We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was like a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta do Convento da Franqueira
Ranked #2 of 12 Barcelos B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“This was like a dream!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This convent has a great inner court yard. The historical building offers great rooms. We had a large dinning room, rest room, bedroom and bathroom, well decorated, with fresh roses from the garden. The hosts were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the whole country. We had a wonderful time. The breakfast was great. It was quiet with nice walks to do around the convent. We stayed a week. I was a great way to visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enerqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The most wonderful aspect of this place are the wonderful, welcoming hosts. The property is beautiful and very special. The breakfast is abundant and tasty. The rooms are spacious and comfy. But, to repeat, the hosts make the place really, really nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norsesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We spent two night during Easter week in the Quinta. It is a wonderful place, we had the blue room which has a wonderful view of the courtyard and is very spacious and comfy. The whole place is very English and has a majestic and colonial feel to it. The breakfast room is very cozy and the courtyard a great place to sit and relax, enjoying a glass of their own wine. The gardens are very pretty and great to walk about, very photogenic too and the attached monastery next door (which is not part of it actually) is very atmospheric, especially during the night.

The breakfast is also good, it is very quiet at night so you get a good night's sleep and the owners are very pleasant and take care of their guests. The location is also very convenient, just 10 minutes drive from Barcelos, which is worth a visit, and about 20 minutes from Braga. Didn't get to try the pool, it was not ready yet for the new season but once open I think it will be a great place to relax, you get excellent views of the Quinta and gardens in front of it.

Overall, is is a great stay and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panos.v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is a lovely guest house with 4 bedrooms and 2 self catering flats. The furnishings are superb and are very tasteful and the converted convent is just beautiful.
The owners Piers and Kate were charming and very welcoming and gave helpful advice on the area and places to eat.
We had a superb set of rooms with a small sitting room, a good size beautiful bedroom and a large bathroom. All overlooking the central courtyard with a fountain. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which was a nice touch. It was all very comfortable.
Breakfast was in the large drawing room/dining room and consisted of breads,croissants, jams, honey, cereals, yoghurts, small pastries and tea/coffee. A perfectly good start to the day.
The swimming pool is good, but cold, and is set a short walk away. It was lovely sitting there looking back at the Convento.
It is blissfully quiet here (although whilst we were there the next village had a fiesta and you could hear the music and singing. Not a problem).
It is easy to reach the beaches and it is worth going to Vianna do Castelo and the church of Santa Luzia which is on the hill above it. Fantastic views.
We loved everything about this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Beautiful and lush setting, gorgeous house and grounds, welcoming hosts and fine vinho verde produced on site. Did I mention the spring-fed swimming pool? We stayed two nights here with our children and wish we could have stayed another month. Will definitely be coming back.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank breukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

The first thing you'll see when you get to the Quinta is the Church. The next thing are the gates, and then the winery. Once you get to the house itself, the outside of the convent-come-B&B doesn't look like much, but the inside is very nice.

We were given the 'blue room' with a lovely four-poster bed, toile draperies, cherubs decorating the walls and lamps, and a huge bathroom. The room overlooks the courtyard of the cloisters through several large windows. The breakfast area/lounge was right next door. Breakfast consisted of breads, preserves, cheese, juice, fruit and coffee or tea; cereals and yogurt may have been available also. (Ask Piers to see the interior of the attached church. It is still used on occasion.)

Our host Piers took us on a short tour of the grounds; although it was too late in the season to make use of the pool, it looked like a very nice area to relax. There is a resident boxer who is big but just as sweet and friendly as can be.

Directions on the website to the Quinta assume you're coming from Porto. We were coming from the east, but once we got into Franqueira we were able to follow the signs to the Quinta without problem.

  • Liked — Beautifully repurposed Convent, great atmosphere
  • Disliked — Signposts to the Quinta were a little hard to follow
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MGCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

We stayed 12 nights here at Quinta do Convento da Franquiera. Map from the owners, Piers and Kate was accurate. Unfortunately we left it behind in UK. Fortunately I have a photographic memory and found the quinta without any trouble! After arriving we were made very welcome. We rented the flatlet which was great, spacious, very very clean and comfortable, very well equipped - just what we expected and more. Thanks also to the maid, Lucia, a lovely lady who looked after us. Although we booked self catering in the flatlet, it included a lovely breakfast with home grown fruit which was served upstairs in a beautiful room overlooking the courtyard and the hillside beyond. This gave us the opportunity to meet other guests from around the world.

We arrived during August, the weather was extremely hot and we were worried that perhaps we should have booked accommodation with air conditioning, but we needn't have worried. The walls of the quinta are so thick that the heat doesn't get in. Although the outside daytime temperatures were 35 degrees plus, the flatlet was cool.

The Quinta is set in beautiful surroundings of vinyards with a beautiful swimming pool, so peaceful - a nice place to relax without being too far from a few restaurants and Barcelos town. It was lovely to sit around the courtyard after a meal with a glass or two of Quinta da Franquiera wine (grown and brewed on the premises) and listen to the owls hooting through the evening.

We feel a car is necessary if you want to travel around, although Barcelos Railway Station is approximately 7 kilometres from the house. The Quinta is ideally situated, not too far from the coast. Piers and Kate recommended some beautiful beaches to us and even let us borrow their wind breaks and sun umbrellas. The towns of Braga, Ponte de Lima, the City of Porto and the national park are not too far away by car.

Piers and Kate are perfect hosts who often made time to stop and chat with guests to give advice on places to visit etc.

Thought we had some lovely photos to add to this, but unfortunately our camera had deleloped a problem and many of our photos were blurred, but please see the quinta's website for photos.

Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

  • Liked — Peace and Quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank VJM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelos
7.5 mi away
Axis Ofir Beach Resort Hotel
9.5 mi away
Quinta de Malta
Quinta de Malta
#2 of 6 in Barcelos
76 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Suave Mar
Hotel Suave Mar
#1 of 8 in Esposende
270 reviews
13.5 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Bagoeira Hotel
Bagoeira Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barcelos
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Convento da Franqueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Convento da Franqueira

Property: Quinta do Convento da Franqueira
Address: Barcelos 4755-399, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Barcelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Convento da Franqueira 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quinta do Convento da Franqueira, an enchanting guest house offering bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation.This 16th century Franciscan monastery surrounded by 35 acres of beautiful private grounds has been carefully restored with charm and imagination by the Gallie family,owners since 1965,creating a comfortable environment in which guests feel completely at home.The lush greenery of Franqueira´s gardens, fields and woodland, and the spring-fed swimming pool, hidden behind a graceful 17th century "fonte" provide the visitor with a perfect setting in which to unwind.Located near the market town of Barcelos in Portugal, the Quinta do Convento da Franqueira combines high standards of comfort with historical interest in the lovely setting of the Minho. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Quinta do Convento da Franqueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing