We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat sweats and big smiles all round!”
Review of Tasca do Ze Tuga

Tasca do Ze Tuga
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 10/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Braganca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $33
Description: An eating house that revives the environment lived cafes and taverns that have helped democratize the flavor snack, good steak, a piece of pig meat. A concept " Lisbon " and cuts across all ages, all statutes, all ethnicities and Trás . And we say , with the world's greatest pride , that " we are probably the only tavern in the world known for its Mirandesa meat nails !"
Restaurant details
Description: An eating house that revives the environment lived cafes and taverns that have helped democratize the flavor snack, good steak, a piece of pig meat. A concept " Lisbon " and cuts across all ages, all statutes, all ethnicities and Trás . And we say , with the world's greatest pride , that " we are probably the only tavern in the world known for its Mirandesa meat nails !"
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The biggest reason to seek out this restaurant with a spectacular setting within the walls of Braganca's citadel is that everyone involved appears to be having a good time and has a real enthusiasm for what they do.
Our visit was right at the end of what I understand to be a more restricted summer menu which concentrates on the grill and serves up giant lumps of serious steak. There's a more complicated tasting menu produced by a Portuguese Masterchef finalist on offer in colder months, and it's certainly something I'd be interested in trying.
The food concentrates on simple regional flavours and high quality ingredients, I hadn't tackled such a slab of cow in some time but it was a brilliant cut treated with casual care, a great accompaniment to a bottle of good value local red.
Across the table the generous pork fillet defeated my companion, but what remained was swiftly wrapped in foil and prepared for takeaway and proved to be a delicious lunchtime treat the following day.
Another plus was the chance to buy some flavoured artisan beers from the region - olive, chestnut, that sort of thing.
Haven't even mentioned the complimentary ham and bread nibbles which started us off (if I'd known about the size of the steak I'd have held back) and a complimentary glass of white port as an aperitif. Good value all round, but made more memorable by the joy in the room.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2019

We ate at Zé Tuga because it was within walking distance of the castle and the historic centre of Bragança. We were initially not expecting much as often in these areas the restaurants serve your typical tourist fare. We were pleasantly surprised as there was nothing touristy about the amazing gourmet food we were served. It is no surprise that chef not only won Masterchef Portugal but also has a Michelin star. Everything from the appetizer to dessert was absolutely well thought out, executed and served. Our waiter, a British PhD student was very friendly and spent considerable time explaining each dish. Chef Luis Portugal came over personally to serve us the main course and a complimentary dessert of olive tart ( yes it was sweet and absolutely yummy). Although Bragança is out of the way I would make a special trip just to go back yo Zé Tuga.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizzypaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis P, Gerente at Tasca do Ze Tuga, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019
Google Translation

Agradeço por partilhar a sua experiência. Feedbacks sinceros são sempre bem-vindos. Espero vê-los novamente quando voltarem a Bragança. Bem-haja.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Being a resident of Braganca at one point and now a regularly visitor (lots of family in Braganca) my wife and I visited the castle for a walk around the grounds and decided to end it off with a coffee and something to nibble. We were shocked to find the price charged was almost double anywhere else. For instance, you need just to stroll less than a hundred yards away to find more realistic local prices. There is nothing special about this place or it's food to warrant such exorbitant prices. Tourist Beware !!! See attached receipts : Receipt on the left is what you should be paying for a pastry/cake and a can of drink like a Coke €1.20 etc. The receipt on the right is what Taska de Ze Tuga charges €2.00, Overpriced? You betchya. Now roll that markup across the menu and your paying through your teeth !!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GaryD1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis P, Gerente at Tasca do Ze Tuga, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019
Google Translation

Gratos pela vossa visita ao nosso restaurante para beberem um refrigerante e comerem um bolo típico . Foram a um restaurante de comida de Autor para se refrescarem , num ambiente único a olhar para um dos monumentos mais bonitos de Portugal . Comeram uma nata,como nunca, beberam um refresco de marca . Tiveram um copo top, guardanapo , talheres , quarto de Banho . Pagaram o preço de um café na vossa terra. Sem nada disto, podiam ter perdido o amor a mais 100 € e bebiam como nunca, comiam de chorar, riam, cantavam, eram felizes um dia! Agora por favor temos que saber onde estamos e não comparar o que não tem comparação. Sejam felizes .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Superurb service with great well thought out food. Interesting flavours of local rustic food very well presented. Amazing value for money. The staff are great fun and their recommendations can certainly be trusted. The ' on the house' tasters had us well filled with great flavours before we even started the main course. Home-made olive bread straight out of the oven was a 'bonus'. If it is warm enough, eat outside for a great view of the sunset as a backdrop to the citadel tower.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TandJ51N2W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis P, Gerente at Tasca do Ze Tuga, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019
Google Translation

Obrigado pelos seus comentários. Esperamos nova visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

During a motorcycling tour of Portugal with a group of 21 friends we booked in advance this restaurant for lunch. The restaurant setting is great but the standard of service and the food was not at all up to what we expected. The fish dish was mostly potato and meat was tough. The one vegetarian in our party waited over an hour for a dish of lettuce and mushrooms, which was not what he ordered. Over all the meal was poor and expensive. We will not be returning.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis P, Gerente at Tasca do Ze Tuga, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019
Google Translation

Obrigado por compartilhar seus comentários. É muito importante para nós saber como foi sua experiência. Somente dessa forma podemos aprimorar os nossos serviços e outros detalhes para tornar as experiências futuras ainda melhores.
Já discutimos esses aspetos específicos, tanto os responsáveis pelo atendimento quanto pela cozinha, dado que não é uma situação comum.
Esperamos que nos outra chance quando voltar á cidade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca do Ze Tuga also viewed

Braganca, Braganca District
 
Varge, Braganca
Braganca, Braganca District
 
Braganca, Braganca District
Braganca, Braganca District
 

Been to Tasca do Ze Tuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing