We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel was amazing.
Food, entertainment, staff all fantastic.
I stayed in a suite over looking the pool which was a beautiful room.
I have since told friends to go to this hotel and they have not said a bad word.
You can walk along the beach into a little town centre.
Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear "Sarah K",

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    554
    160
    31
    17
See reviews for
841
1,040
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

POSITIVES:
This is a fantastic hotel and the staff are brilliant. It is also the cleanest hotel we have ever been to. All the extra little touches to make your stay more comfortable are provided. Staff are friendly, professional and helpful. They will cater for your special requirement as much as they can. In particular the Brazilian omelette lady and the friendly guy who did balloon shapes for the children. The hotel grounds are beautiful with lots of trees and colourful flowers. Rooms are good size and with nice decor. It is a quiet resort with relaxed atmosphere. Unlike many resorts, the music is not loudly playing by the swimming pools; it's just peaceful and quiet. We loved it.

NEGATIVES:
Swimming pools - outside swimming pools are so cold to the point that they are unusable. At anytime of the day, you will not see anybody using them. Even children come out of the pools as they are shivering! We have never seen such empty pools in any of the hotels we have stayed in the past. In fact the atlantic sea is warmer than the pool but as it's quite choppy it's not suitable for swimming. Most people had a quick paddle in the sea but that's all. Porto Santo weather changes several times during the day which means that the hotel's large swimming pools do not have the opportunity to get warm. We found it disappointing that we were unable to use the pools during our stay and believe that if they were heated it would have been a better holiday experience, especially on cloudy and rainy days.

Drinks machines - these are complete disaster and have no place in a 5* hotel. All juices and hot drinks are from self-serving machines. These drink machines are finding it hard to cope with the volume of requests and within one hour of the restaurants being open they produce a watery horrible drink that resembles nothing that it is meant to be.

Animals - several animals such as birds, chickens and rabbits are kept next to to the children's area. Although this is a nice idea for the children, it has not been executed well. Guests ended up reporting to the management that the animals cages were not being cleaned, food and water not supplied regularly, cages being too small for the number of animals and these have been positioned to face the sun as well as the inappropriate feeding tools being used. During our stay, complaints have been made to improve the conditions of the animals and we hope this is taken seriously as it is a very sad situation and upsetting for the guests.

In general Pestana have got most things right to make it a good holiday experience for the guests but for us personally we would only consider going back if the swimming pools were heated. There is no fun going to indoor swimming pools on your holiday which smell and look like your local leisure centre!

Room Tip: Blocks 2 - 4 faces the swimming pools and have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherbertsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, we are sorry that some of our facilities didn't meet your expectations.

To reach a great guest experience is a must for us, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced and your opinion is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Pestana Porto Santo so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Service

From the moment you arrive it is clear you are not staying at a run of the mill 5* hotel. There is party theme on arrival that makes you feel very special and valued, all before you have even said hello. Check In was very efficient and all members of the team were professional but soft in their approach. All staff around the resort are well versed in customer service and cannot do enough for you. Particular praise must be lent to the entertainment team who work incredibly hard and provide you with a spectacular finale to your holiday (do not miss the Columbus show!)

One gripe we did have is luggage transfer service. We arrived very close to the Manchester flights arrival and due to the sheer amount of guests arriving at once we waited two hours for our cases to be transferred to our room which was far from ideal with a young child.

Value

Excellent really, you pay a higher price than many 5* hotels but receive far more in return. One word of caution, take your own iron - At 5 Euros per hour if you are taking kids with you it could be very expensive!!

Sleep Quality

The beds are massive and comfortable and the rooms are fitted with very effective air conditioning systems. If you are presented with the room that face the main road do not panic. The road that runs along the front of the complex is not a busy one!

One word of caution. If you want to lie in please be sure to put a DND sign on your door, the cleaning staff are up and around very early and will wake you if you do not.

Cleanliness

Exceptional - Every member of the team is efficient and house proud.

Location

Beautiful, wonderful, exceptional, stunning............enough superlatives?

Rooms

A good size, well equipped and perfectly serviceable. The bed is a real winner in our book!

Food

Very good in quality and there is a decent amount of variety.

Summary

If you want a total relaxation type holiday, with stunning views, beautiful surroundings and with staff that go the extra mile then this is definitely one for you.There are so many things I could write about it but suggest you go visit yourself and see if you feel that my feedback is accurate. My wife and I say we never return to a hotel for fear of tainting our original opinion - Things are about to change.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PedroBoy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, and for taking the time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that the hotels services and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.

Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were extremely happy to know of your satisfaction. It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everyone in this hotel complex wants their guests to enjoy their experience, they really can't do enough to help.Consequently you feel comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are lovely. The hotel is quiet. the food is varied so something for everyone and the a la carte restaurants amazing especially 'The Madeira Experience'. he hotel leads directly onto the beach which is just km after km of golden sand, I defy you to find a single piece of litter there. Two indoor pools, one adult only means even on cooler days you can do some swimming, the gyms are well equipped too. This was my second visit, first was last Aug (2013), this time i took my parents aged 78 yrs and they enjoyed it.
The drawback to Porto Santo is the weather. It can be very like here, all seasons in a day. When the sun does peak through the clouds it is hot, but there is an awful lot of cloud. Nights can be chilly. When the weather is bad, there isn't much to do. There's not a lot to see on the island , golfers will enjoy the Seve Ballesteros designed golf course. The town is very unspoilt with very few shops (hardly any). I love being away from it all and the island is unspoilt but with such mixed weather a week is enough. Having said that I am determined to book another Pestana hotel as it was absolutely Fabulous, Thanks to all who work there for giving us such a lovely holiday, memories to treasure.

Room Tip: First floor with pool view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backpackernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with your parents.

We are glad to know that your experience at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacko, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just had 2 weeks in Pestano Porto Santo the best hotel we have stayed in.Food was excellent staff wonderful the restaurants were excellent not a bad word to say. would definately go back , the flashdance idea we could not believe the staff were joining in as well as the guests .The circus theme night was top class entertainment and the dancers were really good.if you visit this hotel I am sure you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is our third visit to 'The Pestana Porto Santo' and we are returning in September. This hotel and location ticks all the boxes. The staff are a real credit to the manager Joao Martins - 100% faultless. Food, drinks, rooms, service, facilities, hotel grounds are outstanding. Staff incredibly friendly - rooms are so clean and comfortable. The miles of golden sand has to be seen to be believed. The transfer from the airport is quick and well organised..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear "Peter R",

Thank you very much for your review shared on tripadvisor and your loyalty to the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

It is a great pleasure to have you coming back and enjoyed the quality of service we are offering.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the most amazing time, the resort was beautiful, the cleanliness of both the resort and our room was perfect, not a speck of dust to be found, the view from our room was incredible over looking the pools and the mountains from our lovely balcony, the food was very varied, plentiful and tasty, all of the staff were always happy, smiling, ready to help, extremely talented and incredibly hard working. The use of the Pestana Columbus, in addition to Pestana, was a bonus and had a very calming feel to it, the pools in both resorts were beautifully maintained and cleaned and the facitlities at both were perfect. The beaches are divine and the hotel provides wind breaks and parasols free of charge. There is a charge for the sunbeds on the beach as the hotel doesn't own them, but take your towels, sit on the warm sand and bury your feet in it to benefit from the healing qualities. Who needs a sun bed when you have all that beautiful sand!!!!? Return from the beach to a chilled,gin and tonic at the beach bar. We recommend the jeep safari, although seats sitting forward would have been preferable, the boat trip was amazing and to see the dolphins swimming by the boat, the jellyfish and a shark (whilst my new husband was snorkelling!!) was amazing and out of this world. It was great to share the boat with 5 lovely staff from the Pestana too... We would also recommend hiring the electric bubble car for 4/5 hours..well worth it and great fun! We would also recommend you to join in the daily 'flashdance' - it's great fun and we are now doing it at home for exercise! - DON'T GO HOME WISHING YOU HAD!!! We had some amazing photo's taken there by Goncalo Dias Santos in the design shop and are looking forward to receiving the canvas' in the post shortly...
Thank you Pestana Porto Santo for making our dream honeymoon come true....xxx
We can't wait to return! xx
You so deserve your 5 star rating in our eyes.

Room Tip: A pool view with balcony is a bonus although the rooms facing away are very relaxed and a little qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing us for the important moment of your Honeymoon and for the great review and great photos with the Team, too!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, view, and our customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Property: Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing