We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad weather” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Baleira Porto Santo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Unfortunatly we had terrible weather which does affect our perception of the Island.
We have returned this week after spending a week at this hotel. The actual hotel is very nice but the all inclusive deal that first choice offers is very limited. All the evening entertainment was in Itallian therefore we were unable to join in. The evenings were very hard as there is only one inside bar and there is nowhere else to go.The food is not really up to scratch of other 4 star hotels we have stayed in before. Beware of the mosquitoes.
The Island is quiet and unspoilt and one week is more than enough.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor over looking the front of the hotel. Very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexpeople_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

Of course that with bad weather you coludn´t appreciate as suposed.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests. And that´s why we have changed the all inclusive package, offering now more variety and places where to eat and drink in the resort.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    821
    176
    45
    19
See reviews for
622
732
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Travelled as a family with two children, we found all the staff friendly both to us and the children, and the service we received was excellent. The Island is unspoilt and it is very relaxing. We travelled with First Choice on an All Inclusive Basis and found it to be good Value. The room was cleaned daily, only down side the air conditioning was not that good so we slept with the doors open, which was not an issue as we were on 6th floor. The Hotel is about an hours walk from the town (with two children), Bus service was on time and 1.35euros per person each way. Go on a jeep safari while you are there - very good. Lovely Café at Calhetta half an hour walk from Hotel, turn right out of main gates. Dive Centre based at the Hotel very good with very friendly staff. Hotel pool is very cold - if travelling with children well worth taking pool/surf suits. Beach is lovely, hire umbrellas from the hotel as there is no shade and you will need it if the sun is out. On site children's club and Animation Team activities for Adults and Children if you want to join in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouBD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, espacially about our welcoming staff, cleanliness, entertainment and the diving center.

Your comments are very important and motivate us to continue pursuing service improvement to exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

i returned home 0n the 17 june and i was to sad to write a thing about the hotel.but being back in the real world now a week later its my first time writing a review so here goes we arrived at the airport at porto santa
and the thomson flight was full 250 or so went to see the greeters to find out what coach we was on everyone was on big coaches apart from 7 of us got a litlle minibus with are bags and tthe rest went to the pestana down the road from us my first thoughts were have i picked the wrong hotel how wrong i was. nothin but the saftey of the moneys and passports comes at a cost in every hotel i have stayed in not at the hotel vila baleria it was free of charge which made me happy right away the
room was nice, the breakfast was really nice .the island is very green and the hotel makes its own water and produces most of the electric which i was informed from marco the general manager nice of him to take time to explain what was going on in the hotel the animation team were a bit on the crazy side which was good i have spoken to all the staff and if not busy could spare you a few minutes with a nice smile and a beer or two. the really sweet lady is the hotel P R greets all the guest on arrival and when they leave which is nice even at two in the morning and then she up first thing going speaking to guests to see if everything is ok the pool bar was nice and the afternoon tea was the best i have seen in any hotel and the young mini chef which i called her decorated the table with some stunning flower arrangements which sets off the table
i thought the place was well run and i would go back there again lots of guest have mentioned the food and beds and the grounds so no need to write about that there are quite a few italians there i bit noisy at times but dont forget there on holiday to. no germans though
i did enjoy having a go on the quite fast free wifi in the reception area which was quite large plenty of seats and even reached the bar which was super stuff. i could not understand why taxi cost more at weekend nevermind i could have walked i cant wait to go back next year all being well i would recommend this hotel to anyone i have cooked for nearly 40 years and chef even let me have a peek in in the kichen it was as clean as the hotel.well all you guys at the vila baleria thanks for my stay with you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira. You really have chosen the best hotel :).

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, the room and breakfast. The lady you mention is our dear Margarida.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Took a one week break here. Fairly early season, and not too busy, either at the hotel or non the beach. A couple of minutes walk to the beach through a tunnel under the road, past the swimming pool (unheated, salt water).
All inclusive cuisine was moderately varied, lots of fresh produce. Try the local rye bread, it's excellent!
The hotel was spotlessly clean, all the staff were very helpful, and managers did the rounds regularly, asking for impressions, any problems, etc.
As others have pointed out, beds are on the hard side, but suited 90kg me and 60kg wife just fine.
Overall, a nice stay, and we've never had more attentive or helpful staff.
The tip from the pool guy is worth passing on though: don't place too much reliance on the weather app on your mobile device, the weather can be quite variable - although consistently 20 - 24 C on our stay.

Room Tip: Top two floors are good if you like sitting on the balcony watching the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rccraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira :)

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff and cleanliness.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently came back from a week's holiday at Vila Baleira and the hotel and complex exceeded our expectations.The hotel is spacious and comfortable.The staff are very friendly and the food absolutely delicious.Local Portugese cuisine.If your looking for burger and chips,this is not the place for you.If you're looking for fresh tasty clean local cuisine then this is the place to come.Most of the guests were Italian and we found this a welcome change.They were friendly,loved our children and made us laugh.Entertainment staff are superb.Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were friendly,approachable and professional.Don't miss the 80's disco nights.We had such a good time at these with people of all ages strutting their stuff.It was brilliant.Wished that was on every night.Our room was huge,spotlessly clean and comfortable with a large sea view balcony.Management staff could not do enough for you.We would definitely return and hope to see some familiar faces.This is one of the most pleasant hotels we have stayed inIsland is lovely and unspoilt.Beaches go on forever and are absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your "Excellent" Review! :)

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, cleanliness, food quality, entertainment and our wonderful beach.

Your comments motivates us to continue our work, every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a brilliant hotel, probably one of the cleanest we have been in for a long time. The staff are really friendly and helpful and also very child friendly. The food was excellent, well prepared, large variety to choose from and freshly cooked. The entertainment team were enthusiastic but didn't pester you to take part in anything! The greater part of the guests in the hotel are Italian and when we were there they were a friendly group and certainly didn't overwhelm the British contingent. The hotel provides a selection of pastas and sauces over and above the good range of food provided. Noticed a number of the British kids tucking into the pasta with enthusiasm! Bedrooms are large with easy chairs and table, beds moderately hard but not unbearable.

Room Tip: Ask reception for a hotel on the opposite side to the solar panels and plant room. Not noisy but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, cleanliness, food quality and entertainment.

Your comments armotivates us to continue working every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I could not fault it. Spotlessly clean, good food, very friendly helpful
staff great entertainment. Located right on the beautiful beach and within walking distance of the town. The island trip is
well worth booking. This is a very small unspoilt island and not much to do other than relax but that is just what I look for in a holiday and was not dissapointed. Fully intend to visit again.

Room Tip: Better views from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warrior8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality, cleanliness and entertainment.

Your comments motivates us to continue working every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Baleira Porto Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baleira Porto Santo

Property: Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Address: Sitio do Cabeco da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9400-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baleira Porto Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 4 km's from the center, the Hotel Vila Baleira Thalassa was originally built with the intention of attracting to the island who wanted to take advantage of the medicinal qualities of its sands and is the best equipped hotel in Porto Santo. The complex consists of 3 distinct areas: In the main building are the rooms, reception, main bar, restaurant, shops, conference rooms, kids club, games room, amphitheater and indoor swimming pool. Connected to the hotel by a tunnel is Baleira Talassa & Spa, a fully independent structure where all thalassotherapy and spa treatments as well as gym and Diving Centre Rheadive work. Also accessible through the tunnel is an outdoor leisure area with outdoor pool, children pool, outdoor children's room, children's playground, shooting, <>, volleyball and beach soccer, the Beach Club and the walkway beach access. The social areas of the hotel and the rooms are spacious and decorated with light colors and local materials. Open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Vila Baleira Porto Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabaleira Thalassa Porto Santo
Hotel Vilabaleira Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing