We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the one and only beach hotel”
Review of Torre Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre Praia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the one and only beach hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed the second time at this hotel on porto santo. It's the one and only direct at the beach. we had 3 nights there only with breakfast. the coffee from the machine is really so bad like yet described. Because of the ferry revision there were only very few gueste in the hotel. But service and breakfast buffet were really okay. Normally U can book special ferry packages which are cheaper than only renting some room. With a 20-minute walk on the beach U can reach the nice restaurant mar e sol, which is hidden in the dunes and offers U fresh fish specialities U shouldn't miss. On the end of the beach there is the restaurant 0 calethas, which was closed in January. We can recommend it from our last stay. last time they offered a hotel trasfer. hotel guests have free entry to the gym at fixed times. the hotel site direct on the beach is unbeatable. 10 minutes from thre U can reach the main village where U can find some nice pastellarias for drinking real good coffee and the the super market pingiu doce. Don't miss to buy one of the aloe vera creams. It's some original from Madeira and helps for example at sunburn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the second floor. the suites have a nice seaview, but everybody from the pool-terrasse can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    111
    46
    15
    4
See reviews for
46
147
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here in August 2011 and this was my second stay. My previous stay had been about 11 years earlier and it had been a fantastic experience. Unfortunately this second trip was very disappointing as the service was not good this time and some of the amenities I had enjoyed the first time no longer were available. One evening at about 10pm I wanted to get a drink, but the bar was already closed and all the vending machines were "out of action". When I booked the hotel there was no mention of a wedding booking on the Saturday evening. This meant that the restaurant, bar and pool area were all "out of bounds" from mid afternoon until the next morning. The guests were rowdy and the staff did NOTHING to ask them to quieten down - even at 3am, so I got NO sleep that night.
Such a shame as the location is perfect, but my next trip ot Porto Santo will NOT involve a stay at the Torre Praia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We found the hotel to be great, clean, cosy, with the just a few steps** down and you are on the beautiful fine sand beach!. The bar is right there,too! Location could not be any better.. We stayed there 3 times in different years and always on the 3rd floor because rooms have a large terrace/balcony and a terrific view, not facing the ocean directly,though. Pool area and sunbathing terrace are excellent. Great property to take kids with you! The breakfast features great, healthy food, except for the coffee that is awful. And there was no internet connections, unless we used the 2 hotel computers, available to us for free.
There are rooms with full ocean view,too. Great service, truout. We have not used the restaurant.
**if you do not like steps, you may go around them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horacio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed in the Torre Praia for one night this November.

Hotel has a great location - right on the beach, 5 mins. walk to the centre of Vila Baleira.

Public hotel areas cosy, modern and bright. Swimming pool area really funky located, restaurant with a view.

All facilities working, staff helpful, but not very enthusiastic.

Breakfast uneventful, no healthy / diabetic friendly options.

Rooms small for a 4-star resort, but clean and modern. Even if you don't get the sea view, you can litterally walk right out onto the beach.

Only real problem with this resort is that the beds are rock solid hard and, at best, unable to sleep in. A true bone crushing experience.

Asked reception whether they could put in an extra matress (or just something), but they were unable to help.

This place is all about location. However, for anyone wishing to be able to sleep in just a tiny bit of comfort, I suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms, except for the suites, are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomitronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeira, portugal
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

It is a nice beach hotel. It has an excelent location near the beach. The rooms are a little bit updated. the breakfast was average. It isn't a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Necas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I spent in Torre Praia two weeks with my marvelous girlfriend in all inclusive option in late September. Big doubt before choosing Porto Santo - weather in September - no worries. During this weeks were 3 days with very small rain and it was rather delightful during sunbathing than frustrating. What is more it lasted like 5 minutes and has gone.
Hotel is quite cosy, rooms in good condition however need refreshment really soon because I felt like in 70 (Starsky and Hutch look and feel). Big problem - room service. Room was usually cleaned 5pm when room was empty and "clean my room please" tagged from 11am. Luckily it was possible to take fresh towels from maid troley.
Swimming pool cleaned every day and clean. Enough of beds and umbrellas. Beaches sandy with beautiful colour and clean. I have never live so close to water/ocean. You pass hotel swimming pool and you are on the beach. When plannning a lot ocean activity please consider buying special shoes because water can be rocky.
Big drawback is service in restaurant. Quality of food: breakfest (everyday the same, jam, egg scarambling, ham, chees): 2, dinner: 5 supper: 5.
Were difficult to get waiters attention so waiting for wine or coffee took ages. It was confusing they that seemed to ignore us and not looking in our direction (we took couple of places in different sections of restaurant). When ignoring guests they were setting tables and it is mistery for me that it was always problem with fully set table (missing cutlery, glasses, napkins).


For hotel 4*
for all inclusive and service 3*
special thanks to Fatima (lady from bar) and David (great waiter and wonderful listener)

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria da Feira, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We´de just love our stay, the hotel was really good. The room we got the suite was fabulous and cousy.
Just to say that the Housekeeping was in their best all the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Praia Hotel

Property: Torre Praia Hotel
Address: Rua Goulart Medeiros, Porto Santo Island 9400-164, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torre Praia Hotel is a comfortable four star hotel situated in the Vila Baleira city centre right on the marvellous golden sand beach.The ample leisure areas include the “Salinas” restaurant with “a la carte” menu, the pizzeria “Pizza N’Areia”, both overlooking the beach, and the “Sports Bar” with its giant screen. The swimming pool, directly facing the sea, has an excellent terrace with direct access to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torre Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Praia Hotel Porto Santo
Hotel Torre Praia Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing