We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week in March”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Views from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Susan r
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“One week in March”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely House. More than adequate for our requirements. Well equipped.

The pool table was a challenge. Whichever end we sent a ball it rolled back to the middle!

The only niggle is that the Google directions were misleading. We ended up getting a taxi which we followed in our car. The google directions did not mention Rua das Lajes and the key fob did not have the house number. We had to ring the local agents to clarify where the house was located.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Thank you for your comments, glad to know you had a good time and enjoyed the house. Apologies if the instructions given at the airport were not complete, we normally send all via email to make sure our guests have all the information before their arrival but will make sure at the airport we provide all the information aswell. Hope you will visit us again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and can't fault the place. The location is fantastic, it's a downhill walk into Funchal and on a easy bus route which we used when we didn't fancy the walk back. Cabs from town were cheap. There's a shop and cafe round the corner.

The views are amazing!! We loved having a cup of tea and breakfast out on our balcony in the morning.

The large covered BBQ area is fab and on one evening provided shelter from the rain! We loved the fact that there was wood provided.

We loved our stay here and would stay again when returning to this beautiful island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“FAB VIEWS VERY SPACIOUS GREAT”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

great location fantastic views over harbour,good bus service to town, great locals café 1 minute walk with home made bread, villa lovely and garden. down side dirty floors, shower cubicle leaks, hot water plug not plugged in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: views location
Liked least: dirty floors black feet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Casa das Lajes and for letting us know your views, It is a lovely house enjoyed by all our customers.
Also thank you for bringing to our attention some of the issues ,we’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed that.
Hope you will visit Madeira again in the future .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lila s
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My children and I stayed in La Casa das Lajes in July. The house is a perfect place for a family holiday, it is spacious, clean and you can spent most of your day outdoors enjoying the views of Funchal. The outdoor kitchen is a amazing feature, we had our breakfast and all our meals outdoors, a luxury really. The house is beautufil and confortable, it also has wifi. The house is a walking distance from Funchal and there is also a bus stop nearby to go to the town center. Each of the bedroom has a private balcony and private views, it is very handy to relax or read a book. Kids loved the house and its garden, it is very spacious and safe. We also liked to pop into the local convenient store to buy some treat (ice cream), you can also buy fresh bread every morning and simply drink an espresso. It wasn't our first time in Madeira, and the stay at the Casa das Lajes made our holiday very special and we will back again

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally R
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful house with wonderful views”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in July and had a wonderful holiday. The house is beautiful and perfect for a relaxing holiday whilst enjoying great views of Funchal and being within easy reach of the town centre. There is a regular bus service almost on the door step. The house is spacious and we loved the fact that every bedroom has its own private balcony. So, we could be altogether in one space when we wanted to but also had the option of time alone from the rest of the family. The outside kitchen/dining area was a joy on the warm balmy evenings. We could sit there for hours with a bottle of wine enjoying the twinkling lights of Funchal. It was an added bonus to have plenty of outside space for the children to run about. A three minute walk from the house was a small local shop for picking a few basics and a lovely little cafe, perfect for fresh bread in the morning! I really cannot fault this place. We will be returning next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and sense of space, inside and out.
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacatione...
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you for the feed back on your stay with us.
Regarding the street work, unfortunately it is something out of our control and it was a one off situation as the local council had to repair part of the public road.
The air conditioning is not mencioned on the amenities at the property and guests should not reserve on that basis but it is a plus to have it when weather is hotter then usual and most of it is funcional.
As stated on tripadvisor, the property has capacity for 6 people and the price quoted is according to the amount of guests booked, any alterations to the amount of people using the property, should be passed on to us .
As this is a holiday property and can be vacant during a periods of time, camaras are on the exterior of the property main door and gate to the garden, Madeira is a safe place but it is nice to have the extra security, it does not in any way invades our guests privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise6...
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing