We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly Grand”
Review of Hotel do Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Parque
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quietly Grand”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had no expectations of this hotel we'd be riding round in the pouring rain and thought this looks ok. It was late afternoon and the price they gave us for the room was very reasonable. The room was a good size but what we really liked was the conservatory type seating area off the hallway - great for reading, and gently drinking red wine. We used the spa the next day in the sister hotel (I forget the name), the pool area is lovely but sadly a a bit cold and I had to buy a swimming cap - it was not my best holiday look. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. I can't really understand some of the more negative reviews, we both liked it, it is not trendy but it is relaxed and old fashioned without being drab.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmyonTourStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
59
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The room's window is not in proper order. It was a windy rainy night, and we were feeling the weather inside. Also, there was insuficient light isolation, making it day inside at 6am. My children had a terrible night, and so did my wife and I. At the reception, reporting these issues influenced nothing. Basically, it was "give us our money, and off you go!". In summary, it's your choice, but wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitroCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2007

This hotel is in a wonderful situation on Bom Jesus. Great views and wonderful sunsets. Ideal for walking.

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — Hard mattress
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scamp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We stayed 1 night at the Hotel do Parque. The hotel is one of 3 of the same chain on the mountain with the church Bom Jesus, with a splendid view of Braga.
The location is beautiful, woody and quite interesting. Hotel do Parque is a bit old-fashioned, but the room was fine, clean and recently painted. However, the pillows were a shame.Completely worn out. When I asked for new ones, they were even worse!Also the beds very hard, but that seemed to be typical Portuguese.Good buffet breakfast, price 95 euros, which I found a bit much compared with other stays.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2005

We stayed here for one night the summer of 2004, and were very suprised about the truly excellent position of the hotel, situated 50 meters from the church on top of the Bom Jesus. We asked for a room with a view before we arrived, without knowing about the wonderful view we could have - and got - with the room we were given. It faced the church, and had a small balcony. It was a very special experience, provided you get one of the rooms facing the Bom Jesus. If we hadn't gotten the room we did, I would have given the hotel a 3+ rating, because the room in itself was OK, not very new, but adequate for that one night.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sylviad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braga hotels
Hotel do Lago
#15 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Garden Braga
#7 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Parque

Property: Hotel do Parque
Address: Rua do Bom Jesus, Braga 4715-422, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga > Nogueiró
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Parque 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored historic traditional hotel - In the suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel do Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing