We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Residence
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$353
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$562
$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
$182
$125
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$157
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$308
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$214
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveler rating
550
371
105
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
371
105
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblock cthree blocksshopping centrewet roomside sea viewmadeira forumcabo giraobanana plantationbus stopindoor poolmodern hotelupgraded to a suitepraia formosasteam room and saunabottle of champagnequiet arealiving area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent the 10 days of our honeymoon in this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis and really enjoyed it. The hotel was clean with a cool, very modern look and excellent spa facilities which included a meditation room. Our room was large with a kitchenette and was clean with all towels being changed every day. The outdoors swimming pool area was relaxing and well looked after with stunning views. The restaurant served very good a la carte food for a reasonable price however we thought the buffet was too expensive. Breakfast was a well presented buffet with a rich variety of foods on offer and our only criticism were the baked beans which for some reason were salted beyond belief. We think the chef added salt to already salted beaked beans... We would go back to this hotel for a quiet time only as we found the location to be too far from the city for us and perhaps more suited for those who wish to be further away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Other than that, we slept well, ate well, were well looked after and had an amazing time! Totally worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guests,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for having choosen Golden Residence Hotel for you Honeymoon.

Your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel was very much appreciated by all, we are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

We sincerely hope that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, and remain wishing you all the best.

Yours sincerely,
Arcilia Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited this hotel for the second time last week, and are already planning a further visit later this year. The hotel cannot be faulted - spacious and spotless rooms, wonderful food, and charming and helpful staff. I am mildly disabled, and they have put us into C block each time - less walking to access restaurant, bar, spa, and gardens - for which I am very grateful. Bus stop right outside with regular service to Funchal centre at a very reasonable cost. Local shops and restaurants within easy walking distance (even for me!) Don't hesitate to book in here, I'm sure you'll be as impressed as we have been.
One thing to note, the in-room tea-making facilities consist of a kettle and cups, but do NOT include coffee and tea, so if you like an early morning cuppa, take your own supplies!

Room Tip: C block even numbers face small garden (with sea views) and are very peaceful. Odd numbers face the bar and pool side, which could perhaps be noisier at busy times, although this was not a problem when we visited.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like you to know how much we have appreciated your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel. We are very happy to have had the opportunity to leave you,once again, a positive and memorable experience.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, and remain wishing you all the best.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Being there 4th time I will go 5th time.Amazing view to seaside, very find dining. Each time personnel knows me and is very gentle. Easy to get to center and easy to go to seaside.
So really worth it's money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank TatKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Primarily we would very much like to thank you for having choosen Golden Residence Hotel as your Hotel of preference and we really appreciate your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout all your stays.

We look forward to welcome you back at Golden Residence Hotel and remain,

Your's sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor we chose for the Golden Residence to stay for the last week of 2013. And we were not disappointed. The hotel consists of 3 building blocks (A, B en C). A and B are connected and C-building, where the restaurant, spa and swimming pools are located, is across the street. We (4 of us) had our suites in the A-building.
The suites are spacious and offer everything to make your stay comfortable, including kitchen, large bathroom with hot shower, balcony with seaview. The living area can be seperated from the bedroom by a sliding door. The hotel is especially suitable for the disabled.
Breakfast is buffet style and offers you all you can wish for, fresh fruit, cereals of all sorts, rolls and pastry and cooked to order eggs and omelets.
We prebooked the Gala dinner on Christmas Eve, which was buffet style as well. Very stylishly done and an enormous choice of nicely presented dishes. Delicious. Nevertheless, we decided to eat out the other evenings as Funchal has so much to offer culinarywise.
We would certainly return to this hotel when we come back to this beautiful island and therefore can certainly recommend the Golden Residence.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Clementine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guests,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Many of us will have walked by this establishment over the years and thought it a little severe. We have just experienced a night at Golden Residence and were very impressed. Great accommodation and services at affordable prices. It is thanks to these reviews that we booked an overnight stay. In all probability we will come again and stay longer. Self catering if you pay a little extra.

Room Tip: If you want self-catering ask for details. Equally sea views or you may be up by the road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hancockmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like to thank you for sharing your review.
We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your short stay at Golden Residence Hotel.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you all the very best for the New Year.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews