We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
300 years later...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness Delighted decoration and confort inside the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
300 years later...
All the private outside area for your joy and happiness
Delighted decoration and confort inside the bedroom
Kitchen, lounge and dinning area
Nothing is missing for your delicious cookings
A Madeira Wine for a toast on arrival
The main entrance for the apartment
Comfort and good taste, what else?...
Sweet dreams in this king sized bed...quiet room....
Another sofa, TV, wifi, wardrobe, bathrobes, comfortable pillows...
Modern equipped bathroom with jacuzzi
Good taste all around..
Some details will spoil you...
The sofa bed for a 3rd person at the lounge area
Enjoy your meals here with everything you need...
Time is running so quickly...make your booking right now...
Micro wave, oven and dish washer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker...
Some of the promised vegetables directly  from the Quinta kitchengardens
Something like this will surprise you on arrival.
Dinning table, deck chairs, sun umbrella, sofas...
From the apartment´s door connecting directly to the gardens.
Bring me one, please...
Fresh onions ready to be picked...
You can pick whatever you like during your stay.
Enjoy the view...
...while preparing a barbecue.
Secular gardens and trees hiding years of History...
Cruises ships arriving and leaving...what a scenery.
A special place to enjoy the view over the city.
The beautiful entrance of the Quinta full of History...and a lot more to see.
No need to tag this photo, yes, taken from the Quinta.
This is the place!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
brindifie...
cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Quinta da Bom Sucesso to a lovely welcome from Abel who showed us around the grounds of the property. It is stunning place with a lovely garden and accommodation to match. It lived up to everything I had hoped for and had seen in the pictures. We had beautiful vegetables from the garden and fresh eggs from Abel and Teresa's chickens which we enjoyed every morning for our breakfast. The weather was lovely and so good to have the warmth from the sun at the beginning of February! The views from the garden over Funchal are magical especially at night. Would recommend this acccommdation! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Siena, Italy
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2017
Dear Carolin,
Indeed in Winter time bathing at the sea may not be the best option. But in that time of the year there are inumerous activities related to nature and exploring Madeira at its best. We sent you a link with all that, seems that you didn´t open it.
Regarding the smell you mention we had someone at the house immediately after reading this review as during your stay you didn´t mention anything. At the same day you left, other guests arrived and they confirmed they didn´t notice that too. anyway, we wanted to be sure so a tecnichal was here and indeed found nothing.
Reading all our reviews after yours, or even before, anyone can see there is absolutely no mention of such a thing. You stayed just for 3 days as we already had other bookings and we could see you weren´t very happy to leave, maybe this is why you wrote that.
But our guests comfort are our priority and we get only 5 stars rating which means a lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian L
2 reviews
“Beautiful garden retreat”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Incredible gardens and lovely hospitality made our stay wonderful. Thank you so much for your thoughtful planning and warm welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
70STP
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enchanting and idyllic retreat”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The accomodation and garden are just as described an enchanting and idyllic retreat set high above the port on a good bus route The views from the property are stunning- watching the cruise ships coming and going -the twinkling lights of Funchal at night and of course the sun making the houses on the slopes of the city glow in the morning.The gardens around the house are extensive, beautifully kept and a real joy to wander in. Beds of roses, strelitzias and chrysanthemums, not to mention the climbers such as bougainvillia etc and the well stocked vegetable gardens and fruit trees.When you rent the property you have the the whole garden to your self! The owners are so kind, thoughtful and generous in their hospitality. We had arranged through them a taxi at the airport which made our arrival smooth and stress free and later a car hire. When we arrived in the evening there was a meal prepared for us, along side a huge basket of fruit and one of vegetables much from the garden. During the stay you can pick the garden produce which was a real treat. The wifi is trouble free we were able to listen live to Radio 4 etc. There is a superb bakery a few minutes walk away and of course the wonderful market in the centre of Funchal.
Teresa, Abel and their son Henrique went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful holiday and we did..This is a very special place run by very special people. Thank you all again, to Henrique for translating so perfectly duirng our stay, to Abel for getting us to the hire car company on time and to Teresa for her wonderful preserves and passionfruit dessert.We found that what has been said in previous reviews to be totally accurate and would thoroughly recommend this lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and the warmth of the welcome from the family
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gj4dj
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perrfect”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this very last minute and Helena was so helpful so thank you very much. From the moment we landed to leaving we were overwhelmed with the kindness and thought that the owners of this property gave us. On arrival at the beautiful property we were met by the owners who are such a lovely family, we were shown around, there was food in the fridge for us for a snack, bread from the local bakery which is 2 minutes walk away which supplies the nicest bread we've ever tasted, a bottle of local Maderia wine and fruit and vegetables from the astounding gardens which you can pick every day yourselves. The property is a perfect size for 2, spotlessly clean, great shower, comfy bid bed & sufficient kitchen. We loved it and Maderia is so beautiful. You can get all the necessary groceries from the local shops 2 mins walk away. The grounds of the property are amazing , it's a farm with a few animals, fruit, vegetables and beautiful flowers. it is a good 15 minutes walk into Funchal and a taxi is recommended to get back as very steep. The views from from the property are fantastic , overlooking the harbour. Now what can I say about the family who own the property apart from they made our holiday, they are so kind & thoughtful, we were made to feel so welcome. We cannot wait to return, one of the nicest places we've stayed and the nicest family we think we've met. Written with much love Gaynor& David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan St...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment set in gardens overlooking port”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were welcomed most warmly by the family who own this lovely old house. The one apartment they rent out is tastefully furnished and well equipped for two people. Best of all they provided vegetables and fruit from their own garden and eggs from their hens. We spent 10 days in Funchal and cooked and ate there every evening except one. With fresh fish from the market in the town cooked on the barbeque, fruit and veg from the garden and excellent fresh bread from a nearby bakery we found we could eat sumptuously at home. We were able to watch the cruise ships come and go in comfort from the terrace of the large garden which we had to ourselves.
It is a steep 15-20 minute walk down into town and we invariably got the bus back. It was worth it for the wonderful vantage point and clear air we had at this elevation. We came to explore the walking on Madeira and Funchal is probably as good a place to stay if you want to try out a variety of walks in different parts of the island using the local bus service. Bom Sucesso is also within walking distance of the Botanic gardens and the orchid garden.
The family became good friends and regularly brought us treats such as delicious sweets and fresh eggs. Wholeheartedly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden with access to fresh veg, herbs and salads
Liked least: traffic on the busy road surrounding the property (and most of Funchal!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Dear friends,
We were honored with your preference and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our place.
Thank you so much for such a detailed review which for sure will help other guests in the future.
We will keep our offer as it is, always improving whatever needs to be improved to impress our guests and making each stay an unforgettable holiday in Madeira.
All the best for you both from the
Quinta do Bom Sucesso team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombardet...
Le Vesinet, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Hello Isabelle, Christophe and Pierre,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your holidays at the Quinta. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay. My parents send their best regards. Hope you have a chance to return to Madeira.
Best wishes,
Edgar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing