We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience - for the first time!”
Review of Cris's

Cris's
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Ranked #14 of 806 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having had many enjoyable evenings at Cris's Restaurant since the restaurant first opened, I chose this restaurant for my birthday meal. The food, wine and service have consistently been good and the experience enjoyable ever since it opened. However, sadly this night was overall a disappointment. The evening fell well short of what we have experienced before, particularly in relation to the quality of the wine offered ( non of which had "Cris's Label" anymore ) and the length of time it took to serve the meal.

The restaurant was busy as usual and our initial experience was very good, with a beautifully presented outside table and a glass of delicious sparkling wine. The staff were professional and welcoming as ever.

We chose the 40 Euro "Concept menu", which includes wine with the meal. However, the white wine we were first offered was not really to our taste and sadly neither was the alternative that was offered, when requested.

The prawn cocktail starters (when they finally arrived) were excellent and for me the high point of the meal . After a further delay, the beautifully presented main courses arrived . We both enjoyed the mains of “cod” and the “grilled sea bass”.

Our main plates were finally cleared after a further wait, but I had to ask for the desert menu, as non had been offered. We both then asked for a change of wine to the red, for "the cheese plate" and the "pear in red wine" deserts. The red wine offered was again, sadly (and again unusually) , not really to our taste, but better than the white wine.

By this stage in the evening, I had begun to actually time how long it was taking to serve us. The time between us finishing the main course and being served the desert was just under 45 minutes!! This is, I recognise unusual for Cris’s, even though the restaurant was busy, but at the same time for me personally, it compounded what I considered a very unexpected and disappointing birthday evening experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Hinxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris A, Proprietário at Cris's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. John Lowe,
thank you for writing your comment i would just like to say that Cris´s has been opened for 4 years and you have been part of my dream.
In the 50 or 60 times that you have supported us this is the first time that we have failed your expectations.
I would like to say something about the wine, we are waiting for the new lote to arrive in madeira and in mean time wile we wait for our new wine i took the liberty in ordering the EXACTLY SAME WINE BUT WITHOUT OUR LABEL just to let you know and what was offered to you one the day and has been the same you've drank for two years. i am sorry the service was not what you expected but all members of staff tried there very best AS THEY ALWAYS DO EVERY DAY to please all guests as you perfectly know as well .
I am so sad when ANA and VICTOR and SILVESTRE showed me your comment on TA because you wrote an email to me personal addressing the problems AND YOU SENT A TEXT TO ANA ON MESSENGER SAYING "THANK YOU" REALLY DON´T UNDERSTAND ???and instead of writing back i was waiting to see you so i could apologize in person witch is the correct way but you never gave us that opportunity and on your email you said rather than writing a review on TA i am sending you this email . Just goes to show that for all theses years we relay don´t know people. but life goes on and we learn with are mistakes
4 years 1 not so perfect dinner that´s a victory to me and all the staff witch give 100% to all guests
CRISTIANO RONALDO doesn´t score every mach does that mean he is the worst player !!!!!!!!!
the fans support him even more and in every match always no matter what .
take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely food great ambiance and excellent service.
We have visited Madeira many times and only visited this year as I had pe-judged the restaurant to be the same as Defort which is more like a group dinner with all being served together and I didn't enjoy the experience, Chris's is toally different as you choose as an individual and served at different times as an individual. The fixed price including drinks and wine to complement each course represents good value for the quality food and wines.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank billogbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris A, Proprietário at Cris's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. Reading your thoughts on your recent visit to Cris´s Restaurant, has made us very proud and thank you so much for sharing these with us and TripAdvisor.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and thank you for all your support, we look forward very much to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

The Cris´s Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back at our hotel after another amazing meal at Chris’s lovely restaurant. You couldn’t get this quality of food and service at home for this price. Apart from the gorgeous prawn cocktail, unusual goats cheese creme brûlée, excellent tender fillet steak and wild boar, the mark of a good restaurant is happy staff. Despite all the staff working their socks off (including Chris himself!) all night, they were all very friendly and cheery, even the kitchen staff put themselves out to be friendly. This has all got to be down to happy hard working Chris. We can’t work out which of his restaurants is best in Funchal and believe me we’ve tried a few over 25 years, so we’re trying them both again this week! Keep it up Chris!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank philadelphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris A, Proprietário at Cris's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. Reading your thoughts on your recent visit to Cris´s Restaurant, has made us very proud and thank you so much for sharing these with us and TripAdvisor.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and thank you for all your support, we look forward very much to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

The Cris´s Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in for 8.00pm Sunday evening (8th Sept). Was greeted with a glass of fizz. Shown to our table on the balcony to front. Decided on the ‘Concept menu’ at 40€ each, which included starter, main & dessert, including all wines. What superb value it proved to be for a fine dining experience. Good wines, great service, good well presented food. Will definitely re-visit next year. Eventually left at 11.00pm., and with no extra little costs on the bill. Would recommend to anyone visiting this area.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank stevie-hudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris A, Proprietário at Cris's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. Reading your thoughts on your recent visit to Cris´s Restaurant, has made us very proud and thank you so much for sharing these with us and TripAdvisor.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and thank you for all your support, we look forward very much to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

The Cris´s Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A pleasant evening but not a top quality restaurant .
The menus were old and tatty which is a shame as it’s first impressions.
Prawn cocktail starter, very tasty, but the man in the next table had a king prawn as part of the plate, which we did not have.
I had bass for main course , beautifully presented , but one of the pieces was a little dry.
Brisk service and not consistent . Most of the staff were charming , but one of the waiters was a bit pretentious , why I’m not sure?
Nice touches with the amuse bouche etc.
Nice overall but a little dated for today’s market .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Connector531231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cris A, Proprietário at Cris's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. Reading your thoughts on your recent visit to Cris´s Restaurant, has made us very proud and thank you so much for sharing these with us and TripAdvisor.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and thank you for all your support, we look forward very much to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

The Cris´s Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cris's also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Cris's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing