We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this hotel as part of a short break in Northern Portugal. On arrival we were completely overwhelmed by both the exterior and interior of this historic place.The Cloisters, the salons, the corridors - all richly furnished and fitted, have to be seen to be believed. And as for the azulejos - amazing!
The staff at Reception gave us a warm welcome and we were shown to our room which was in the new part of the building, overlooking the city. It was quite sizeable - two tier, with two armchairs, fridge and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.The bathroom had a shower over the bath and the usual toiletries. Towels that we'd hung up were not automatically replaced, which is something I love to find, as we do try to do our best for the environment.
I learned later that my email to Pousadas, requesting a room in the old part had obviously not got through and that it is assumed that guests prefer the newer, larger rooms. I still cannot make up my mind which I preferred, but would say that the city views were fabulous.
We chose the table d'hote menu at dinner because it was reasonably priced and offered a wide selection of dishes. I think we both made bad choices because we found the cabbage soup very bland, also the linguine with shrimps. The pudding buffet consisted of cake - type desserts, all of which were very, very sweet. But this is what we have found in Portugal.
After this experience we took a taxi into the city (less than 5 euros) for dinner.
We enjoyed our breakfasts, especially the pumpkin jam which was divine!
I really enjoyed the pool as temperatures were on the mid twenties. On our last day I went for my swim as usual at about 4 o'clock and found it was being cleaned! Within minutes two maintenance men were summoned to remove the equipment and I was able to enjoy my final swim! That's what I call service.
I thoroughly agree with Suzanna about the fantastic level of service here and would also single out Leandro, for whom nothing was too much trouble. I had difficulty accessing Facebook and he sorted it out for me every day, some days several times and I was SO grateful!
Guimaraes is a wonderful city, great for a short break and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. From what we overheard ,it seems you should set the satnav by long/lat rather than by the name of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLG324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Santa Marinha.
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal. And the Pousada a Monastery donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154), the superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the trees and dated from 1747, the tiles represent a beautiful set of pictures of the life in Portugal in the 18th century: banquets, shepherds, elephant and wild boar hunting, games, concerts, fishing practices, and the classic theatre. Remarkable of their characteristic and movement, these “azulejos” cover the staircase that leads to the Chapter Hall, the Chapter Hall, and the Frei Jerónimo terrace, yes, several reasons to visits us! Thank you so much foor your review!
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff.

Looking forward to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    190
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
132
404
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I loved our honeymoon stay at the Pousada. We look forward to going back for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The location is beautiful and the hotel staff are so kind and helpful. Leandro was particularly accommodating and very kind. We loved our room very very much. Their restaurant was very good as well. The gardens were beautiful and I am sure they are even better in the spring. I encourage anyone who is planning on staying at this lovely Pousada to explore the grounds and the beautiful town of Guimaraes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old wing. The garden view is nice but I bet the view over the town is even pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WifeSusanna83113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed staying at Pousadas de Portugal.
It is always wonderful to know that we match our guests expectations and we always keep improving our services for that to keep happening.
Thank you also for the nice comments on the ambiance, the staff performance and restaurant service.
We would love to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Situated just outside Guimaraes some 60 km from Oporto this was our introduction the Pousadas of Portugal and was the first (of 4).
This is a lovely hotel converted from a 17th C. monastery with massive stone walls, a cloister, very comfortable rooms and a good buffet style dining room. There is also an excellent swimming pool with bar for lunchtime snacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).This Pousada has superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the trees.
Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Full of atmosphere and history. The rooms were good the staff helpful and attentive. The restaurant format did seem to be geared a little towards catering for coaches and large bookings but that was a minor consideration. All the Pousada Hotels although very varied offer value for money .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our first stop on a weeks tour of part of Northern Portugal. The building is amazing - the architecture is stunning . WHilst we were there a wedding was taking place in the chapel next door and we sat in the cloistered courtyard and the sound of the singing coming through was just magical . Parts of the hotel are a bit tired but not that bad - the rooms are comfortable and the walk to the rooms through the 'Salon' amazing again. We were not impressed by the restaurant food - found it all a bit old fashioned - and not that well cooked or presented - they need to work on this area. The town of Guimaraes is well worth a visit - lovely old medieval streets and huge castle.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor for better view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Santa Marinha.
This is the second Pousada to open in Guimarães, the other one is located in the city centre.
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room, the view and the breakfast service.
We hope you were also able to enjoy the Pousada’s gardens.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staying for ten nights at this Pousada was a wonderful experience. Almost all the staff we encountered are excellent and very professional. We found our bedroom (507) comfortable and very clean. I very much agree with the review by Nigel Walshe (3 June 2013); I strongly disagree with the review by Humbellina (12 July 2013). Rooms facing the city have an excellent view (even number from 502 upwards), but the rooms facing the garden (odd numbers from 501 upwards) do seem to be slightly quieter and avoid noise from a nearby sports club. The more expensive rooms are in a separate, modern annex - I found our standard room to be very good and would have been disappointed to miss out on staying in the historic part of the building.

A car is very useful if staying here, but it is possible to manage without. There is a local bus service from near the Pousada to the town centre, although it is possible to walk in 20-25 minutes (and 30-40 minutes to the railway station, which has an hourly train service to Porto taking about 75 minutes).

My only minor criticism are the prices of the meals at the poolside cafe, which seem poor value for money. The restaurant is rather pricey too; there are much cheaper places to eat in the city. Nevertheless, we dined in the restaurant a couple of times and greatly enjoyed our meals there. My wife and I have a Pestana silver card giving a 5% discount in the restaurant and bar; this will be offered to all new guests on arrival.

In short, for British guests, this Pousada will greatly appeal to people with a love of beautiful historic buildings who enjoy visiting National Trust properties, museums, etc. All the staff speak English, although the largest percentage of guests are Portuguese, Spanish and French. The city is, itself, a worthy past winner of the title European City of Culture. My wife and I loved our holiday here and look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Santa Marinha
It is always wonderful to know that we match our guests expectations and we always keep improving our services for that to keep happening.
Thank you very much for your helpful review, the nice comments on the overall stays at the Pousadas. We are happy to know you have found the reception staff excellent and the common areas and architecture wonderful.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying here and would totally recommend it. Peaceful with beautiful views. Excellent service--thoughtful caring and thorough. Amazing architecture on charming hillside setting. Only issue was that wifi in rooms did not work. It only worked near the lobby. I needed to do done work and had to sit in a main hall till after midnight when all the lights went out. They do not provide the wifi--it is a national service provider, but still was a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0-Excelsior-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
0.8 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Guimaraes
124 reviews
15.9 mi away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Property: Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Address: Largo Domingos Leite Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing