We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location, delicious food”

Pe na Agua Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect location, delicious food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

There cannot be a more beautiful place on the island to eat. Situated right on the beach, it was perfect to sit outside and watch the waves crash.
The restaurant is beautiful, a posh typical seaside restaurant. We had the espada with banana - it sounds strange but definitely try it. The mozzarella and tomato salad was lovely too. When eating here, have fish, not meat, as it is so fresh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shererazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    157
    53
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“First visit very good, second visit excellent”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The restaurants on Porto Santo deserve praise for being open in February when there is no one about. But sufficient were to satisfy us, two of the few tourists to this wonderful island, and Pe Na Agua merited two visits. A charming rustic room reached from the road and the beach, it also has a bar for the locals. The menu is much of a muchness with others, in that Scabard fish dominates the menu, served with either banana or passion fruit! That was fine, but the peppered steak enjoyed on our return visit was excellent. As with most places visited, we ordered wine by the colour and by the glass and were never disappointed. Our charming waitress was old enough to be the owner's mother but stressed she was not related! Strongly recommended if you are staying at the Porto Santo Hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best beach bar in porto santo”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

well we ate here everyday while in porto santo for dinner or lunch and used there deckchairs on the beach.good food good value and on the beach go and visit

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in Porto Santo”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food, especially the caco bread and fish! Great location eating dinner and over-looking the sea. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great food in a great setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we found this restaurant on the net and decided to try it , it was an excellent idea. the food was very good , we loved the tuna and the scabbard fish! we drank their sangria and everything was delicious. the restaurant is right on the e beach and the view is very nice, we ate there again , once inside and once outside and we liked it on both occasions. pity we went there at the end of our holiday because we would have eaten there more often!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viviana754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pe na Agua Restaurant also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Pe na Agua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing