffet style dining room. There is also an excellent swimming pool with bar for lunchtime snacks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).This Pousada has superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the trees.
Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Full of atmosphere and history. The rooms were good the staff helpful and attentive. The restaurant format did seem to be geared a little towards catering for coaches and large bookings but that was a minor consideration. All the Pousada Hotels although very varied offer value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
1.1 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Open Village Sports Hotel & Spa Club
0.9 mi away
Stay Hotel Guimaraes Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Address: Largo Domingos Leite de Castro, Lugar da Costa | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Mosteiro Guimarães is a Small Luxury Hotel located in the city of Guimarães, in an ancient 12th-century Augustinian Monastery with fantastic views of the city. It is a short distance from the historic city of Guimarães, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and 2 km from the shopping area. The Pousada offers free private parking on site. In the summer, you can enjoy the esplanade and the outdoor swimming pool for both adults and children. It also has a playground, bar and a restaurant. The rooms are equipped with modern amenities, each with unique decor and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing