We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
55
9
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
9
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We went to the area because we were interested in the walks and the house was recommended as a launching spot for a variety of nearby walks.
Our room was spacious clean and well equipped with all things needed. The use of the stone walls as decorative as well as functional was aesthetically a highlight. The bathroom with its stunning skylight above enormous bath was fabulous. Our room had a lovely balcony where we could sit with a glass of wine and admire the rose bushes rambling up the stone wall opposite.
The rest of the house has been beautifully renovated and furnished. The sitting room- tho we didn't use it- looked inviting and I am sure the place to be on a winter's night. We were lucky with such warm September weather that we could sit outside under the stars for dinner.
Robert was an attentive though not obtrusive host. He gave good information on local walks.
And of course the meals were great- good use of local produce and over the four nights we stayed there was a different local flavour each night.
A great place to visit!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosem558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

A wonderful place in the village Monthesino. A well built and lovely decorated house with a friendly host. Excellent food and very relaxing atmosphere. We went here to hike and it was a couple of amazing days. Recommended.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frasse_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016

We only went for dinner here but loved it. The old village house has been beautifully restored and the local food was both delicious and extremely generous! The host is very friendly and welcoming with some great stories. An absolute must if you are in that corner of Portugal.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank iana106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

This was our second time in this amazing place. Cosy, comfortable and Roberts sympathy are more done enough reasons to return. The dinner was amazing and it is included in the room price. Some times you chose the place to stay, and others the place just chose you, that's why we will come back again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

Montesinho is a wonderful little village in the Natural Park, and this guesthouse was a real gem. It was a renovated old building, with generous sized rooms, comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. The accommodation included breakfast (OK) and evening meal (excellent). Our host, Robert, was friendly, helpful and proud of his establishment. We went on 2 daywalks through beautiful hills and varying scenery. We had a problem when the tracks went through some bushy territory because we did not have a compass. We got lost on each of our walks for a short period of time, but kept on in the general direction and luckily rejoined the route. The walk notes were detailed, but a compass is desirable. We booked through Portugal Walks travel company, but we had not received information about what to bring.
Apart from this, our stay was delightful, the weather great and the location absolutely amazing.

Room tip: We were the only guests during our 3 day stay. I think all of the rooms have views of some sort. The village is very quiet at night.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews