We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food”
Review of Cheers - CLOSED

Cheers
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The service was friendly and helpful and the menu had some interesting options, including some tapas type starters that were a bit out of the ordinary. The quality of the ingredients was high. Not the cheapest but I thought the value very good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    33
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was disappointed to be honest”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was decent enough but the service was abominable. I was basically hungry enough to eat again by the time we had finished. They took so long bringing us the bill that we got up and went into the restaurant (had been sitting outside) and stood inside until they brought us our bill, which was another good five minutes.

The square outside may seem a lovely place to have your dinner but it slopes quite a bit. Make sure you get a table that is not overly rocky or sloped and if your chair is also uneven, you could be a bit stiff from sitting in that position for the evening.

Even with good service, it wouldn't have been especially notable value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Petiscos”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Two special meals here, in the Praca at sunset. We shared three petiscos from their slightly different menu plus vinho verde. Returned to try some other tastes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank webwoylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We saw this restaurant recommended in a travel book and visited on the evening of Friday 3rd August, 2012. It was busy, due to the annual festival but we got a table for two near the door inside. It was a bit chilly outside so it was more comfortable to eat inside. We chose tapas and a bottle of local white wine. The usual bread and olives were brought and then our five chosen dishes arrived. I was looking forward to the pears in Port wine with goats cheese and it lived up to its promise - absolutely delicious. We also had small baked potatoes with balsamic vinegar drizzled over, cod fish cakes, shredded potato with mushrooms and bacon and onion chutney and melted goats cheese on toast. The desert was recommended by the waiter - we still don't really know what it was (other than a traditional Portuguese dish) - also delicious. We will remember this meal for a long time - for all the right reasons. The meal cost around 40 Euros.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little bar, cool location”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Tasty food, nice choices, good selection of wines by the glass, cool atmosphere, definitely worth trying, I will surely go back myself. Good value as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheers also viewed

Guimaraes, Braga District
 
Nespereira, Guimaraes
Guimaraes, Braga District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing