We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Braganca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I visited this Pousada in April 2012 on my way south to the Algarve
Having stayed in previous Pousada's I have to say this one did disappoint

The hotel itself was very dated and quite dull ( although the prices were bang up todate )

The staff were pleasant and nice but could not make up for what was a poor Pousada

As for the food ...well its the first time I've had prawns served with brussel sprouts ...for all I know it may be a local delicacy but it simply did not work ....and the undercooked local sausage defied our best efforts to eat it .

So unless you are desperate to visit the old town sector of Braganca I would suggest you give it a miss .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear customer,
We appreciate the time taken to write this review and we are disappointed to know we weren’t able to meet your expectations.
Your feedback on the restaurant is appreciated and the respective department has been informed on this matter, because our purpose is to exceed our client’s expectations and this review will be used to improve our services. Our menu has no dish with prawns and Brussels sprouts and did not really the perfect combination or regional level, our sincere apologies if we have served this dish. We have excellent products in the region and we will certainly achieve the perfect combination to satisfy all our customers.
Thank you very much for writing this review and we hope you have enjoyed the city of Bragança and also hope that you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards,
Paulo Jorge Silva
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

This isn't a cheap place to stay, but the quality was excellent. Great view from our balcony towards over the town and the castle. The staff were friendly and efficent and the room comfortable.

Only negative for us was the food: everything we ate was VERY SALTY.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Bragança and for taking the time to post this review. Thank you so much for your nice and helpful comments on the overall Pousada, friendliness and efficiency of staff.
Your feedback on the salt in food is appreciated and certainly has a contribution to the improvement of our services, our sincere apologies for this moment less pleasant.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future to provide unique and memorable moments.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed there one night on our way down to the Algarve. Although the room was adequate our experience over dinner ruined the stay.
It was clear that the restaurant was understaffed, there was only one waitress to both take orders and to serve. We are used to meals in Portugal taking a little time to arrive but the wait for our meals far exceeded that and when they arrived they were not only cold but the quality of the food was so poor we couldn't eat it.
I would suggest that if you are planning to stay in Braganca, you find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here in Winter with freezing temperatures. It's just outside the city centre, but within walking distance. The pousada itself is fairly small, circa 30 rooms. Apparently all of them have a small balcony which is nice. Comfortable living room to read a book. It must be really nice in Summer to enjoy the pool! We had a Superior room which was fairly large and had a comfortable bed, though the bathroom was more 3 than 4 star. Breakfast was fairly good with some regional produce (cheese, jam etc) available and with a great view to the surrounding mountains. In all I thought this is a very good, comfortable option to stay in Bragança but it's a bit expensive for what's on offer - no free internet for instance.

Room Tip: Every room has a nice balcony with a view over the city. Superior rooms have more space.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ip202659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very good Pousada,just what you would expect from this chain of hotels.The reception areas and room were very spacious it was lovely to sit inside the big inglenook fire for an after dinner drink!The staff were friendly and efficient and the only reason it gets a very good rating instead of excellent is that it does not have the WOW factor that the Pousada in Belmonte has.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

.....when you get there!! We had great difficulty in finding this place. The signage was not good but on the third time round the town centre we saw the sign which we had twice missed. The whole episode was not helped by the fact that several roads were closed for resurfacing.
Anyway, once we arrived it was fine! Having stayed the previous two nights in Pousadas in Historic Buildings, the modern building here looked a bit of a disappointment. However, we need not have been concerned. Reception was efficient and friendly and the young lady on duty produced a map and pointed out very clearly the easy walking route into the old town - and what a pleasant old town it is!
The room at the pousada was large enough and comfortable, and we had our own balcony looking across the grounds and the swimming pool to the castle. We wandered into town for a drink and had dinner back at the Pousada, which was absolutely fine.
Next day, after the usual excellent Pousada breakfast, we had another look round the old town and the castle and arrived back at the Pousada just before the closure of breakfast to grab another quick coffee, before continuing to Guimaraes.
I have no hesitation in saying that this was a really good place to stay.
martyngs

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The drive was long and tedious after several detours along the main highway on our way to Braganca. It was a worthwhile drive to this corner of Portugal. THe pousada was not well marked so we followed a nice family we met at the gas station to our accommodation for the next two evenings. It is a modern building but what is breathtaking is the view from the pousada as a whole and our window.... the walled medieval castle and old town ! with the rolling green hills that go for miles. Before I take you to the walled town, lets first explore the pousada. The staff were exceptionally helpful and chatty. Grab a cold glass of homemade and delicious lemonade ( no packaged contents, the real deal !) and have a chat about the history and Braganca . The rooms were appointed with clean linens and blankets, modern flair with comfort and cleanliness. Great views of the pool area and the castle !!!! The real show is at night when the castle is lit up with the walled city as the main subject. Meals were plentiful in the dining area with very helpful and friendly staff. Food was tasty and regional . A large common area was also available for guests to relax and soak in the view.
Exploring the town by foot is convenient and safe. THe walk up to the walled town was interesting and took a few foot bridges to get to. Once there, the views over to the pousada standing alone on a hilltop amongst the homes and hills is something to see! Braganca is not usually on the tourist trek but we went because of the history and the wild remoteness of the place. It was definitely worth coming to visit. We also found a cute little place for dinner in the town ( do walk around the center as its lovely ) Solar Bragancano... very old mansion in town with lots of plants , an inside garden ! and very accommodating owners.Good regional flavor filled food too ! Also, take a detour ( we had too, with the construction ! to Chaves... nice attractive historic center and bridge.OVerall, a nice place to visit and explore the area. ONce the highway is completed , it will be a much faster journey.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view overlooking the walled old city.Elevator access for elderlyor disabled gue...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braganca
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Braganca
Hotel Ibis Braganca
#2 of 8 in Braganca
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Turismo Sao Lazaro
0.3 mi away
Residencial Cafe-Restaurante Tic-Tac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Vilavella
Hotel Spa Vilavella
#1 of 1 in A Mezquita
85 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parador de Puebla de Sanabria
Parador de Puebla de Sanabria
#1 of 5 in Puebla de Sanabria
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Classis
Classis
#6 of 8 in Braganca
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu

Address: Estrada do Turismo, Braganca 5300-271, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braganca District > Braganca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Braganca
Price Range: $121 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Nogueira Mountain Range on top of a hill, the Pousada offers panoramic views of Bragança and the medieval castle. Pousada de Bragança provides spacious rooms each with a balcony, seating area and satellite TV. All rooms are air conditioned and have modern bathrooms. The quality restaurant features views of the area and serves regional cuisine for breakfast and dinner. You can visit Bragança, which is accessible by foot. It is also possible to go hiking and fishing in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada de Braganca Sao Bartolomeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing