We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, unpleasant hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bragatruthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bragatruthotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Braga
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Central location, unpleasant hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This centrally located hotel in Braga is overprised for what it offers. The worst part is the noise in the street, primarily caused by some idiots screaming all through the night. Closing the windows does not help much, unfortunately. Second, the rooms we had was furnished with old crappy furniture and had a foul stench. Service is rather poor (there was no second set of towels in our double room, and even after we asked several times, they were not provided). The breakfast is a joke, coffee undrinkable. All this for €60 with parking in the nearby public garage! We should have been much better off in the nearby IBIS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maphysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location, within walking distance of all major attractions. Run by friendly, useful staff. Good value. Simple but pleasant breakfast in a friendly atmosphere. Although centrally located, it is on a quiet, mainly pedestrian street. Don't miss Bom Jesus do Monte just outside the city.

On the downside, the hotel is slightly run down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Braga Truth Hotel was an excellent choice. The location is awesome in the old city center near many attractions within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and adequate size. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dburkultra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved staying at the Bragatruthhotel. The staff was excellent at directing us to the best ways to see the city, offering advice on how to get to everything. Getting to the hotel from the train station was easy once we realized it is a straight walk up one of the main pedestrianized streets, which we unfortunately did not figure out on the way there, which is uphill! Oh well. The room had a great balcony which provided amazing views of this part of Braga. I got some great shots of the city at night. The only thing that was disappointing was breakfast, very poor offerings in terms of fresh fruit, which I had come to expect at breakfasts in Portugal. The breakfast consisted of sliced ham, cheese and rolls. I had to ask for yogurt, no cereal offered. And coffee seemed in short supply as well. Admittedly, the reason to choose this hotel is for the great people there and the excellent rooms. The room we had, 311, was pretty, light and bright. Excellent value for the money, just buy some fruit from the vendor next door. Can't say enough about the great location! Oh, this might not be a great hotel if you are a light sleeper. It was lovely for me to hear the church bells from all over the city, but others might not like that. I loved it!

Room Tip: I think anything on the third floor would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WriterDianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORADEA,ROMANIA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Fantastic hotel, located in the heart of Braga.But the real name is now Bragatruth hotel.They have decent prices for rooms with private bathroom, free wi-fi.I stayed just two nights in a large room, very clean and comfortable.The bathroom was fine, a big terrace in front of my window with chairs and table was an excellent place to take a coffee.There are facilities for coffee and tea in every room.
Staff was polite, no complains.It is possible to take a bike for tours around the city.No breakfast, but I had the chance to make the tour of "pastelarias" every morning.
The front door is little, difficult to see the name of accomodation, if you are for the first time in Braga.Don't worry, it is a lift for your luggage.

Room Tip: Don't forget the real name: Bragatruth hotel.Residencial Sao Marcos is the old name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My brother and sister in law came to visit me in Braga and stayed in this hotel. The location is perfect, in the middle of the older center of the city, with bars and shops all around. The bus-stop and taxi-stand is also only 5 minutes walking. The owners were very friendly, the couple spoke well English and were very helpful at all times. The rooms and everything was good for a really nice price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Braga.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellebasi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

Perfect location for a relaxed staying at Braga. The hotel is in the city centre, next to Arcada, the Tourism office and the main square. You take about 10-15 minutes from the bus/train stations to arrive at the hotel. From there, you can easily walk to all Braga's hot spots in a matter of minutes. Also, you do not have to walk very much if you want to take the bus and visit the Monastery at Bom Jesus and Sameiro. The rooms have simple furniture but are very clean. The staff is very polite and helpful. I booked a twin room for 1 night, it cost me 35 euros (great breakfast included!). If you do not like crouds, please avoid Braga during Easter season. If you driving to Braga, please note that parking in city centre may be difficult.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuigiMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braga hotels
Hotel do Lago
#16 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Braga
#4 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Hotel Dona Sofia
#6 of 27 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Ibis Budget Braga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bragatruthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bragatruthotel

Property: Bragatruthotel
Address: Rua de Sao Marcos 80 | Sao Joao do Souto, Braga 4700-328, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bragatruthotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bragatruthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing