We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION FOR THE PRICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Bearing in mind the price we were paying I was not too optimistic about what we would get. It was a pleasant surprise to find such a modern, well appointed. Everything was working, the bathroom decor was very contemporary and tasteful. The in room wi-fi worked perfectly. Every member of staff with whom we spoke was most friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay again at that hotel and whilst it is slightly away from the historic centre of Braga we found it an easy 30 minute walk there. A room on the car park side, away from the main road, is probably a good option as mine on that side was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Mr. Andree F,

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.
We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards,

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager - Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the third Melia chain hotel I have stayed in and now if I am in a city (e.g. Braga, Cordoba, Girona, etc) and don't have a hotel already booked, I use the GPS to see if they have a Melia hotel. Clean, clean, clean, small rooms but very modern and everything, including the mattress, very new, firm and clean while available at a very affordable rate (under $100). The hotel staff is gracious and helpful. Parking is always available, at Melia Braga the parking was free. They all appear to be brand new and in historic, smaller city locations with easy access to major roads. As an example of their service, we needed ice for our drinks up in the room; the bartender was eager to help us by providing a bucket full of ice! I am definitely a Melia fan!

We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anya672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest questionnaire and to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.

We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager - Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is huge and modern. The lobby is gorgeous, chrome and lime green and white floors, with lots of comfy seating arrangements that make you want to linger. The hotel staff were very welcoming and professional, there was a lovely business center where we could use internet and check mail in a private quiet room off the lobby. Beautiful pool, refrigerator, room is ultra-modern, chrome, big windows, view of very old buildings. I couldn't believe we were able to stay in such a nice hotel for the small price! The parking was easy , right outside the lobby. Braga is a lovely, old city. This establishment was a treat. Quiet rooms, extremely comfy beds. The bathroom was well set up with a rain shower ! WOW !

Room Tip: Our room was excellent. I would think they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Mrs. Judi M.,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us concerning your recent stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa.

Your comments are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.

We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager - Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is definitely a good place to be. The design is great and the staff is really charming. We were welcomed in french, what was amazing. The lobby is huge and clear. The outside parking is large enough but we prefered to use the inside one, to have the car fresh.

The rooms are big enough with a complete bathroom connected, with bathtub and separate shower. The electronic control pad was cool and the free WIFI was there as a present. The bed is very confortable and when you close the window, you cannot hear any noise from outside.

The restaurant was excellent, with a big breakfast buffet. Bars were great, either if the service was not so quick... Portugal way of doing.

We tested the SPA and it was just so cool. We had a cupidon special threat and we spend 2 hours on a relaxing massage room for a very affordable price (150€ / 2PAX).

To continue with pricing, the room price was very low (anticipated reservation online). We paid only 67 euros per night and room.

The only negative point was that the room cleaning was inequal and the refull of the minibar as well, but these are only small things. A place for improvement for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeromeLehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Mr. Jerome Lehmann,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments they are very important to us, as they help us to review and improve our services.

We highly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to your next stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa or any other hotel of Meliá Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

Ana Rita Ferreira
Guest Experience Manager - Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Milea Braga for two nights on a business trip. I found the quality of the hotel to be extremely high, and the staff to be not only friendly and courteous, but professional. I ate at the hotel restaurant and the food I had was fantastic and affordable. Others have commented on the touch screen controls, which I like a lot. My TV was stuck "on" with the welcome screen and the front desk sent someone up to fix it in literally 2 mins. after I called, to replace the remote control after midnight. The bed was comfortable, but I agree the chairs in the rooms are not. The bathroom is as modern as modern means yesterday, and though the trough faucet took some getting used to, it did not splash on me, and I actually enjoyed the uniqueness of it.
Whenever I had an incoming call, the front desk politely presented it to me, which I found to be very professional.
Lastly, the hotel is chic and stylish as many haved pointed out; but I have never been to a hotel of this quality for such a reasonable price. I just hope they keep up their standards, becuase as it is I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side get quite warm in the afternoon. The A/C could not keep up with the June Por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference by Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa.

We are very happy to know that your stay has exceeded your expectations. It is a pleasure to be recognized for our work.

Thank you very much for your words. I will make sure to share them with the entire team of Meliã Braga.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

João Gomes
Guest Experience Manager
Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is without question, a quality hotel with excellent facilities. Staff were friendly,and the service was excellent. A minor downside was that the hotel is located a couple of miles away from the historic centre of Braga, but we found that the hotel restaurant was as good as any other in Braga, negating the need to travel into the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 19, 2012

Dear Mat,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa.

We highly appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at the Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa or any other hotel of Meliã Hotels International.

We remain at your disposal for any further queries.
Best regards

João Gomes
Guest Experience Manager
Meliã Braga Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is ultra modern and a fun place to stay. I loved the large room with touch screen switches, large bathroom and great view: the windows even opened for natural ventilation (rare in high-rise buildings). I did find the desk and chair uncomfortable for business work, but didn't have any problems with the wifi. Lunch here was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braga
Villa Garden Braga
#5 of 25 in Braga
134 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 25 in Braga
485 reviews
Ibis Braga
#4 of 25 in Braga
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
346 reviews
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#6 of 25 in Braga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Braga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Braga Hotel & Spa

Address: Av. General Carrilho da Silva Pinto, Nr. 8, Braga 4715-380, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Price Range: $89 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Braga Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new design Hotel, for leisure or work, near the Minho University, Nanotechnology Center, Bom Jesus, Sameiro, this is the perfect Hotel & Spa to stay in North of Portugal. Sá Carneiro International Airport it´s only 50kms and the nearest beach is 30kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Braga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing