We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This Villa Had it All”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa and view - day time
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa and view - day time
Villa and view - night time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Villa and view - day time
Villa and view - night time
Day time view from the villa
Map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VH_Crew
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Villa Had it All”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location, the facilities, the view - Villa Boa Vista has it all!

With a stunning view of Funchal and the harbor, this villa is located within walking distance (approx. 20 minutes) of the restaurants in Old Town, the waterfront promenade, the cable car to Monte and a range of local shops. Every morning we bought fresh bread for breakfast and most evenings walked into Funchal for meals or to explore. For trips to other parts of the island we rented a car. Parking at the villa was never a problem as it has its own, secure and private garage.

Inside the villa met all of our expectations: clean, spacious, modern, well-furnished and well-equipped, with comfortable beds and ample storage. Most days, after returning from our daily sightseeing and walking trips, we enjoyed the heated pool and what was left of the afternoon sun. When we dined in, the kitchen was well stocked and met the needs of 4 amateur chefs.

Without a doubt, we will return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your informative and complimentary review. We get a lot of satisfaction in knowing our guests have had a great time. We would be delighted to offer you a warm welcome on your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W
2 reviews
“Fabulous Villa in Funchal”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fabulous villa about 20 mins walk to Downtown Funchal. Located in an elevated position with an amazing view over the harbour and mountains. Never got tired of the view. The villa itself is very modern with every facility you could require in a holiday rental. On arrival villa was extremely clean and we were met by Maria who is the owners local contact who was also very helpful.
The owner provides a video to show directions on how to find the property which is invaluable, watched it a couple of times before we left home and found the property with our hire car with no problem. The same on how to get to a local supermarket would be useful as it took us several attempts to find one.
The pool was well looked after and although a a little chilly didn't stop my daughter swimming in it.
If you want to have a luxury self catering property in Funchal, I can recommend this place.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you very much for the great review. We are currently arranging heating for the pool so it should be warm all year round. There is a small supermarket within 5 minutes walk, but I will take your suggestion and make a video of how to get to the nearest big supermarket which is about 5 minutes drive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M
1 review
“Fabulous modern villa in Fabulous Madeira”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fabulous modern villa equipped to a high standard with everything you might need. Our contact at the villa, Maria, was very friendly and helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. Madeira lived up to it's reputation for being a spectacularly beautiful island, especially when we visited the highest point of Pico do Arieiro and the people are very friendly (especially the taxi drivers who we relied upon to bring us back up from the old town!). The location of the villa takes advantage of the fantastic views but a taxi ride back from the old town would be recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views from the terrace
Liked least: The steep gradient walk back to the villa
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thank you for the first class Review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the villa and Madeira and would be delighted to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katmel58
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stunning Villa!”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed with our two adult children for a week in this beautiful villa. It is very spacious, spotlessly clean and with every amenity you could wish for. Maria was lovely. She was there to meet us when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool with stunning views from all rooms. Extremely comfortable beds and a great kitchen with coffee maker, microwave etc. You can walk into town, though the streets are really steep, there isn't much in the way of pavements and the cars whizz by really close! There is a bus stop but I'm not sure how often the buses run. Its useful to get a taxi back , after doing a big shop in the supermarket or after a meal out. They are very plentiful and only cost 5 euros back to the villa. We would recommend going up to both the Tropical Gardens and the Botanical Gardens on the funicular. The ride up is a treat with brilliant views from the carriage and the gardens themselves are well worth a look. Lots of lovely restaurants and shops in Funchal. Overall, a great holiday and I will definitely tell my family and friends about the villa.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the villa and Funchal itself, and we thank you for the great review. We don't rest on our laurels and are continuing with small improvements including heating the pool for winter use. You were great guests and we would be delighted to welcome you, your family and friends back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ziliden
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW villa”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was a great pleasure to stay in John's villa. It was beyond my expectations. Such a luxurious place! We have 7 person and we really enjoyed the stay there. Maria is very kind and helpful host, we received very warm welcome. This villa is an interesting piece of architecture, interior design and decoration with the most breathtaking views. Everything is new and very clean. Great kitchen is fully equipped with high quality machines. The villa is located in a good place, 10 min walk to Funchal city center Av do Mar. The villa has a huge garage, so there is no need to worry about parking. WOW factors: Swimming Pool, Amazing Views, garage, space. Personally, I recommend villa to everyone who want to explore and relax in Madeira,Funchal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride and pleasure in knowing our guests are happy. Thanks for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing