We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
214
278
44
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
278
44
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious rooms street noise restaurant staff northern portugal good size city centre spent one night bread the main square lovely hotel balcony suite parking euros design
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 553 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

We stayed here for a week in a twin room which was very comfortable. Apparently the pool on the roof is nice but we did not get there. The free wifi was appreciated but not always reliable and sometimes just so slow it was not worth it. The breakfast was just awful - after a couple of days we didn't bother going! The location is okay, but we would have preferred to be a little closer to the historic centre. Colleagues also in Braga reported better experiences at cheaper boutique hotels in downtown Braga (such as Hotel Sophia). We would not stay here again. But we got the things that really mattered - such as a comfortable bed, and a dark quiet room at night. I would say don't stay here - there are better choices.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank labradoodle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is clean, modern with gleaming chrome and porcelain bathroom. Large shower head etc. A little corporate. Staff are friendly. Rooftop pool is small but it's a nice space. The pool is heated to 24 degrees and at night they put candles out in lanterns all around the pool creating a nice setting. Drinks are very reasonable. Coffee €1 wine was €2.50 a glass. Car park is €7 a night but annoyingly if you go out you would have to pay again. The works breakfast is €10 but the local cafes are a lot cheaper. I got the express breakfast for ease. It was €3.50 for a cheese and ham toastie, fresh orange and a coffee. The coffee is awful.
5 minute walk in a straight line to all the old town and tourist square etc. Good hotel, great value for money and god awful coffee at breakfast

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alsue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARGARIDA G, Manager Assistant at Mercure Braga Centro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you very much. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Good place to be, Centrally Located, near shops.
Hotel Staff are very helpful and friendly!
Wifi signal was not very stable in my original room. I was upgraded and moved to centrally located room with good Wifi signal.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 888dtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We enjoyed our one night stay in this hotel. It has a great location just 5 minutes stroll from the Old Town. Our room was well appointed, great AC and we slept like logs. Every part of the hotel was spotlessly clean. We had booked breakfast online at €8 each (€10 if you pay in the hotel) and we felt that it was good value, offering all the usuals. The room rate was also very competitively priced. Wechad a tasty light lunch on the 8th floor which offers great views.
I would have given this hotel a score of 5 but I have two 'issues'.
- A check-in we asked about getting to the Monasterio Bom Jesus which is the no.1 thing to see in Braga. We asked the receptionist where we could get the bus from. She smiled sweetly, shrugged her shoulders and told us she didn't know. Surely we are not the first to ask this question. We discovered later that the hop on/hop off bus stops DIRECTLY outside this hotel and that the very next stop is the monastery!!! They sell the tickets for this bus in the hotel! She either didn't have the professional interest, or else the basic intelligence, to inform us of this. VERY poor customer service.
-I was also very disappointed with the bar prices. The previous night in our hotel in Porto I ordered a Bailys and ice and was charged €3. Imagine my surprise at having to pay €7 for the exact same drink in the Mercure bar! This bar is only an extension of the breakfast room and is totally devoid of atmosphere. Steer clear of it as it is a real rip-off. Shame on you Mercure Hotel!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank MMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Good service , good personal , very kind people , good fitness room very good room and very good internet speed and access.
Weak points : the parking ( why do you need to pay and extra of 7 Euros per night ?where was it this announced on the hotel site when the booking was done?)
The breakfast was not that impressive : I would suggest more variety for the food.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank daan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews