We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guimarães Half Day Private Tour from Porto
17

Book in advance
from
$139.89
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Centro Historico de Guimaraes
from $139.89
More Info
from $64.73
More Info
from $97.65
More Info
from $87.77
More Info
Reviews (3,126)
Filter reviews
3,126 results
Traveler rating
2,266
787
65
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,266
787
65
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town day trip historic center narrow streets beautiful city every corner train station ducal palace cafes and restaurants porto portugal birthplace castle stroll unesco towns tourists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 3,126 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Guimaraes is pretty, with compact historic center, full of interesting houses featuring elaborate balconies. A few fetching squares and many picturesque corners.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank IlyaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

We spent quite a bit of time walking around Centro Historico de Guimaraes. Depending on how easily, slowly, or fast you walk, then you need to consider allocating an hour or three walking around town. You are bound to love it, just as we did. We were there just for a day, having travelled from Porto, where we were staying for a week. Centro Historico is a lovely area and the architecture is amazing, There are narrow, picturesque streets, and there are idyllic public squares, with welcoming cafes and restaurants, as well as other types of shops. There are also other specific places to visit, such as the Palace of the Dukes of Braganza and Guimaraes Castle.

Date of experience: October 2018
25  Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Really nice small walkable area with lots to see and plenty of cheap bars and restaurants. Totally changes character when all the day trippers leave and everywhere is lit up nicely.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank jezzc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We went for the day and visited the castle and the museum. It is interesting to visit, but there is so much else to see in Portugal.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank suehere883
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

It was a great pleasure to visit this well preserved medieval part of Guimaraes and to hear the interesting stories about the old buildings and places from our guide. Just to mention a few of them: Convento da Carmo (a former nunnery), the scenic Praca de Sao Tiago square, the Largo da Oliviera square with a church and a monument dedicated to a miraculous olive tree... The sculpture and the gargoyles on top of the Palace Council, located on the same square, are very interesting.

The Portuguese branch of the El Camino to Santiago de Compostela passes through this historic center, there are symbols of scallop shells carved into the pavement to guide the pilgrims.

Date of experience: April 2018
5  Thank Seeking True Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews