We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, Stunning Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing, Stunning Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We travelled to the Pestana Porto Santo for a 2 week family break with our 2 year old son on the 19th September with First Choice. We found booking with First Choice nearly £200 cheaper for exactly the same holiday Thomsons were offering.

The flight to Porto Santo with Thomson was on time from Gatwick. The plane itself was quite old, and must have been a respray from the old Britannia fleet. Not a lot of legroom, at 6ft1, if the person in front of me had put their chair back it would have crushed my legs. For a 3hr 20min flight though, it was adequate.

After collecting our baggage we were greeted by Vee the Thomson/First Choice rep. I think that out of the 300 people on the flight, 299 of them must have been staying at the Pestana. We were on the first coach to the hotel, which was a nice 5 min drive from the airport through the main Town on the island. On arrival at the resort, the hotel is set in the most beautiful stunning grounds which appeared clean and well built. We were greeted by staff as we alighted the coach saying that we could check in now, or go for a drink in the bar. We decided to queue because of our little man. He was well pleased that the animation team were there straight away to make him a balloon animal which kept him occupied whilst we checked in. Check in was very smooth and hassle free, although we did have to queue for about 20 mins, which we fully expected. Our cases were left at reception, ready to be taken to our room by the staff.

We then went and checked out our room, which was lovely. We were in block 5 on the ground floor, with a lovely view over the gardens and pool area. We had a single large room which had a super king size bed, and a lovely travel cot with a substantive mattress for our son which he slept like a log in for 2 weeks! The rooms are decorated well, with a nautical theme. The bed was very comfortable. The A/C in the room was excellent, the bathroom was well equipped and of a very high standard. There was a large wardrobe, with plenty of wooden hangers for clothes. A free safe to use too which is always good to see. There was a TV mounted on the wall with a number of channels incl BBC1 and 2, and ITV, and Sky News. There was also a sofa bed, and a lovely terrace to sit on with table and chairs.

Also in the room was a fridge within a cupboard. It's simply not a mini bar if you don't put any real drinks in it! The fridge had 4 bottles of water in it, which you had to restock yourself from the Dunas Pool bar. The management could improve this by putting a couple of beers in there daily.

The cleaning staff were excellent and kept our room wonderfully tidy.

We were disappointed that as a family of 3, we were not given a room with a separate bedroom. We spoke to an elderly couple who stayed in the room next to us, and they never requested a room with a bedroom, neither did we, but surely it would make more sense to give a family of 3 a bedroom and living room?

The resort itself is stunning, the pools are all beautiful, and the Beach is amazing. It is the best beach I've ever been on in Europe, and easily on a par with some Carribean beaches. The sea can be quite rough at times with quite large waves. We found it calmer with the excellent weather and was a great temperature for a dip. As mentioned previously by others, a bit disappointing that you get charged for a sun bed on the beach. A bit of a rip off! We opted for the old towels on the sand option with a free umbrella!

The food in the resort was on the whole excellent. We booked the resort because it had a buffet restaurant because of our son. He doesn't want to be sat in a high chair sitting through a 3 course a la carte menu as he would get very bored quickly! Also if he didn't like something, we could simply go and get him something else. He loved the pasta and ate loads of it! I loved the veal dishes, and enjoyed the curry night too. Breakfast was excellent everyday, as was lunch in the Dunas and the main restaurant. We did find that the evening meal became a bit repetitive, although the quality remained high. The staff in the restaurant were superb with our little boy, paying him lots of attention! Eslane and Indira were great with him!

We ate in Luigis Pizzeria 3 times, and the pizzas and pasta dishes were very good. They could do with a child menu, or maybe chid size portions as we had to order whole dishes or pizzas for our son!

Drinks were very good too. Yes they are local brands but the beer was good, cocktails (Mojitos!) were excellent, and they make a great coffee too.

The Sunset Bar is stunning with an amazing terrace view. We never stayed late enough to see the animation team entertainment, although we were subjected to the couple that sing every night. They're ok, but every night!? Maybe the hotel could put on a young disco in the bar area to occupy the children until they're ready for bed and the animation team's show.

We had excellent weather throughout. The first couple of days were a bit cloudy in the morning but brightened up in the afternoons, but after that it was scorching every day. We did walk to the main town once, but there isn't much there. We didn't do any trips either, as none really suited our little man.

To the people who write moaning about children, this place is a family resort! If you want peace, book a couples only resort!

Overall we had a wonderful time in Porto Santo. A hidden gem of a location. I fear that in a few years that wonderful beach will have hotel after hotel along it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JonnyCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    554
    160
    31
    17
See reviews for
841
1,039
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had a fabulous holiday between 19/09/2011 and 3/10/2011. It was our first all inclusive. The Hotel was amazingly well laid out with excellent facilities. We thought the best pool was the salt water pool which had a really good Jacuzzi section, although the fresh water pool was great and not too chlorinated. We didn't use the gym or the indoor pool but both seemed really good.
The hotel staff were brilliant and always ready to help. The service really couldn't have been better. The general buffet restaurant provided a wide variety of food and we could always find something we enjoyed. The desserts were particularly good.
However, our most enjoyable meals were served in the Mediterrânico. we had to pay an extra 17.50 euros each but it was well worth it.
We generally had a light lunch in the Pool Bar and this was always an enjoyable experience.

The beach is accessed by a private gate, I rate it as one of the best beaches in europe and the sea was relatively warm at 23C. The hotel have provided a small beach bar which serves hot and cold drinks as well as ice creams (all part of the all inclusive).
It is well worth venturing out of the hotel and the it's a 40 minute walk in either direction. Vila Baleira is in one direction (the capital City) it's very small and quite pretty with just enough bars and restaurants to give some variety but don't expect great shopping!
In the other direction is Calheta which is a very small village with a good restaurant and bar overlooking a fabulous seascape.

We couldn't fault the resort or Porto Santo for a lazy relaxing stress free hedonistic holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool seem to have better balcony / terrace conditions. We were the sea side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derek011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Have just returned from holiday in PORTO SANTO hotel Pestana,befor going we went on to trip advisor and mostly every one like it ,well we did not like it we loved it ,the hotel was great the weather was a bit cloudy for the first couple of days but still hot ,after that it cleared and was hot and sunny for the rest of the holiday .The food was very good something for every one .But what really made our holiday great was the animation boys and girls ,very good games during the day and great shows at night .I would like to thank Pedro, Jara ,Jonathan ,Sissi, Soraia ,Patricie,Lucia,Pedro for making our holiday enjoyable and hope to see them all again some time .Port Santo is a very small town a place to go and not spend money {which my husband liked} only if you are interested in golf as it has a lovely golf course

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 107ERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just had a week at the end of September. Weather perfect - locals said that it was actually too good for the time of year! Spacious room which was kept very clean, nice sunbathing areas which were not too crowded, plenty of food available all the time (you could eat and drink continuously from 7am to 11pm if you wanted!).

However, we were glad not to have booked more than a week. There's not a lot to do apart from lie in the sun and cook yourself, walk up the beach, then down the beach, then up again, etcetcetc.. There are some trips out provided at a cost (the best of which is the Jeep Safary), but we both thought that once you had done a couple of these you would run out of ideas. The staff are all very friendly, and seem happy, but in the restaurant there is a little too much attention to "fawning" over the guest. Ok, it's nice to be waited on, but to be constantly reminded that your glass is empty, or to have your partner's plate removed from the table while you are still eating, is a little over the top.

This standard of service seemed to be at the expense of the food quality. The evening meal buffet is quite extensive in choice, some nights the quality was good, but other nights not so good. Some of the meat was well overcooked to the point of being dry and tough. The safest bet seemed to be the pasta-style salads, and the sweets. The other gripe we had was that quite a few young couples were taking their very young children to eat very late. The kids were grizzling and crying because they were tired, and several people commented that they wished that there was somewhere else to go to get away from the racket! And this was out of the main school holidays, so what it would be like in August I shudder to think.

I understand that Portugal operates a duel-star hotel rating system, broken down into "E" (for Estalagem, the lower band) and "H" (the higher band) - star ratings. This hotel is officially an H*****, as displayed by the reception door. It's worth remembering that these ratings are not subjective (ie a "mystery guest's" opinion), they are objective, based on the facilities provided on a government tick-list. Based on this I suppose it could be called a five star hotel, but in reality, and based on our experience, it's nearer to a four star, or the lower banded E*****.

Overall, we enjoyed out week, but now that we've been there and done that, and won the T-shirt, we don't think we will go back. If all you want is to lie about all day then it's for you. And one last comment - - the charge for the use of a computer or the wifi really is exorbitant! The most expensive I've ever come across in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CnDWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

A genuine 5 stars beach resort all inclusive, beyond any expectations.
I always take into serious consideration the reviews from TripAdvisor and my expectations were high on this hotel. We were not in the best mood after spending the first half of our holidays at Pestana Bay – quite disappointing. After a very pleasant sail with Lobo Marinho, we arrived at Porto Santo ready to point out any faults. But there was none! This place is just perfect in any way.
The complex is fabulous, all spotless clean, beautiful gardens, fantastic pools (very clean with warm water and plenty of sun beds), an endless beach, with an exceptional sea of transparent and warm waters (why go to the Caribbean when we have it all at our doorstep?), great food either at the main restaurant (plenty to choose from), the pizzeria or in Dunas pool bar.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable with a pleasant balcony facing the pool. Couldn’t ask for more.
The staff couldn’t be nicer and friendlier. Any request satisfied with a smile. Always willing to please.
Don’t miss the jeep tour around the island, it’s amazing.
We will be back next year betraying Madeira with Porto Santo!

Room Tip: ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank macakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Isle of Anglesey.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't already been said?
It is a haven of tranquility. Every member of staff is so friendly and willling for you to have a good time here.
I travelled with my wife, daughter and son-in-law and their 2 girls, Katie & Emily (9yrs & 4 yrs).The 2 girls thought the Kid's club was great and couldn't wait to go to the next session.
Contrary to what some people say about plates not being cleared in the restaurant, well I'm afraid we must have been in another because the staff were very attentive to clearing away dishes very promptly.
I would like to thank the manager for his very kind thoughts of sending my wife a bottle of champagne to our room as it was her birthday, a very kind gesture indeed. plus a mention for the Hol. Rep.Vee, who also posted a card for her birthday as well, and was at hand the whole day...thank you.
About the food; if you couldn't find anything that you didn't like, then I'm sorry for you and can only suggest that you stay at home and have your pizzas & fish & chips!
We have already been checking out for next year, as they fly from Manchester, which is closer to home for us and no need to find hotels before & after the flights.
My thoughts are that, in about 4 years this isle will become a very strong tourist island, so as it's been said before, get here before that happens and enjoy the tranquility & beauty while it's not bustling with people.

Steve.

Room Tip: It seems that "Even" numbered rooms face the pools, and "Odds" face the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steevann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Excellent resort, lovely clean and spacious rooms, staff all very helpful and polite and spoke excellent English.No loud disco music blaring out. Rooms were located in villas set around the lovely gardens and pools, one being a sea water pool and the other fresh water. Plenty of sun beds around the resort. Having read some reviews about the food, we found the food to be excellent, plenty of choice and was replenished regularly. Plenty of quiet areas to relax and sun bathe. A lot of guests arrived with us and check in was handled very well, you had the choice of queueing to check-in or going into have your dinner before checking in, which we did, bags were taken to your room for you and collected on check-out day, We had the room until 1pm and our pick up for the airport was 4pm, you could use all facilities until departure. Thomson Rep Vee was excellent, very helpful and knowledgeable and always on hand to help if needed.
Not a resort if you want nightlife, there isn't any apart from the shows put on by the entertainments team and a duo playing and singing every night in the Sunset Bar which was lovely to sit an relax of an evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliG262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela Q, Gerente at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us at Porto Santo.
We hope we can welcome you again.
Best regards,

Ângela Quintal
Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Property: Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing