We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Guimaraes
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at this superb re-incarnation of a 12th c monastery at an unbelievably low price for bed and breakfast. We had gone on the pousadas of Portugal website and found that one could buy five nights b. and b. at pousadas for 400 euros: the so-called pousada Golden Passport. The condition was that one had to make the reservations in advance with one's credit card and also prove one's age, 55 or over on arrival at the first pousada selected. A 60 euro supplement may be payable at weekends.
At this price, all the pousadas to which we went in Portugal were extraordinary value. We found the monastic cell rooms in the old area comfortable once one had checked with reception as to how the power supply to the airconditioner could be switched on: the meter is located fairly high above the door. Breakfasts generous almost to an extreme. Evening meals were at much more a normal price, i.e. fairly expensive and service was not impeccable but good enough: food fairly good rather than excellent.
One must be energetic to walk down the the hill to the beautiful, historic centre of Guimaraes and even more energetic to walk back: I'd suggest a taxi since the bus is overpriced and requires a long wait. Don't miss the wonderful old church right next door: it has nothing to do administratively with the pousada and is normally closed. Worth finding out when it is likely to be open. The otherwise excellent reception staff ought really to be better informed about this than they are.
The surrounding park is worth a visit in itself but you can simply admire it from the spectacular terraces in the old part of the building. I'd recommend bringing one's own bottle of port or madeira to sip while you take it in. There are even some of the wonderful blue tiles decorating the walls there which are a feature of other parts of the building. IAN

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are glad you have appreciated the Golden Age Passport and all it has to offer. Besides this Passport, there is also Pousadas Passport 5 Nights.
Thank you very much for your helpful review, the nice comments on the overall stays at the Pousadas. We are happy to know you have found the reception staff excellent and the common areas and architecture wonderful.
We have also taken into consideration your feedback on the Restaurant service.
The church nearby the Pousada is Igreja de Santa Marinha. From the information we have received, the mass times are Saturday at 6pm and Sunday at 11am.
Dated from 1747, the tiles represent a beautiful set of pictures of the life in Portugal in the 18th century: banquets, shepherds, elephant and wild boar hunting, games, concerts, fishing practices, and the classic theatre. Remarkable of their characteristic and movement, these “azulejos” cover the staircase that leads to the Chapter Hall, the Chapter Hall, and the Frei Jerónimo terrace.
Some other interesting monuments in Guimarães include the Castle and the Duke Palace.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    191
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
134
404
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Service was excellent from the moment we arrived. Staff were very warm, receptive, and helpful. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The view we had of the town was unbelievable and made us wish we could have stayed longer. The location is slighlyt outside of town on a hilltop, however, we were able to walk into town and visit the local sites. The breakfast was very good that was included with our stay.
I would highly recommend staying at this pousada if visiting the area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolang78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Santa Marinha.
This is the second Pousada to open in Guimarães, the other one is located in the city centre.
Guimarães is one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal.
Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room, the view and the breakfast service.
We hope you were also able to enjoy the Pousada’s gardens.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Pousada is a beautiful historic construction and the decoration is in accordance with the building with lots of museum pieces. The staff is very helpful, the room was comfortable and clean; we requested to stay in the fifth floor that is the “historic” floor (ancient cells) and we got a room with beautiful city view. Breakfast was very good; we did not had the chance to have dinner at the hotel, but the dining room is beautiful and it seems worth having dinner at the hotel. Although the Pousada is in the upper part of the town, it is a very short drive, around 1 km, to the historic center. It was amazing to be in a town that is considered be the cradle of Portugal with an amazing history center dated from centuries ago and staying in a historic building like Santa Marinha da Costa; it felt like being part of history.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
We were very pleased to know we were able to make you feel part of the Portuguese history. Pousada de Guimarães, Santa Marinha, is a former XII Century Augustin Monastery, which after being rebuilt and restored, received the National Architectural Prize in 1985.
Thank for such nice and helpful comments on the staff performance, breakfast service and the room. We have been working since 1942 to improve services of our hotels.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Hard a heck of a time finding the place. Grounds were beautiful, fountains and flowers abound. Certainly lots of history at this place. Large rooms with modern facilities. Quite, overlooking the surroundings, high on the hilltop. We had a room with two twin beds. My bed squeaked quite loudly with any small movement. The bedding was fresh and crisp but heavy enough to hurt the feet abit. Staff very friendly and helpful upon departure. Very nice breakfast to include Champagne. The only negative is that there was no coffee/tea facilities in the room - there was a minibar though.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldgypse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pousada Santa Marinha.
We believe the Pousada is situated in a very quiet place, but it is still important to be able to find it. The Pousada is already searchable on Google Maps.
Thank you also for your kind remarks on the staff performance.
We’re glad you have enjoyed the beautiful grounds and ambience and the main aspects of the room. We have taken your opinion on the bedding and the coffee/tea facilities in consideration.
Hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stay in the old building in a former monk's cell - small but lots of character.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbowelbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Customer, we're glad you've enjoyed your stay. It is said that the Monastery was donated by D. Mafalda (wife of D. Afonso Henriques - first king of Portugal) to the canons of Saint Augustin order (1154). Hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were able to stay in one of the 2 suites, the yellow one (there is also a blue one)
It is really a large one br apartment, minus the kitchen. decorated with period furniture.
Despite being a huge room, the bed is full size, which seems to be standard in Portugal.
Full or 2 twins in most hotels.
Restaurant is very nice, good service, food was well presented but tends to be rather heavy as is comon in PT.
The hotel is strikingly beautiful, in a centuries old convent, huge party rooms, with wood carved ceilings, stone and hand painted tiles.
great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatatrip!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in this Pousada back in December 2010. We started out in a smoking room with 2 twin beds pushed together which put us on the newer wing. The room was spacious and nice however the smoking part didn't sit well with the wife. Also having experienced 2 twin beds pushed together at another Pousada and knowing someone usually ends up on the floor between the beds as they separate easily, we requested another room. They where happy to accommodate the no smoking and 1 queen bed request. This put us in the older wing, the rooms there are smaller but the walk through the old museum like sitting rooms was really neat. The bed was par for the course in Europe, hard and fairly uncomfortable. The gardens in the back are also really neat.

We did dine at the Pousada one night as well, much like other Pousadas their food is okay to good, nothing spectacular, it's pricey for what you are getting, the wine has an extreme markup like 300%-400% over the same bottle that you could get in a grocery store in town and the service is a little snotty. We had the complementary breakfast both mornings as well, the breakfast is great for buffet type of thing. Nice assortment of meats, cheeses, pastries as well as eggs, yogurt and cereals. Based on other Pousadas we have been to the breakfast is nearly identical to those.

They do have complementary WIFI at this Pousada which was nice since some of the other Pousadas charge for it, however for some reason the WIFI in our second room did not work but a short walk down the hall and we had no problems, the speed was even decent.

Overall this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Pousadas, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
0.8 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Guimaraes
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#5 of 19 in Guimaraes
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Property: Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Address: Largo Domingos Leite Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing