We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel offered everything we needed.”
Review of Torre Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torre Praia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We took advantage of the offer of the ferry from Funchal and a one night stay and are glad we chose the Torre Praia because it meant we could easily walk to local restaurants. We had a room overlooking the beach so had fantastic views. The hotel is simply and pleasantly furnished. Good sized rooms and bathroom. Everything was nice and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They let us stay in the room until 5 pm the next day at no extra cost which was brilliant
as we were on the ferry back to Funchal in the evening. The hotel had a book swap. Free Wifi and free use of two computers. If you are looking for something simple, clean and well located, this is the place to go. Oh, nearly forgot to mention. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OptimisticLarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Torre Praia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis - having taken advantage of a Porto Santo Line promotion incorporating travel on the ferry from Funchal. The hotel is situated a short walk from the centre of town which can be reached from the quayside by public bus (about ten minutes) or by walking (about thirty minutes). Taxis are also readily available.
The hotel is unique in that it is built around a reconstructed lime kiln tower and this dominates the interior of the hotel. However, there is nothing special about any of the hotel amenities – with everything being somewhat basic. However, everywhere on the complex was very clean, tidy and functional. There is an outdoor pool, children’s play area and free access to the gym at certain times of the day. What this hotel does offer however is location – situated as it is on the excellent beach (which in early February was deserted). If you want a beach holiday, this could well be the place for you.
As for food: The buffet dinner and breakfast in the Salinas restaurant was nothing to write home about but lunch in the Pizza N’Areia was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKPinkPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are looking for a beach holiday then this is the perfect hotel as it is literally ‘right on the beach’. Having walked most of the beach there may be other hotels with direct access but none appear to be quite so close.

Walking from reception you pass through the breakfast area to an outside seating area with the pool to the left. In front of this is an elevated terrace looking down onto the beach. Beneath the terrace is a bar and restaurant belonging to the hotel. Access to the beach is at this point – for guests only.

Beside the pool, running back alongside the building, is a lush lawn with well manicured palm trees. There are a couple of swings, a small slide and a playhouse for the kids as well as a wooden gazebo with table and chairs. This is bordered by a white, seven-foot wall screening guests from the car park that keeps getting mentioned on this forum.

A previous poster called this hotel terrible and gave it one star simply because they did not like the room they were offered. This is completely out of order on many levels, especially as they did not actually stay here and therefore have no first hand knowledge of any other aspect of the hotel. Besides, if it was a special occasion, they should have ASKED for a special room!
Anybody who reads the forum and bothers to do some research prior to booking will be aware of the possible rooms they may get so you need to either live with it or change it. However, here is the low-down for the side facing the car park:
First floor: Rooms have direct access from their veranda to the garden and pool, nice view of garden, palm trees and childrens area backed by a high white wall.
Second floor: Nice view of garden and childrens area with top of thick palm trees with mountains above. Cannot see too much of car park through the trees.
Third floor: Superior rooms, view of tops of palm trees with mountains above, cannot see much of car park through the trees.
Top tip: Do as I did and contact the hotel prior to arrival asking for a specific room. I pre-upgraded to suite 306; top floor, on the left, fronting the beach. This had a huge balcony at the side and front with amazing views. The bedroom was almost twice the size of a standard room and had a huge bed (one bed, not two or three pushed together). There was also a lounge of equal size with a sofa, 2 armchairs, large flat screen TV, dining table with 4 chairs, coffee table, sideboard, etc. Believe me, it was practically an apartment!

Staff attitude: Every member of staff without exception was extremely warm and welcoming. If we ever asked for anything it was always delivered with a smile and an offer of more assistance. At no time did we see anyone who wasn’t happy in their work. Further to this, when I requested the upgrade I mentioned that it was our anniversary; within two minutes of arriving in the room we were presented with a large fruit bowl and bottle of champagne on ice (no extra charge). Sometimes I think that people who complain about staff, especially when they are of a different nationality, reap what they sow. That is; if you give out a negative attitude you cannot expect to get a positive attitude in return.

Breakfast: Breakfast had absolutely loads of choice, more than I could manage. Everything was fresh, tasty and where appropriate, hot. For those that eat healthy there is an abundance of fruit and yoghurts, there’s bacon, beans, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, cereals, pastries and more (too much to list).

In conclusion: If you are looking for a quality hotel directly on the beach, this is it. Good facilities, spotlessly clean, smiley welcoming staff, good food and only a 4-minute walk into town.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before arrival and ask for a specific room. Best room location is suite 306.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Purrfecttune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean and staff very friendly and right next to the beach.
The manager on the reception was very professional and helped in everything we need.
On my next trip to Porto Santo I will stay on this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunnybeach590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

When doing research for a hotel on Porto Santo, we got the impression that the hotels all occupied a similar spectrum of quality. They all had some rave reviews and some disappointed reviews, suggesting wherever we chose to stay, we were running the risk of being unhappy. So, we chose Torre Praia because it was the one with the lowest number of bad reviews. I'm going to have to add to that number.

The staff on reception were unwelcoming and unfriendly. We read about the chain mesh fence looking onto a concrete car park and hoped we wouldn't get that room. We did. On being taken to our room and seeing the "view", the prison-cell like decorations and the fact that we had two single beds pushed together, we asked if there were any other rooms - maybe one with a double bed. "No double beds" we were told. Even though there's an image on Trip Advisor showing a lovely room with a double bed. As we only had 3 days on Porto Santo at the end of our 10 day trip hiking in Madeira, we wanted romantic and relaxing. This place was neither. We walked down the beach for 30 minutes until we found the Hotel Porto Santo, reserved a room there, returned to Torre Prahia and checked out 2 hours after checking in. The staff seemed to find this pretty amusing and weren't in the least bothered that our experience was so bad we didn't want to stay another minute. We've traveled extensively and are a young couple, not fussy and overly demanding. This hotel underwhelmed me like no other in my experience and the terrible attitude of the staff did nothing to persuade me that they deserve anything more than 1 star. As a slight disclaimer, we were looking for something romantic and not too lively - which sums up Hotel Porto Santo well - but if you're looking for a bed to crash after a night's partying, maybe this place might be adequate.

Room Tip: Get the room without the chain mesh fence and concrete "view"
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have visited Madeira on a number of occasions but on this recent visit we decided to book a Porto Santo Line package including the ferry and two nights at the Torre Praia hotel. Ferry trip was great and got on the bus to Villa Baleria and then a short walk to the hotel. Room was good with side view of the sea from the balcony and air con and a fridge. We had opted for the half board and had two very nice meals in the La Salinas restaurant which overlooks the beach. The hotel is right on the beautiful sandy beach and also has a lovely pool area that never seemed to be crowded.
Breakfast was also very good and is served in the Las Salinas restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyLou105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel sat right on the beach.Should you want some time away from the madding crowd then i would suggest Porto Santo.We came over on the ferry from Funchal and stayed here for 2 nights.We walked the full length of the 6 mile beach and only met 12 other people. There are also bars at either end of the beach with a few dotted about along the way.There is a small restaurant a short walk up from the phone shop in vila baleira it does not have a name but is like a bodega bar inside with artwork on the walls,the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel also has its breakfast room on the beach which has excellent views and it is worth booking a sea view room if you can put up with the noise of the waves crashing onthe beach as you are so close to the sea!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PNEONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,000 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Praia Hotel

Address: Rua Goulart Medeiros, Porto Santo Island 9400-164, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: $83 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Praia Hotel is a comfortable four star hotel situated in the Vila Baleira city centre right on the marvellous golden sand beach.The ample leisure areas include the “Salinas” restaurant with “a la carte” menu, the pizzeria “Pizza N’Areia”, both overlooking the beach, and the “Sports Bar” with its giant screen. The swimming pool, directly facing the sea, has an excellent terrace with direct access to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torre Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Praia Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Torre Praia Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing