We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golden splendour”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Golden Residence should be renamed the Golden Splendour,what a great hotel and great staff,in a good location ,local buses stop outside the hotel ,great breakfast,and very clean the rooms are spotless .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Mr Trevor,

"Golden Splendour" very good!

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.
It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced good and relaxing moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best wishes for 2014.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Golden Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 987 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went her to celebrate my 30th birthday.
On arrival the staff were very friendly and our first view of the hotel was positive. We went to our room in C block which had a sea view...what a beautiful view over the cliffs down to the sea, with the mountains in the background. The pool is below C block and in our opinion the best block to be in...the restaurant is in block C too.
The staff knew it was my birthday and we were surprised with a bottle of champagne in our room which was really nice. They were so helpful during our stay there and would always book us taxis to get around.
On our last day we had a couples massage which was very relaxing...would recommend it.
During our Dec stay it was nice and quiet here, no loud children ;)
The weather was also amazing...we should have packed shorts.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: C block is good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_and_Karolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review with Trip Advisor readers. We are sincerely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel, in 3 separate blocks, block c is the best if you can get it, nearest to pool, bar and dinning rooms, service was excellent, very helpfull staff. A bit out of Funchal town, but buses stop right outside or a can in for about €10. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hersham027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!

Our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Residence Hotel soon!

Your's sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is ideal for holiday and celebrate anniversary.. We loved the location, our room at C housing, the spaa, relaxing indoor and outdoor pool and sauna. Great restaurant and rich breakfast. Service was pleasant. Very pleasant and helpful staff.

Room Tip: C and 0- or 1 floor will be ok!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marku07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had a week's solo stay at the Golden Residence after travelling around the island hiking with friends the week before. It turned out to be a perfect refuge to rest my legs and enjoy the peace with lots of space for myself.

It is located past the blob of huge all-inclusive resorts, in a fairly tranquil side street near the Madeira Forum, one of the larger shopping centres on the island. On one side it borders a small banana farm, on the other a few apartment buildings,. Bust stops are outside both main exits.

The hotel appears modern, spacious, well-kept and well-organized. Staff was always helpful and informative. There are lots of little gems spread across the three blocks, and you'll probably need a few days to stumble across them all. I never got around to checking out the "creative room" on the B block top floor, the hairdresser or the handicraft shop(?). I did enjoy the library in A block floor 6 and the various gardens. The view from the block C garden is amazing.

Even the regular rooms are large compared to most other hotels, but since it was the off-season I booked a suite as it was little extra cost, which in practice turned out to be a good-sized one-bedroom apartment with a small kitchen and living room. The design is practical and pleasant without any extravagant luxuries and was a place I felt very much at home in. I also had a balcony with a fine view across the banana palms and the ocean.

The restaurant buffet is excellent and I ended up eating all my breakfasts and all but one dinners there. For dinner there is a different theme every day, so if you stay there a week you will always get a different selection. At a price per person of 20-25 EUR depending on if you use the 4 for 3 offer or not, it is competitive with a typical restaurant dinner considering that a half-bottle of wine is included.

The swimming pools aren't the largest, and a little shallow on one end, but enough to take a swim in. The outdoor pool holds 21 degrees and the indoor about 30. The sauna and steam bath are available for free after 1700, and the spa seemed to offer a number of massage and physiotherapy treatments. The gym is well equipped for a hotel. 100m down the road from the hotel you reach a built up sea bath which I highly recommend, and there is also a little shopping centre with restaurants and a large department store.

I could write on and on about the good features about the Golden Residence, and in my week I found nothing to complain about. It is a perfect place to stay for solo travelers, couples and friends, and the guests seemed to be a good mix of all ages (unlike the resort hotels). Families with children might find that there is little for the kids to do directly at the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again on a return visit.

Room Tip: Block A is closest to the Forum shopping center with a separate exit to the Estrada Monumental on th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear guest,

First and foremost we would like to inform you how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay in our Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at Golden Residence Hotel and remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in the Golden Residence in mid November. The climate was very warm and evenings even better at 18C. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and I thought the additional hotel introduction and guidance very useful. The hotel is ideal for the local bus service No.1 or No.2, one bus stops literally outside the main entrance (No.2). It only takes 20 mins to drive into Funchal town. You can walk into town but it will take a minimum of 40mins. The walk along the seafront is very pleasant and easy. There is a local black pebble beach called Formosa beach only 5 mins away. Back to the hotel we found the family suite very spacious and clean. We were on the 6th floor and had a partial seaview from a balcony. The kitchenette was a surprise feature and we found it very handy. Just missing a kettel but the microwave was usable for heating up cups of water. The beds were firm but comfortable, just wished we had a few more pillows as there were a bit low.The room was cleaned everyday to a very good standard and towels replaced. I tried the breakfast in the restaurant, it was a bit expensive at €12 but you can get a discount if you by 4 days and then get 7 days in total(something like that). The food and choice was better than expected.
It's a nice bonus to have a large shopping centre only 5 mins walk away on the main road. Here there are many shops and on the lower level an excellent supermarket to buy fresh food and toiletries. There were a good number of food restaurants but we didn't try them. There was an icecream stand we did try and it was very good. If you travel by bus and use the Giro top-up card, there is a newsagent inside this shopping centre to add credit for journeys. Top-tip! For an excellent evening dinner, I recommend a local restaurant called "The Monumental Grill", here you get friendly service and massive portions! The beef kebab is to die for.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, for location, high standard and helpful staff. I would happily return again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in complex B or C. You are nearer to the coast line and slightly better views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,


Primarily we would like you to know that we were very pleased to read your review regarding your stay in our Hotel!

We were sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed about the lack of pillows, we which you had let us known; we would have gladly solved this situation for you promptly.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you our kindest regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Golden Residence hotel was the perfect choice for our belated honeymoon in the sun! Many thanks to the management - champers and fruit on arrival in our room. The room was modern with plenty of space for clothes, light and airy with a super shower and bathroom too - toiletries were plentiful as were towels, tissues and toilet paper! The hairdryer was powerful and right next to the wall-sized mirror and additional magnifying mirror - no excuses for a bad-hair day on holiday ladies!

Block C rooms have a kitchenette facility but in our case wasn't fully equipped with utensils however, we stayed as B and B guests and wanted to try out all the local restaurants with no intention to cook.

Our room had a side sea view and an adequate balcony with table and chairs.

The Spa is free from 5.00 p.m. and hardly anyone used it when we did - it is a great facility with jacuzzi, swimming pool and two steam rooms open until 8.00 p.m. - don't miss this experience after a day's walking or sight-seeing before you go for dinner! The library is free and has a good stock of books in several languages - I got through 12 but left the ones I took on holiday in the library - its good to see hotels carrying on "book swops" like this - the room is large, hardly anyone sits in there but has lovely soft seating and a huge terrace with a few sunbeds on too - this is located in Block B.

Tip: If you are in Block C - go through reception, use the lifts to bring you up to street level - onto Estrada Monumental for the shopping centre across the road.

Would be go again? Yes - staff excellent, great hotel, professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Block C is nearest the beautiful terrace and outdoor pool but it the smallest of the Blocks. Left h...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we thank you for having chosen Golden Residence Hotel for your Honeymoon.
We are happy to have had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experiences.
Sincerely hoping that you will consider our Hotel for your next stay, we remain wishing you all the best.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 88 in Funchal
1,157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 88 in Funchal
581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $87 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing