We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Run

It was a very beautiful trail run, Go Trail made sure that we all could enjoy. the guide paid good... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marcel0171
Conquer the Stairs/Summit

What an amazing adventure. So much fun. Ricardo was a fantastic guide. Very knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed December 2, 2019
Runninginbryce
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
93
1
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great guide running guide training ground guide daniel active holiday great pics contacted daniel always on time weather conditions his knowledge beautiful island amazing experience couple of hours stunning views pace terrain playground
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2019 via mobile

What an amazing adventure. So much fun. Ricardo was a fantastic guide. Very knowledgeable and patient as we tackled this rather challenging trail. Not to mention he is an outstanding runner and we felt very lucky he took us out with him. This was definitely the highlight of our trip and we can’t wait to come back and explore more trails with Go Trail Madeira. Everything went so smoothly. From the first email inquiry to finally getting on the trails. Daniel and his team were amazing to work with and we can highly recommend them as guides on these amazing mountains on Madeira. The pictures they took of us were stunning and a great memory of our trip. Thank you, Daniel and Ricardo for making this possible for us! I would give 10 stars if I could.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Runninginbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-GoTrail, Proprietário at Go Trail Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2019

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2019 via mobile

We had a great time doing 3 guided running tours on our week's holiday in Madeira. As we'd booked our holiday very last minute it was really nice to have everything taken care of for us and really well organised by Gotrail Madeira. Our runs were all very different from coastal cliffs to mountains to quiet forest paths and the levada trails. It was a great way to see a spectacular island. Daniel was an excellent running guide and also very knowledgeable about the island, and its history, plants and geology so we learned lots too. We hope to visit again soon.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-GoTrail, Proprietário at Go Trail Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2019

Thanks for the review Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

Just had our first holiday on Madeira primarily as a fact finding mission with a view to potentially returning to do the Ultra Trail Madeira or MIUT in the future. We booked up a guided trip with Daniel before leaving the UK. Communications via email were quick and easy and everything about the booking process and pre-payment was smooth. We arranged to be collected from our accommodation in Jardim do Mar so that we did not have to drive back again after a long run. This also worked like clock-work. We did the Fanal Green mist run which as an excellent adventure. The clouds broke as we arrived and we ran for several hours in nice sunshine up on the plateau, just perfect. The landscape and scenery was stunning. Ricardo our guide for the day was knowledgeable and friendly and took excellent care of us. Having finished second in the Ultra Trail Madiera, Richardo was perfectly placed to give us the low down on this particular event which we are considering doing in 2020, which was a great bonus. We enjoyed the day so much that we decided to check availability and booked up to go again a few days later!! Our second trip was the Porto Cruz Training Ground which was quite different to the Fanal Green Mist but just as interesting and challenging. Running along the Levardas high up in the hills is a real treat and the views to the coast were fabulous. The Eucalyptus forests were very unexpected and reminded us of Australia which was a real surprise! Overall our experience with Go Trail Madeira was 10 out of 10 and we would not hesitate to recommend Daniel and Ricardo to anyone who is considering visiting the island on a walking or running holiday. We can't wait to get back and run with them again in the future and maybe join in on the Ultra Trail Madeira or MUIT. Thanks guys you rock :-).

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Tribal_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-GoTrail, Proprietário at Go Trail Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2019

Hello Stuart, thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

i never expected that madeira might have that nice trails to run!
you can go there for trailrunning several days,especially because daniel (the guide i went with) has so much many ways to go!
the trails were awesome, everything included what you need and want... cliffs, forests, climbing, descending, rocks, levadas (all in one tour possible)! and daniel the guide, was not just a trailrunning guide! he gave me so many informations about the island, about the nature there and even about where to go for carboloading ;-) he is an absolut pro and i could also learn some more things about the sport trailrunning itself!

next time i will do some more runs with him for sure

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank mimmele2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-GoTrail, Proprietário at Go Trail Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thanks for the review Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

The most amazing runs in Madeira with GoTrailMadeira!
Fantastic guides, Daniel & Ricardo will blow your mind!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank szustaksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel-GoTrail, Proprietário at Go Trail Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2019

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews