We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring location next to Bom Jesus do Monte”
Review of Hotel Do Templo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Do Templo
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Inspiring location next to Bom Jesus do Monte”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Braga. We decided to stay next to Bom Jesus do Monte instead of the center of Braga and were glad we did. Even though the rooms are a bit old-fashioned, they are very clean. But the best thing is the incredible view of the Bom Jesus church next door - not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
79
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alvor, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this hotel with netviagens a portuguese website on special offer set on hill overlooking braga a great place to relax.In the deal the first night if you eat in their restaurant which is seporate from the hotel you get a free bottle of wine with your meal which incidently was very good and the service second to none.The view from the restaurant was also excellent.The staff where so attentive.The grounds surrounding the hotel where a joy to walk round.Also they are dog friendl.The room was old fashioned but very peaceful and very comfortable with french windows overlooking the grounds.I would strongly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had prebooked this hotel with only information from web site - This hotel is situated on a hill over looking Braga – in most gracious grounds – truly breathing taking. Arrived early evening registered and shown to our room, which was quite large nice decorated at front of hotel over looking the grounds and views of Braga. Supper was at hotel across courtyard, which was excellent with wine from Douro region. Very enjoyable stay would have liked to have stayed longer but time did not permit. We expected breakfast to be continental ie: coffee and croissants, chef asked my husband if we would like him to cook us a full English breakfast – which was very nice. The cost for a twin bed room was 84.50 euros.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel do Templo is very near the great cathedral at Bom Jesus do Monte, Braga. When I said "very near", I really meant it. It is just in the garden of it......

Especially at night it is a little bit frightening to be in there, you can really feel all those spirits around.....

Since the location of the hotel is at the top of the hill and there are lots of alternative narrow ways to go up, you should better to update your GPS. Infact it is better to do it before your journey to Portugal and don't forget to get the coordinates of the address you are looking for, because most of the street names are the same in Portugal. So the best way to find an address is the coordinates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipekbulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a WE in the hotel, had booked many months in advance requesting a double size room because I was going with my wife... long story short got a twin bed room and didn't get my room serviced after the first day.

Location couldn't be better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank German B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

You could not get a much better hotel location if you are visiting the Santuário Bom Jesús do Monte. The rate we got was 60 euros with breakfast included, and you could throw a stone from our room and hit the temple. Staying at the hotel lets you walk all around the grounds and then stroll back over to the hotel when you are done. The internet is free, but only available in the lounge area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a free to use safe and a mini fridge. The bathroom is a pretty big size, with a full tub and shower. There is also a jacuzzi and pool on site, though we didn't get around to using them. In short, you would not regret staying here and taking a day or two to enjoy the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benmccloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We highly recommend this hotel, immediately adjacent to the church of Bom Jesus. By 6.00 p.m. the foot tourists have gone, and you have the lovely site to yourselves. Our room (smallish) had a balcony overlooking the church (loud chiming bell silent at night!). Limited choice for dining on site: the restaurant of the adjacent hotel (Elevador), a little pricey but worthwhile for the views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warm_welcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braga hotels
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#7 of 25 in Braga
133 reviews
Hotel do Lago
#15 of 25 in Braga
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Garden Braga
#4 of 25 in Braga
105 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 25 in Braga
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Do Templo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Do Templo

Property: Hotel Do Templo
Address: Rua do Bom Jesus | Tenoes, Braga 4715-422, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga > Nogueiró
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Do Templo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Do Templo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing