We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant stay in "Helenas" little castel !!!”
Review of Braga POP Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braga POP Hostel
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Braga
Reviewed February 24, 2014

While we traveled arround in Portugals northern parts we stopped also in Braga.
Ok, the Braga Pop hostel was the only option to stay for a small ammound in Braga exceppt the official Youth hostel in Braga.
Helenas hostel was easy to find, just 25 meters from the Ibis hotel and maybe 20-25 minutes from the trainstation by feed.
To reach the hostel you have to walk a good number of steps upstairs, attansion , no elevator,
Helena gave us a warm welcome and two beds in a dormatorryroom right beside the entrancedoor.
We came without a reservation but Helena was very uncomplicated and bashed us full with informations about the city.
She made a short walk with us in the hostel to show us everything.
A weekside of the hostel is, it is only a flet and not a hole house like the Rossio hostel in Aveiro or the downtownhostel in Porto and so there is not so much space inside the hostel.
You feel it in the bathroom for example, it is good equipt and clean for sure but also a little bit tricky with such limit in space.
The rooms were simple but also clean and equipt with dormbeds from Ikea but unforthunly the ceaper ones made from more simple wood.
In the downtownhostel in Porto for exemple Barbara and Vera, the girls who run this hostel bought the more expensive ones made from Iron and you feel the different esspecely when you rich to the upper beds.
The kitchen has everything you need and everything is on place.
A commenroom is also there with television, table, DVD player and so on, the only thing I missed was the movie MAMA MIA because it is my favorite but you can't have everything.
There is also a big balcony on the backside, away from the mainstreet an not noisy at all.
It's good for relaxing after a hard tourist day and when there is no hurry anymore when all is sayed and done with a bottle of portwine there.
There was not much traffic in the house while we have been there I guess most of the tourists in the city are daytrips from Porto.
The breakfast was included in the price, nothing special but good and the highlight was a selfmade yogurt, I liked it very much.
But the real "highlight" of the hostel is Helena, the girl who is running the POP Hostel of Braga.
She was so friendly all the time and gave us a huge number of informations about and around the city, tips ror restaurants and pubs.
I also talked a lot with her about Portugal, football and everything.
By the way football, we talked a lot about football, she is fan of the FC Porto because she is from Porto, also about Pinto da Costa the black eminenz of the club.
If the Mayor of Porto is saying anything - nobody cares, but if Pinto da Costa is saying anything everybody is listening.

Thank you so much Helena for a pleasant stay with you, it was more like a private stay, like couchsurfing as a hostelstay.

Good luck for you and the Braga POP hostel, keep on rocking girl !!!

Obrigada !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetiziaSivaRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

In January me and my friend were lost in Braga and found this cosy little hostel to stay the night. Climbing too many stairs to get there, but when arriving it was totally woth it. We were warmly welcomed by the great people that run this hostel.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. I especially loved the small notes and comments you can find everywhere throughout the hostel, they put a smile on my face everytime I saw them.
Also, the hostel has a good location for the beautiful centre of Braga, only 5 minutes by foot!

This hostel made our stay in Braga one of the best experiences we had in Portugal! Make sure to drop by and leave a creative painting or inspiring text in the kitchen :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Never been in a hostel before and found it very welcoming. The showers were clean and well kept. And the rooms were pretty clean as well. Breakfast was basic but had the essential things. Friendly and helpfull staff as others have already said. if you're looking for a nice hostel to stay in Braga I doubt you'll find better that Braga Pop.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent few days in Braga POP hostel last december (2013) while looking for an apartment to rent, then returned there in January (2014) while waiting for the keys. I would choose to stay there again and again if I would need in the future.
It has a great atmosphere, an ultra-friendly staff and perfectly kept rooms and bathrooms.
Helena and the other staff members will make you feel home for sure, and provide invaluable insider tips on many aspects of Braga.
Its location is very convenient as it is just next to the bus station and to the city center. The train station is also easy to reach walking.
Braga is a charming place, and POP hostel contributed a lot to the great image I have from the city and from portuguese people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hostel is quite good place to sleep in Braga. The workers are very helfull and friendly. The atmosphere is great. They have a nice breakfast, and beatiful view of the city. Braga Pop Hostel is a good option!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieleEckstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent one night in the POP hostel in Braga in December 2013. The colourful design of the whole appartment, the painting wall in the cosy dining room and, last but not least, the neat dormitories are all things which instantly jump to your eye. The hostel owner Helena is a hospituous and inspiring person - plus, she knows the city quite well :-)
Breakfast is basic, concerning bread and toppings, but there are also fruits and selfmade French Press coffee at your disposal.
The hostel is in a central position, too.
All in all, absolutely no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

really friendly stuff, everything is clean and functioning. well located, near the bus station and two minutes walking from the city centre..(if you are travelling around you'll find a shop with camping articles nearby!). The balcony is awesome if you want to enjoy braga's sunsets...and breakfasts with helena's homemade marmelades it's something to try:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 556laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braga hotels
São José de São Lázaro
Hotel Residencial Sao Nicolau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
São José de São Lázaro
Ibis Budget Braga Centro
São José de São Lázaro
Dom Vilas
Dom Vilas
#8 of 20 in Braga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braga POP Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braga POP Hostel

Address: Rua do Carmo 61 30, Braga 4700-309, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Braga
Price Range: $20 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braga POP Hostel is the first hostel of Braga and is located right in the heart of the city, in a 5 min walk from the train station and bus central. B POP Hostel is right at the biggest urban walking area of Europe, where the historical downtown, comercial areas and leisure areas, with bars and restaurant, are. We are just by the City Market.Braga POP Hostel has 6 rooms (single, double bed and dorms), fully equiped kitchen, leisure room with games and music, eating room and a balcony to relax at the sunset. All rooms have key card access and security lockers.In the hostel you can use free Wi-Fi internet and there is a computer for guest to access internet. At our front desk you´ll have guides, maps and all the tips to enjoy your travel.Cash payment only, on arrivalCheck In: 14:00 to 20:00Check Out: 12:00am ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing