We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly special, but on Porto Santo it's a MUST to stay on the 9000 meters long super beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This personally run Quinta for sure is a particular hideaway.
Once you approach the Quinta, your first impression is "wow that's so cute"!!
The stone houses and well kept gardens are really very beautiful. The restaurant terrace is cozy, and one just feels at home there.
The owner cares a lot about his guests, all the staff is very friendly and helpful.
We were staying in Suite 211, officially priced at 170€ which, however, is much overcharged for what it offers. It is almost the pricevof a 5* luxury Cliff Bay in Funchal...
The rooms are quite dark (small windows), the beds are not very comfortable and the furniture is ok but nothing special. The bathroom is nice, with big, oval shaped bathtub. However, the toilet is positioned so extremely close to the bathtub that you can not even sit there, haha what did such an architect think when he created these plans?
The walls are very thin, and unfortunately you hear all noises from outside and inside. The pool area is very pretty, but much too small. There are 40+ beds in this hotel, but a tiny pool and just 10 deck chairs. Service at the restaurant is very kind, but not very efficient. It takes a long time until you get your food, and there was not one single meal where they did not forget something. A nice hotel school training would help the staff to learn basic things of gastronomy. Many of them don't know that a fork has to find its place to the left hand side, and a knife to the right hand side. And as in so many places in Portugal, they aaaalways put you the glass on top left instead of top right. And they just put you the bottle next to your glass, then you must help yourself... Quality of food is very good, I liked it a lot.
Porto Santo's most fantastic spot is its 9 kilometers long, golden sandy beach which is just wonderful! Quinta do Serrado is at the other end of the island, and far away from the ocean. In front of the rooms of the property there is a dried out hill. No views, no wonderful beach and no azure turquoise ocean. The location of the Quinta is charming, but Porto Santo has a dream beach and in my opinion it is a pity to stay in a hotel away from the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hello "Tavelmaniaccc"

Thank you for visiting Quinta do Serrado Hotel and for taking the time to post your opinion.
It´s through guest feedback, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement and also the opportunity to explain our facilities.
Therefore your participation has been extremely important to us.
We took note of your opinion to improve in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had to agree with the previous reviewer, Geogteacher01, that the hotel is in a tucked away part of the island but ticks all the boxes, the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food was of a good standard at all times and for peace and quiet this hotel is for you. Because the weather was poor for the end of May, beginning of June, we hired a small car for the week which worked out at 31 Euros per day. But what we found was that a lot of restaurants and bars are still not open as the season runs from July to September/October, something the tour operator should state on their website.
We did a couple of the walks which are not for the feint hearted so pack a pair of walking boots. Met some very nice people which we shared a very nice meal at the Golf Club, shuttle bus there and back at no extra charge, very good service.
If we were re-booking to go back to Porto Santo, we'd stay in the same hotel, hire the car but go in September.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear " Vinny64"

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Quinta do Serrado Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love islands and we love small, friendly hotels. This hotel was all we asked for. The setting is very quiet, just tucked away into the hillside. Someone had a vision here and it works. Ok it isn't the most up-market place in the world, but if you want that then go somewhere else. What this is, is a friendly, honest, family run hotel with people just trying their best. Its a bit like staying at a friends house - you can find things you wouldn't do but you love them because they are your friends!
Someone said the rooms were dark. Well I agree but the place is made of timber and is very traditional. Also if the weather did happen to get hot with blinding sunshine then the darkness would seem very restful. What is more important is that it is spotlessly clean and comfortable. If you want light, then sit on the private balconies or turn the light on!
Breakfast is always a bit repetitive I find but evening meals were interesting and well cooked. The wine (red) was especially good.
The staff cannot be praised enough. They are so very kind. They don't just do their job, they care.
My only criticism is the shuttle bus. 10 'til 6 is a long time to spent down on the beach area/town.
The week we went was chilly, with wind from the north. I didn't get the tan I'd wanted but I did get the opportunity to talk to everyone staying at the hotel. What an interesting bunch. It is such a small place that you can do that.
My one suggestion if you stay here is to go on the jeep safari around the island. My goodness - what good value. They take you to places you wouldn't otherwise see or even imagine exist here.
There are good walks too but beware of the guided walks because one of them in particular is really for folk who walk 'in the mountains' and is not a jaunt for overweight tourists wearing a pair of gardening trainers. Don't be lured out of your comfort zone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time in placing a review related with your stay at Quinta do Serrado Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday and had the opportunity to relax!
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay here and my views are undoubtedly influenced by the very poor weather we encountered. Howling winds most days, cloud and rain, with the odd interval of warm(ish) sun. Nonetheless this hotel and island have something going for it. Peace ,quiet, stunning views and excellent service by all concerned including the manager, who altho' a character with the occasional diva moment nonetheless has his heart in the right place along with the welfare of his guests.

With minimal effort the hotel could be outstanding. Despite the last review here evening meals and lunches seemed of very good standard to me ( although do try some excellent restaurants elsewhere that are suffering from the all pervading influence of the all inclusive Pestana Hotel - Do Infante, The Panorama and the Alancastre restaurants are all good). However the breakfasts here were repetitive and uninspiring and the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in rooms is something I always find a particular irritant and loss.

Given the cold weather we encountered the hotel was perhaps understandably ill prepared with bedrooms and public rooms extremely chilly. As others have said, an additional mini bus collection in the middle of the afternoon would have been ideal. The Spa area looks good but alas the gym equipment did not work and looked as if it hadn't been used for a long while and it was not possible to access the sauna and steam room at the same time 'for technical reasons'. The heating of the Jacuzzi also seemed a little haphazard.

These relatively minor shortcomings could easily be overcome with little cost and if done this hotel would present a unique and rewarding holiday experience ,especially for those with a keen interest in the outdoors, walking and wildlife, on a starkly beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablocar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Quinta do Serrado Hotel.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We called at this hotel in the afternoon, we thought it looked delightful. We checked out the menu and decided to have an evening meal there. How disappointing, the food was pedestrian to say the least, Starter for me was the house appetisers, this consisted of a mayonaise dip and tinned tuna dip accompanied by some olives, also, some shop bought biscuits!!! The main was course even worse. Roast lamb ,some kind of stewed mutton, not good at any level. To add insult to injury it was over priced. On the menu they say that food is freshly made so a wait time of 30mins is involved, they suggest you try their apperifs. We asked for a glass of sangria, it was only available by the carafe. Waitress suggested champagne, we queried it and waitress assured it was sparkling white wine, however we were charged champagne prices, all a bit smart. What promised to be a sohptisticed meal turned into an over priced dinner with no charm. We shall never retrun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Anneob12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Estimao/a Cliente,

Desde já agradecemos o tempo disponibilizado na realização deste comentário, que muito valorizamos.
No Hotel Quinta do Serrado cultivamos todas as críticas dos nossos clientes que nos ajudem a atingir a qualidade que desde sempre nos propusemos.
Relativamente aos comentários sobre a sua estadia, lamentamos que os nossos serviços não tenham ido de encontro às suas expectativas.
Iremos partilhar os seu feedback com toda a equipa para este tipo de situações não se voltem a repetir.
Esperamos numa próxima estadia conseguir responder às suas expectativas.
Melhores Cumprimentos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent at week at the Quinta Do Serrado in October this year - the hotel is lovely the rooms are good but are VERY dark its in a very quiet location which is lovely and some great walks - but make sure you take 'proper' walking foot wear with you there are some very steep hills/roads and as its lovely 'going down' but remember you have to walk back up!!! the weather was rather mixed as the owner of the Hotel said you can get 3 seasons in one day on Porto Santo - it would have been better if it had been warm enough to sit outside for dinner in the evenings as the restaurant is rather small and again dark and not mad on the idea of the TV on the wall for breakfast and Dinner thats on all the time - the staff are good but can the Breakfast waitress stop setting the tables for the evening meals at breakfast time because the guests should be able to sit where they choose for breakfast not where they are told to as she has set the tables up for the evening this should not be done until after 10 a.m. when all the guests have left the restaurant and they should also have more tables for 2 - because if you went out to a restaurant you would not be put on a table for 6 where the other people are already there and eating-one evening the waitress poured me a glass of wine from the bottle we had purchased and then she noticed the glass had a crack in it so took the glass away and brought me another one but there was no offer of a replacement glass of wine which she poured away as well - how odd - not what you expect from a good quality hotel the staff could do with a bit more training - after all its all about what the guests want and have paid for-not whats best for the staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SophieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two weeks from the beginning of October 2012. Most guests were 60s plus or minus 10 years which gave an interesting mix for conversation at meal times and when relaxing around the pool and terrace. The courtesy bus was great for getting into town for shopping and the beach. Walks in the hills that are based in this part of the island are accessed from roads that are very quiet with little traffic. A local supermarket in the adjacent village stocks most items you could ask for. Only one bar is open in the village at this time of year which is very good for drinks and food. All the hotel staff worked hard with rooms cleaned and beds changed each day, they could not have done any more to make our stay a relaxing and comfortable experience.
The staff were constantly keeping the hotel grounds watered and amenity areas clean.
The owner Mr Santos filled in when necessary, drove the shuttle bus whenever required, and also other jobs such as helping chef at the lunch time bbq on the final day of our stay.
A very friendly family run hotel with staff making sure we were looked after to make our stay a memerable one. Our room overlooked the pool area and the terraced adjacent fields where the local bird life, cats, and goats could be seen. Perhaps room lighting could be improved with low level night light availablity rather than the bright bedside table lamps. B & S

Room Tip: Better views fron upper floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
214 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
721 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
130 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,000 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: $71 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing