We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this extraordinary pousada and were extremely taken by it´s different atmosphere..
It´s located on a hill overlooking the village (great view) with a large garden behind it.
Inside the pousada there were several large rooms with decorations that were almost
spooky. You almost expected some ghosts showing up around the corner. The rooms
(thick walls) were very nice and comfortable. The food and sevice were very good.
Interesting surroundings in the area, with a walk down to the village.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the village if you want a view or towards the garden if you want to see the g...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).This Pousada has superb gardens, a magnificent stone staircase and an artificial lake can also be found among the tree. is in fact an excelent heritage. Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 706 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

One of the grandest hotels I have ever stayed in. The scale and lavishness of the historic public areas was breathtaking - the corridor with the rooms leading off must have been about 50 feet high and 20 feet wide, and 150 feet long. Other public spaces included furnished rooms in 18th century style, grand staircases with beautiful azulejo tiles, gorgeous terraces with fountains and views of Guimarães town, and a full blown cloister - an oasis of tranquility, as well as a full-blown baroque church next to the pousada . The grounds alone were worth the price - woodland walks, ancient stone staircases, old pools and lakes. Immaculately maintained, with great staff, flawless English spoken. The price we paid (about £100 pn for a couple) was one of the best bargains I have ever had. About 25 minutes walk from the historic mediaeval centre of Guimarães. Also - there is a great 2.5km walk from right outside up to the peak at Penha, with great views, and a rocky rustic area with numerous paths, monuments, grottoes in the rocks, and a cathedral!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelWalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154).
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room
Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Been there, my wife and I, for two nights.

The building is an old monastery with amazing indoors. Stay in the top of a hill, very close to the center of Guimaraes.
The food was fantastic. I suggest the daily buffet for dinner, good price, many choices. Excelente breakfast.
Park for free.
Nice pool

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank From_South
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StMarinha, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

what a fantastic building with beautiful gardens and grounds - but what a shame that the rooms are fairly ordinary (especially small bathrooms with limited soaps, shampoo, towells, etc)
Dinner was very ordinary - nothing special, and breakfast was OK but not outstanding.
We stayed for one night - dinner bed & breakfast for a couple and it was €214, whereas the previous night we has stayed in the Palacio de Cardosa in Porto which was a genuine 5 star hotel at €157 per night for a couple. This Pusada needs to up-grade the cuisine for dinner and breakfast before it can start to compete with the proper 5 star hotels like Intercontinental.
What a shame, considering the grounds, gardens, and the general surroundings.
In the morning, we walked all around the old city centre of Guimaraes which was truly beautiful - the Duke's Palace and the colourful tiled-fronted buildings - and all the old squares. Lovely !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had decided to spend an extra night in Portugal after enjoying Porto so much. We chose this hotel for its location and history. The location was stunning,as were the grounds and the public areas. An amazing historic building, the staff at the front desk were polite and well trained. BUT, our room was a disappointment. It only had a double bed, on enquiring whether we could have a larger bed or twins were told this was the only type available in the main building. Twins apparently were in the modern annexe but from looking at the exterior we wouldn't have wanted to have been there. 1970's style with full windows taking all the afternoon sun. Our bathroom was very outdated and poorly equipped with very thin towels and few toiletries. We had dinner in the hotel which was awful except for the desserts. The bread was solid and stale.
I ended up sleeping on the floor as the bed was too small. Not what I wanted at £150 sterling per night, but when a lizard ran out from under the mat I requested another room at 2.30am. I was not charged for using the other bed.
This hotel was the most expensive we stayed in either in Porto (which was the intercontinental) or in Spain when we stayed mostly in Paradors. Apart from the historical interest not worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maura20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room 516. Even numbers overlook Guimaraes, odd numbers look at the gardens. Both good. The character of the restored classic main rooms is great. Lost of places to just sit and admire or with a ice cold super bock beer! Breakfasts and dinner highly recommended but main praise goes to the staff for their friendliness and willingness to help. First class. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms might be slightly quieter. We had a persistent rooster and dog competing from the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthurdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our second and last Pousada adventure for this trip. Hopefully not our last. We were actually supposed to have stayed at a Pousada in Porto but upon arrival discovered that they had made a mistake with our reservation and because they were fully booked could not supply us with a room. Not exactly what we wanted to hear after driving for most of the day. Although we take these situations as a fact of traveling, the staff were not pleased and very apologetic. Our option was to drive to the Pousada in Guimaraes another 45 minutes. To my embarrassment two young ladies immediately hauled our heavy bags out to and into our car and sent us on our way with more apologies and smiles. How do you get angry when people try so hard and are so nice.
Upon arrival in Guimaraes we were greeted with more apologies and made to understand that if we were not happy we could return to Porto for the rest of our 3 day reservation. You know how you that sometimes things were meant to happen, this was one of those. This facility is magnificent. The grounds are a bit of an adventure, paths through woods, flower gardens, spring fed 12th century ponds, rosemary hedges, more intricate gardens, sundeck and beautiful swimming pool, water just a little too coo even for this Canuck. Then you enter this restored 12th century monastery which just starts another adventure which I will leave to you. Last but not least the staff. You know how you can tell when staff are nice to you because they have to, this is not the case here, they want to
Then we went down town. There all the same here. Folks if you are doing the Portugese Pousada thing do not miss this one and especially the town of Guimaraes they deserve our business.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine with me.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
1.1 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Open Village Sports Hotel & Spa Club
0.9 mi away
Stay Hotel Guimaraes Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Address: Largo Domingos Leite de Castro, Lugar da Costa | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Mosteiro Guimarães is a Small Luxury Hotel located in the city of Guimarães, in an ancient 12th-century Augustinian Monastery with fantastic views of the city. It is a short distance from the historic city of Guimarães, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and 2 km from the shopping area. The Pousada offers free private parking on site. In the summer, you can enjoy the esplanade and the outdoor swimming pool for both adults and children. It also has a playground, bar and a restaurant. The rooms are equipped with modern amenities, each with unique decor and Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing