We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a few minor niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a few minor niggles”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife, 9 year old daughter and I really enjoyed our time at Pestana Columbus and as an all inclusive you have to rate the entire experience.

Most the staff were excellent and very friendly. However I have to give a special mention to the head of animation, Luciano, who made our stay a pleasure. He did yoga every morning because we all enjoyed it so much, he was also the star of the magic show, fire show and acrobatics which everyone enjoyed. Whatever they are paying him it's not enough! Also thank you to the management for allowing my daughter to practice the piano every day.

The flash dance, twice daily was an excellent idea, with kids and adults joining in - my daughter described it as the chorus to our day. However the 'go games' were a bit lame and could easily be improved on. Another hotel we stayed at made all the activities worth joining in by giving you 'hotel money'. Twice weekly they had an auction where you could bid for hotel merchandise, bottles of rum etc.

The standard room is large with a beautiful bath tub (apparently they cost 6000 euros) and a large separate shower. A king size bed with a sofa that has a comfortable pull out bed. As stated in the other reviews Thomson clients aren't given a sea view but at present you can upgrade for 90 euros. The only complaint about the room was that we had no hot water for 2 days, we were moved room where there was no hot water the next morning and only warm for all mornings after that, only hot in the evenings.

The buffet restaurant could have been designed better and should really have been built to have views of the sea. But I was told it was designed as luxury apartments rather than a hotel. However it was much better than it's sister hotel, Pestana. In fact many people traveled over every day to eat at this restaurant where the food and atmosphere were better and in addition much quieter. I thought the quality of the food was very good with fresh fish or meat, cooked to order available every day.

You are only allowed to book 3 a la carte restaurants. Unfortunately during the week we were there, half term, there were not enough places for everyone to get their 3 bookings. During busy times they should really keep all the restaurants open each night. With that said we were very impressed with the food, especially the steak in the Japanese restaurant and the beef and pork on the skewer in the Med Lovers restaurant. We didn't enjoy the Italian restaurant, we only really ate the cheese and ham from the buffet starters as the risotto, pizza and lasagne were no good.

There are lots of swimming pools but the water was too cold to swim outside for 99% of the people there. It would have been nice to have had one outdoor swimming pool that was heated. There is also 2 indoor swimming pools.

The beach is spectacular, best beach I have seen in Europe. The sea was cold with only a few people bravely swimming out. We went running every morning, daughter included, as it was just such a great experience.

Last grumble - we didn't enjoy any of the cocktails, the lager was too gassy and we could never manage to drink more than half a bottle of wine each. The airport had exactly the same brand of lager but tasted completely different and was noticeably more alcoholic.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 90 euros for the sea view, only possible once you reach the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tristan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear "tburns",

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Pestana Colombos.
I have addressed your complements especially to Luciano from the Entertainment Team.
I am sorry that your experience with some of the facilities/services did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies particularly with the problem of hot water in your room.
Regarding the bookings for themed restaurants there is a weekly programme of restaurants and we garantee to all the Customers that they have always sitting available to book however could happen that the one you wish is fully booked.
At Pestana Colombos we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    157
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
240
294
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a last minute break for me and the family a one week summer holiday for my birthday. Vera on the reception and her team were outstanding and made our time at the Pestana colombus a great experience, making my holiday and birthday an excellent occasion.
The food matched the rest of the hotel, all round brilliant with lots of choice.
Every day we enjoyed a fun time dancing and being involved with all the staff, even the town outside of the hotel had great food and amazing culture.
The hotel rooms were clean and spacious and exceeded expectations.
The one issue we had was during the day due to the sister hotel many children would be in our hotel whilst all the adults were expected to go to the sister hotel's pool, this wasn't a major complaint just the only possible point to have an issue with.

All round a very enjoyable time with family and a great holiday and hotel, with thank the Pestana colombos for this and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We returned from Porto Santo 27 May 2014 and once again had a fabulous time with all the family - (4 generations eldest 89yrs and youngest 3yrs) This was our third visit. The staff at the across the complex and Guest Services Managers are so welcoming and genuinely want to ensure that your well deserved holiday is as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We were extremely fortunate to stay in one of the pool villa's, so luxurious, spacious and accommodating for seven adults and one child. The flexibility of having the choice to use the Pestana Porto Santo facilities or the Columbus means that you can choose what kind of day or night you have.

The entertainment staff worked extremely hard to entertain us, particularly our son, and it was lovely to catch up with them during the day. The flash dance is a daily activity that we looked forward to.

The choice of food provide's exceptional quality and diversity, one tip would be to book early if you opt to dine at one of the alternative resturants as they book up very quickly.

Porto Santo is a very well kept secret, if you like the hustle and bustle of Magaluf you certainly wont find it here.

Thanks to all the staff at Pestana from the Murray-Cook's et al and Batman! xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 941CM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Murray Cooks Family,

Thank you very much for your many visits to our Hotels in Porto Santo.

We feel happy to know that you enjoy the new Pool Villas that we have in Pestana Colombos.

We are glad you enjoyed the quality of service we provide.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next visit.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel looks like a municipal car park from outside and you enter through thick rusty iron electric gates. Inside it is devoid of ambience and the restaurant reminded me of a school dinner hall. But Pestana know how to create luxury hotels and you should not be put off by appearances. Inside the rooms exude quality and the magnifcent bed is the best I have ever slept in any hotel. The premises are spacious and to go anywhere may be a long walk with the shortest route involving many steps. It is all spotlessly clean. We booked through Thomson and it really is unbelievable value for money. There is no bill when you leave, everything is all inclusive (safe in room, computer in library for Internet, food and drink all day and as much wine as you want!). The location is quiet with lovely beach nearby.

The food is excellent but the chef's wonderful efforts are spoilt by much of it being not kept hot enough. If you like desserts, alas they are very meagre. There are a la carte restaurants on site but places are relatively few and we could not get booked in.

We had an issue with our room. On arrival it did not appear to have a shower room and staff on reception told us a series of fibs when we asked for a different room. 'We'll organise it tomorrow' (there was no plan to do that); 'I'll be here to see to it' (she wasn't); 'You'll have to downgrade to have a shower room' (wrong - there was a shower room behind a locked door in our accommodation); 'I couldn't remember what facilities were in your room' (- really?) In the end they relented and unlocked the door. Apparently the problem arose from the terms of the Thomson contract. Pestana and Thomson should sort that out.

After that we enjoyed our stay and the staff looked after us very well. It is an excellent hotel and you can enjoy all the facilities of the more attractive but busier Pestana Porto Santo hotel next door.

Room Tip: The suites outside the main building have shower rooms but you have to persuade them to let you use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear "Malcolm G",

Thank you for visiting Pestana Colombos and for reviewing at TripAdvisor.

It´s through guest feedback, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

Please allow me to explain that some of the resort suites have 2 bedrooms (with bathroom each) and if Customers booked 1 bedroom suite usually we lock the 2nd bedroom. That is the reason why the door was closed.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just got back from Porto Santo. Pestana Columbos Hotel great and worthy of its 5 Star. On our arrival, the reception staff were courteous and efficient. My wife and I booked through Thomson and paid for a suite. When we got to our suite, found out that it was a duplex apartment on two levels. Not good if you are disabled. Unfortunately view from living area and bedroom restricted due to close proximity of other duplex apartments in the scheme. We spoke to the Manager and expressed our disappointment at the way Thomson Holidays had 'advertised',these suites. within 20 minutes, were given a more suitable, and equivalent in price superior room. This room was exactly what was described in the Thomson Brochure and what we believed we had booked originally. The Hotel facilities are ultra modern, bright and airy. The food was excellent, although there could have been a little more choice, pools and all facilities were excellent and well maintained. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay a most enjoyable and pleasant one. Beach is stunning. unfortunately you have pay the Government charges (15 Euro full day, 10 euro half day) if you wish to use the loungers and parasols that are located there. Snack bar food excellent, and we dined in the Madeira Love Restaurant. Food was superb. Weather a bit unsettled, with rain on two days of our stay. The general Manager Joab Martins, his assistant General Manager Angela Quintal worked tiredlessly and so professionally to ensure that guests were happy, dealing with problems sympathetically and resolving them swiftly. Special mention also to Mikaela Florean, Sofia B and Joana L, the front office/reception team for their professionalism and engaging personalities. Will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear "Neville L",

Thank you for the great review and great photos, too !

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and our customer service.
I have addressed your complements to the Team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is modern clean and very well run.The staff are attentive and very approachable.Management are exceptional and run this hotel with a passion.It really matters to them that you are being looked after properly and individual needs are catered for.Being able to share the next door hotel gives the customer a varied choice in restaurants and bars.Plenty of seating outside sunloungers and beds are always available no matter what time of day.Beach is clean and very beautiful the island itself is very small but packs a mean punch with its incredible landscape.I really recommend this holiday for peace and relaxation?All staff have interacted with us and have remembered what we like and have served us beautifully.So everyone come to this tiny pearl and experience a crime free loving island go pack your bags x

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandra u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Colombos.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you again.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Pestana Colombos continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have just returned from an enjoyable week at the Pestana Colombos on Porto Santo. We travelled as a group of five adults, and we felt that the hotel has the makings of something really nice, but it was let down by a few key areas. The Colombos and next door (via a 2 minute walk along an interior path) Porto Santo hotel are two distinct hotels but they operate as one, so you are really visiting the whole complex.


Pros
• Transfer from airport only around 10-15 minutes.
• Super luxurious bedrooms with large free standing baths, rainfall showers, super kingsize beds, balcony sofas. Maid service with fresh towels twice a day.
• Stylish, minimalistic decor with very clean, sleek bar/restaurant areas.
• Peaceful pool area at Colombos with plenty of sunbeds and two inviting swimming pools (and further indoor/spa area). Porto Santo pool area is much larger, with more interesting pools. But also more lively and family orientated.
• Direct access to a beautiful Caribbean-style white sandy beach, which you can walk along to reach the town of Vila Baleira in around 45 mins, where there are a handful of cafés and bars serving snacks and Madeiran style food. 45 mins walk along the beach in the opposite direction takes you to Ponta de Calheta, the corner of the island, where you can see Madeira in the distance (we had a great lunch in the fish restaurant there).
• All inclusive package includes unlimited use of bars and buffet restaurants in both hotels and three visits across the four à la carte restaurants. Food and drink is located as follows:
Colombos Hotel - Buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; ‘Snack room’ buffet, with a small selection of nibbly food and salads, and ice creams, waffles, crepes; Madieran à la carte restaurant; Mediterranean à la carte restaurant; pool bar, serving 10am-7pm; cocktail/piano bar, serving 6pm-midnight.
Pestana Hotel - Buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; Pool bar and cafe, serving hamburgers, toasties, etc. serving 10am-7pm; Japanese à la carte restaurant; Italian à la carte restaurant; Beach bar, serving 10am-7pm; Sunset bar and lounge, serving 6pm-midnight.
• Drinks service in the restaurants was good – bottles of wine opened and placed on the table, sangrias/beers etc. all served to the table, no self service drinks dispensers like some all inclusive hotels.
• The à la carte restaurants were all of a good quality, not outstanding food, but very pleasant and all distinct in food and decor from each other and the buffet restaurants.


Cons
• Food in the buffet restaurants was uninspiring – nice salads, but quite plain food, boiled veg, stews, casseroles, pasta, etc. little to no ‘show’ cooking, a couple of times we arrived at around 8.30 and dishes had completely run out. Also the vegetarian selection was quite wanting. The food was all fine, but not exactly five star luxury, and we were all quite bored early on.
• The Bars – there are no indoor bars during the day, not great for the days when it rained! People ended up taking their drinks from outside into the small lobby areas, which seems ridiculous in a five star hotel. Neither of the day time pool bars (excluding the beach bar, which was lovely) was anything special. Also, because they are all outside, all daytime drinks are served in plastic glasses – fine for actually by the pool, but if you are sitting at a bar you really should have the option to have a drink in a proper glass. There is no waiter service in any of the bars and what is more, some of the bar staff could have been a little friendlier, they are obviously very busy (which is worrying as it was early in the season and the hotel was not full) but could make you feel guilty for ordering a drink. Finally, the cocktails were very poor across all the bars.
• To book the à la carte restaurants you need to visit the little guest relations hut situated between the two restaurants. You get 3 visits per week, but not every restaurant is open on every night. This resulted in an enormous queue with people waiting for an hour to book their slots as the computer system kept crashing. They really need to work on this element – perhaps with online booking and certainly with all restaurants open on all nights.

Overall, if you are looking for luxury accommodation in a lovely, unspoilt location, then the Colombos is a great choice. If however you are after superb food and drink choices, then you may be left a little disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos Premium Club, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

At Pestana Colombos we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your feedback and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Colombos Premium Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Colombos Premium Club

Property: Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Colombos Premium Club 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Colombos Premium Club is a luxury hotel located on the island of Porto Santo, a paradise with an extensive sand area of almost 10 kilometres and warm and crystalline waters. Considered the best dune beach in Portugal, this is the perfect spot for beach lovers, with its transparent waters and golden sand. This marvellous all inclusive five star resort offers an enormous outdoor pool, an indoor pool and a modern SPA making this one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. Pestana Colombos Premium Club is the ideal resort for those who wish to get away from everything and enjoy a holiday without stress, to enjoy the Porto Santo sun and take a dive on the beach or at the hotel pool. Whether it be a family holiday or with a group of friends, at the Pestana Colombos you will have an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Colombos Premium Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo`s Beach Hotel Porto Santo
Colombo`s Beach And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing