We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have known about this island for a long time, as we were here 21 years ago. We are just back from a lovely two-week holiday, and while I agree with most of the positive comments regarding the resort, I have to say that I think the quality of the food could have been better. We stayed in a 4-star hotel in Madeira last year, where we had better food. Although I'm not too hard to please, my wife is not too keen on meats or fish, so she was struggling to get a main course she liked. Throughout the two weeks, chicken breasts were not on the menu, only strange-looking chicken legs. It appears that the breasts were only served up in the a la carte restaurants, where you had to pay extra. Also, because of the the open access to the restaurant, not only were there flies about, but also birds flying around over open food trays, and you know what birds do! We always went to eat at the beginning of mealtimes, when it was quiet and you would also expect the food to be hot, but this wasn't always the case. Everything else about the resort was excellent (apart from entertainment), so it's a pity the food let it down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear "Robert L",

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resor and for taking to post your comment on TripAdvisor, which was highly appreciated.

I believe that your stay was before the openning of our new property (Pestana Colombos) because our á la carte restaurants, since 1st July, are free of charge. On arrival you get at reception 3 vouchers per week stay for our themed restaurants.

Even though, thank you for your feedback, for sure we will improve even more in the future.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 2,452 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is perhaps the easiest review that I have ever written, as it can be summed up in one word - Superb!
Accommodation is in 15 'villas' ranging around the perimeter of the complex; surrounding beautiful gardens and an extensive pool area. A short walk along a boardwalk brings you to a small bar with a sitting area overlooking the magnificent beach.
Everywhere, inside and out, was spotlessly clean and rooms very comfortable, although we commented on the lack of drawer space in the room.
A stay here can be as active or as relaxing as you wish to make it. Besides the outdoor pools there is a heated indoor pool with water jets, a small but well equipped gym together with steam room and sauna. The Animation (entertainment) team work hard throughout the day and evening with a programme of activities suitable for all ages; but never any pressure to join in.
Food was plentiful, of good quality and well presented with plenty of variety to make informed choices each meal time. There are two themed al a carte restaurants which can be booked, and provide a change from the main buffet restaurant - but be careful if you order barbecued ribs in the Madeirense restaurant. Ours were undercooked and difficult to separate - this was our only dissatisfaction of the entire holiday.
Staff, without exception were friendly, helpful and attentive (and all spoke excellent English). Although our stay was during the last week before the close down for the season, there was no sign of diminishing standards; a fact that we found impressive.
TRAVELLERS TIP! Although pathways are illuminated with low level lighting throughout the complex these tend to dazzle; together with large areas of shadow between the lights one needs to be careful as it could be quite easy to collide with overhanging trees, of even slip from raised areas of the pathways. We suggest that a small but powerful torch would be a decided benefit, especially for returning to those villas furthest away from the restaurant and bar areas.

Room Tip: Villas 5,6,7,8 and 15 are furthest away from the bars and the pool area with the most activity and a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review (and great photos, too)! We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, view, and our customer service.

Please accept our apologies regarding the barbecued ribbs, regarding the torch please don't bring it :) as we are going to improve that.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Second time around and just as good. We went the same time last year (October) for a fortnight and we are glad to say that the experience was all that we had hoped it would be. The weather was glorious, although apparently the island has had a mixed bag this year.

The staff - most of which were there last year are all very friendly and most courteous - from the cleaners to the management. We would particularly like to single out Andreea (guest relations)who put up with all our stupid requests and questions and Silvana in the restaurant who always had a smile for us.

The food was good, plenty of it, although we thought that the meat & fish cooked on the bone were a little hard to tackle sometimes, perhaps we are just a little too picky.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean - gardens, pool, rooms, restaurant, toilets etc. There is also entertainment on in the evenings if you like that sort of thing, nothing terribly exciting, just the animation team or a couple of singers some nights.

We were taken to see the new hotel next door The Colombos...WOWWWW! Very different, ultra modern......don't think it is our cup of tea though. We prefer the more homely atmosphere of the Porto Santo.

If you are looking for a holiday where you just want to chill. then this is the place. Please don't book if you are looking for nightlife, retail therapy etc....THERE IS NONE. Although the town is very small & picturesque in places. If you do decide to visit please go on the jeep safari - EXCELLENT!! We did it last year- booked through the hotel (not Thomsons) and had a marvellous time and it was cheaper too. This year we hired a quad bike from the hotel for a day and saw a couple more places we missed last year, we had a great day out and had lunch in a restaurant up in the hills....we were the only people there, superb.

All we can say is if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful break where you are looked after from the moment you arrive till the moment you depart, the Pestana Porto Santo is the place for you.

Thanks to everyone for giving us a fabulous time again..........We will be back!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite facing the car park & picos again. But I suspect that people do like to face the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your many visits and latest comments.

We were happy to know that our Hotel is always a fantastic experience.

We are glad that through your return visits you feel well taken care, we believe that makes a huge difference.

We hope to welcome you in Porto Santo Island in the near future.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I visited the island of Madeira about 10 years ago and enjoyed it so much we said at the time we would definitely return some day.

As we were searching for our 2013 holiday, we stumbled upon Porto Santo, had never heard of it, but remarked it was the smaller sister island to Madeira. We therefore decided to try the Pestana Hotel, all inclusive, a holiday concept we had never tried before.

From start to finish this was a perfect holiday and Thomsons organisation was second to none, the rep, Mario, was exceptional and truly professional.

As for the Hotel, the rooms were spotless, the food was very good with so much choice and the waiter service superb. We had noted some former complaints on Tripadvisor about the food being cold in some instances and the main eating area appearing like a canteen. We had no cold food, but can understand the comments about the canteen to some degree, although this did not detract from our eating experience one iota. In fact it meant you normally sat next to different people so good and varied conversation could be held. There were also two theme restaurants, one Italian, one Madeiran, and both were excellent and offered a departure from the normal eating routine.We used the Madeiran restaurant three times- food excellent.

As we visited late Sept/ early Oct. not many children were around so it was very peaceful, but I can sympathise with those people who have previously "complained" they were expecting a quiet break, only to find many kids on the complex. So if quietness floats your boat, keep away from school holiday times if you can.

The island, although only 3x6 miles or so, is a dream and can easily be explored with the jeep safari which everyone agreed was value for money at €32 per head. Do it.

Great beach with beautiful walks. It was cloudy in the morning, bright and warm in the afternoon, so if you are expecting wall to wall sunshine, forget it. You are in the middle of the Atlantic so why some people have "complained" about the weather seems rather strange.The first week's weather in October was better than the last week's in September, and was really superb.

Get yourself to Porto Santo before it gets too commercialized and visit the Pestana and you will not be disappointed.

It was our first AI experience and will not be the last.

Great Job by Thomsons and Pestana Hotels, thank you.

PS get a round of golf in if you can, some dramatic views.....

Room Tip: Upgrade around the pool, we felt it was worth the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort and share it with other travelers.

We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our areas, facilities indoor and outside the resort.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed first 2 weeks at the beginning of Oct. Had a lovely chill out holiday. Good flights and well organised transfers and check in especially when you consider almost everyone on the plane will be staying here. Because the hotel wasn't full to capacity our room was upgraded. It was spotlessly clean and a good size. All the staff were friendly and helpful and Mario the rep was the best we'd ever had, although he is moving on next year. The beach is fabulous and you can use the hotels parasols and windbreaks from the beach bar for free, but I believe there's a charge for the sunloungers and parasols on the beach. We went on 2 trips a walk up Pico Castelo which you need to be reasonably fit for because there are a lot of steps to climb and the jeep safari which would suit almost anyone. Both trips run by the same people who were good fun and very knowledgeable well worth doing. If I had to find fault it would be with the buffet restaurant, but having the choice of the Italian and the Madeirenses made up for this, both of which were lovely. The evening entertainment was adequate when you consider this is a small island that doesn't attract the bigger entertainers. Like previous comments the entertainment team did well but Celia was on far too often, her partner Joao was better on his own. All in all we had a fab holiday and were definitely go back to this beautiful island and fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 7 which is furthest away from everything but nice and quiet with a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E39Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very important for us and future Guests.

It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Enjoyed the last week of 2013 season at this superb hotel. Amazing comfort, ambience, facilities, food and drink. The almost empty 9km beach of soft golden sand is a couple of minutes walk away. No hint of "demob happiness" among the staff who looked after us very well including snacks and drinks until the moment the bus left at 5.30pm.

Room Tip: Villa 4 had good pool view and caught the morning sun reasonably well. Our daughter's family ha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear "Paul F",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in the next season 2014.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon in October, it's our first all inclusive holiday, as we usually like to find a hotel and explore the local area. We were definitely not disappointed. The hotel was nicely decorated, clean and the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. The pools and poolside areas were clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. I'm not really sure why some of the reviews say there weren't within the hotel grounds??? I would be watch out for the hiring of sunbeds on the beach though, but you can use the wind breaks and parasols for free. There are 3 pools in total at Pestana and you can use the pools at the neighbouring Coloumbus hotel.

The food was good, and the chefs were helpful as my husband is gluten free and talked him through what dishes he could and couldn't eat. We ate in the Mederian restaurant but not the Italian as we didn't realise until the last day they could cater for my husband with gluten free pasta.

We'd recommend the jeep safari the guides are really nice and happy to answer questions.

If you have a sweet tooth you'll like the cocktails, they were much too sweet for me.

The only bad aspect was the entertainment in the form of Joao and Celia, the entertainment provided by the animation team was cheesy but fun and we were relieved the entertainment was provided by them.
But 4 nights of J&C murdering the same songs over and over, there surely must be other people on the island who can play guitar, and I'm sure there must be better singers, it wouldn't be hard.
All in all, I'd recommend the hotel, the beach and the island as a whole.

Room Tip: Avoid any nights the Joao and Celia are the entertainment.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for visiting Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort during the special moment of your honeymoon.

Your positive comments were share with the Team and they were happy with your kind words.

Regarding the entertainment with the musicians we realize through Customers feedback that improvements must be done and we will.

We look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: $205 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo hotel is a 5-star beach resort, on the island of Porto Santo, Madeira, and is all inclusive (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages). Recently voted the best All Inclusive resort in Europe, it is located on Portugal's best beach, the Porto Santo beach, with 9 km of fine sand and warm water. Just 1 minute on foot from the beach, this hotel also offers 2 large swimming pools surrounded by 30,000 m² of gardens. Guests can enjoy its 6 restaurants and 5 bars, as well as a Spa area with a heated swimming pool, water jets, sauna, Turkish bath, Hamman and gym. And for the little ones, the hotel has sports fields, game rooms and the Kids Club. The rooms are decorated with blue ocean hues and each has a flat-screen TV and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing